Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 05-08-2011, 11:27 AM
  #8896  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
godofcable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Spring Hill Fl
Posts: 2,022
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 8ight-e View Post
basically the same weight as mine.. what did you do to get down to 6.2 on the track? did you post up pics on the thread?
I didn't do anything. Its completely stock, with the MMP and Castle 4 pole, using a 50C 2S Venom 5000 mah battery.




godofcable is offline  
Old 05-08-2011, 11:33 AM
  #8897  
Tech Master
iTrader: (42)
 
Cult Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: La$ Vega$
Posts: 1,806
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by godofcable View Post
I didn't do anything. Its completely stock, with the MMP and Castle 4 pole, using a 50C 2S Venom 5000 mah battery.

i see you cut the whole rear of the bumper off besides the bottom part of it.

i cut the whole center of the battery tray, cf ackerman, tbone bumpers, trimmed the sideguards and cut out the receiver part of the radio box/servo mount. Also has cf towers on it now.

Cult Racing is offline  
Old 05-08-2011, 11:42 AM
  #8898  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
8ight-e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,174
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by russp View Post
Very well could be the weight, I run the same battery in my 4.5 jammin and can get 15 minute bash sessions out of it, a 10 minute main is no problem.
Will a higher c rated battery last longer using the sam Mah as an example?
I do like the weight in my truck, make the truck feel more planted. Imo
Feels just as good on the track if not better as you near 6.0lbs. I wouldn't go under that mark iMO. If you have not upgraded, get the CF shock towers, and cut up your battery track.. swiss cheese it.
8ight-e is offline  
Old 05-08-2011, 11:45 AM
  #8899  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
BmainStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: pullin in,ca.
Posts: 1,985
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by russp View Post
Ran my mmp/ castle 3800 setup lastnight and wow this motor is a racket geared 16/40. It as fast if not faster than my hv4.5
Qualifief 2nd, due to worn out stock tires but ths motor is jus stupid. Was tripling a lon triple that mos only double!
Now to my problem I can barley run a 7 minute main with 1 warmup lap!
What kind of run time are you guys getting with this setup?
Running 5200mah 40c batt. And coming off the track at 130* in 5 minute heat race.
All in all I give this mtor a BIG thumbs up.
It`s those $20 Lipos your getting at K-Mart!!!
BmainStar is offline  
Old 05-08-2011, 11:47 AM
  #8900  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
BmainStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: pullin in,ca.
Posts: 1,985
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Another Saturday night race with out issue!! Nothin bent ,broke ,borrowed or otherwise out of wack! How many sat races can this thing go with out an issue....Many!!!!
BmainStar is offline  
Old 05-08-2011, 11:50 AM
  #8901  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
BmainStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: pullin in,ca.
Posts: 1,985
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Special"ED" View Post
ANYONE HAVE A SPUR GEAR????
Yes
BmainStar is offline  
Old 05-08-2011, 11:51 AM
  #8902  
Tech Master
iTrader: (45)
 
StPete40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Land O' Lakes
Posts: 1,326
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default Battery Tray mod






This is a hack job and untested but I think it has potential. The pieces are formed out of kydex. I drilled and tapped holes in the chassis to mount. Much closer to center line and lower. I don't know how much weight is saved. Will have to check it on my buddies scale. As long as the screws don't pull out of the chassis, should be good to go. Will have to wait until next weekend to find out.
StPete40 is offline  
Old 05-08-2011, 12:20 PM
  #8903  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (125)
 
Briguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Default

I just bought this truck from a guy on here . I am wondering what size lipos you guys are running to make at least a 10 minute main with a 5.5 ?

I have the Durango DESC410r , great truck but has limited space for batteries .
Briguy is offline  
Old 05-08-2011, 12:25 PM
  #8904  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
8ight-e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,174
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Briguy View Post
I just bought this truck from a guy on here . I am wondering what size lipos you guys are running to make at least a 10 minute main with a 5.5 ?

I have the Durango DESC410r , great truck but has limited space for batteries .
Many have wised up and switched to the castle 1410, but those still pushing it 10 with on a 5.5, 4.5 are running 6000-6500 mAH packs. Not only do you drop motor weight w/ the 1410, you can make 10min mains w/ a 5200mah pack reducing weight further. PS the castle runs cooler to boot.
8ight-e is offline  
Old 05-08-2011, 12:27 PM
  #8905  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (125)
 
Briguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Default

I have been a die hard Tekin fan and what I will be running . My RX8 and 5.5 runs very cool while putting out a lot of power .
Briguy is offline  
Old 05-08-2011, 12:28 PM
  #8906  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,010
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 8ight-e View Post
basically the same weight as mine.. what did you do to get down to 6.2 on the track? did you post up pics on the thread?
I'm at 6lb 4oz and I can make a 10 minute main with plenty to spare with my 6000 mAh Xcelorin battery. I only put in about 3600 mA afterwards
chiro972 is offline  
Old 05-08-2011, 12:28 PM
  #8907  
Tech Master
iTrader: (54)
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,592
Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)
Default

Anyone ran the castle 1415 4-pole 2400kv with a 2S?
jsmax is offline  
Old 05-08-2011, 12:33 PM
  #8908  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
8ight-e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,174
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Briguy View Post
I have been a die hard Tekin fan and what I will be running . My RX8 and 5.5 runs very cool while putting out a lot of power .
They have some cool stuff coming soon as well from what a tekin guy was saying.... new tuning rotors and even a 4pole motor!! Good stuff!

PS that is good to hear, most with that setup find temps to be an issue in the losi especially if not lightened.. so keep doing what you are doing and enjoy it. Snag a large 6000ish pack and you should be golden for 10mins. Every track is different, and everyone's throttle fringer is different so some may burn a lot less mAH than others doing the same thing so I wouldn't cut it too close. Best bet maybe to go to your track and run a 5minute shot as a "race" and see how much mAH you use up, then you can figure out exactly what you need with your setup on your track w/ your finger may save you some weight if you can run a 5400mAH pack instead of a 6000.
8ight-e is offline  
Old 05-08-2011, 12:34 PM
  #8909  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (22)
 
jurquhart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Williamsburg, Virginia
Posts: 838
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jsmax View Post
Anyone ran the castle 1415 4-pole 2400kv with a 2S?
I have the 1415 and it runs pretty well on 2S can clear jumps that my Novak 4.5 ballistic can't even come close to clearing.

I have two Losi's and run the Castle in the one one. I'm thinking about putting the Castle 1410 into the 2nd one with the Rx8.
jurquhart is offline  
Old 05-08-2011, 12:46 PM
  #8910  
Tech Master
iTrader: (48)
 
Bondonutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: St. Pete FL.
Posts: 1,326
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Dont know how many here are fimiliar with the HyperTT battery tray but the lipos lay in the tray on their side, was wondering if this might be a better avenue for the SCTE because then the tray and weight of the battery can be much closer to the center ? I'd almost bet the Hyper tray is much lighter as well and will mount flush with the chassis.

Bottom line, how much would it really effect COG ?

Bondonutz is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.