Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 04-22-2011, 08:11 AM
  #7396  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 677
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by godofcable View Post
morning folks. about to place an order for the remaining parts I need to complete my truck. I have a few ?'s...

Anyone know what the capacity of the differentials is? The standard sized tube of Losi is 30ml, which is roughly have the size of AE's 2oz bottle, at double the price (?). Any reason I can't use AE diff fluid? How far would 2 oz get me? One bottle per diff? Or could one bottle do two diffs as i want to run the same weight in the front and middle, and a slightly thinner in the back.

Also, I'm going to run the MMP with a Castle 1410 motor. I saw on page one the recommended pinion starting point of 13-17. Thinking of starting at 14T and monitoring heat. I will be running on a fairly large outdoor track, but occasionally on a smaller indoor track. I'd rather tune for the smaller track to start.
I'd recommend running a 3S with that combo. I have the same combo and used an 18 - 20T and had no temp issues whatsoever with that combo. You'll also want to run a better BEC since the BEC on the MMP is crap. If you use a high torque servo, its almost a necessity to run an external BEC. I use the CC 10A BEC. Cost is around $20.

As for the diff fluid, I'm currently using the AE diff fluid. I too found it odd that the Losi diff fluid cost twice as much as the AE and with less fluid. Bottom line, I went with the AE diff fluid because its cheaper.
snowboardgeek1 is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 08:21 AM
  #7397  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (215)
 
racerx1920's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,930
Trader Rating: 215 (100%+)
Default

this is the proline ford raptor body
http://prolineracing.com/bodies/ford...or-clear-body/

racerx1920 is online now  
Old 04-22-2011, 08:23 AM
  #7398  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
godofcable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Spring Hill Fl
Posts: 2,022
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by snowboardgeek1 View Post
I'd recommend running a 3S with that combo. I have the same combo and used an 18 - 20T and had no temp issues whatsoever with that combo. You'll also want to run a better BEC since the BEC on the MMP is crap. If you use a high torque servo, its almost a necessity to run an external BEC. I use the CC 10A BEC. Cost is around $20.

As for the diff fluid, I'm currently using the AE diff fluid. I too found it odd that the Losi diff fluid cost twice as much as the AE and with less fluid. Bottom line, I went with the AE diff fluid because its cheaper.
can't run 3S, class limit is 2S
godofcable is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 08:29 AM
  #7399  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 22
Default

liking the raptor
Janke is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 08:32 AM
  #7400  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 677
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by godofcable View Post
can't run 3S, class limit is 2S
Sorry my bad. You said 1410, not the 1415. Yes 1410 is perfect with a 2S. 1415 you should run a 3S.
snowboardgeek1 is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 08:33 AM
  #7401  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
godofcable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Spring Hill Fl
Posts: 2,022
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by snowboardgeek1 View Post
I've seen guys run into issues using a 2S with that combo which is why I recommended 3S.
there are tons of guys running this combo on these boards, never heard of issues before. A few guys at my track running it too...what sort of issues do you mean
godofcable is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 08:39 AM
  #7402  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 677
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by godofcable View Post
there are tons of guys running this combo on these boards, never heard of issues before. A few guys at my track running it too...what sort of issues do you mean
Yeah sorry for the confusion. I thought you said 1415 which is why I recommended going with a 3S. 1410 is perfect with 2S. I haven't seen anyone running into temp issues using a 2S with the 1410. In fact, I just purchased the 1410 combo (with the sidewinder ESC which I will probably sell off) so I can use that as my backup motor when I team it up with my RX8 or MMP.
snowboardgeek1 is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 08:55 AM
  #7403  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
8ight-e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,174
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by snowboardgeek1 View Post
I always thought you had a BEC hooked up to your MMP? Did you experience the glitching with the BEC?
nope never used a bec on any of my mmp's, don't have one on my scte either.. It all depends on the serv, if there is a problem or not. My scte I use the hitec 985mg, zero issues no glitching. I was using the losi rtr truggy serno in my scte, it's an amp hog.
8ight-e is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 08:59 AM
  #7404  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
godofcable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Spring Hill Fl
Posts: 2,022
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by snowboardgeek1 View Post
Yeah sorry for the confusion. I thought you said 1415 which is why I recommended going with a 3S. 1410 is perfect with 2S. I haven't seen anyone running into temp issues using a 2S with the 1410. In fact, I just purchased the 1410 combo (with the sidewinder ESC which I will probably sell off) so I can use that as my backup motor when I team it up with my RX8 or MMP.
phew, give a guy a heart attack...

Originally Posted by 8ight-e View Post
nope never used a bec on any of my mmp's, don't have one on my scte either.. It all depends on the serv, if there is a problem or not. My scte I use the hitec 985mg, zero issues no glitching. I was using the losi rtr truggy serno in my scte, it's an amp hog.
Anyone ever use the AE DS1015?
godofcable is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 09:06 AM
  #7405  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Idaho,
Posts: 729
Default

Top of the morning to ya. Today is a fine sunny day in good old seattle. Might go do a little bashing. Get the track queen off the track. lol
SC_RAGE is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 09:08 AM
  #7406  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Idaho,
Posts: 729
Default

Originally Posted by snowboardgeek1 View Post
Yeah sorry for the confusion. I thought you said 1415 which is why I recommended going with a 3S. 1410 is perfect with 2S. I haven't seen anyone running into temp issues using a 2S with the 1410. In fact, I just purchased the 1410 combo (with the sidewinder ESC which I will probably sell off) so I can use that as my backup motor when I team it up with my RX8 or MMP.
Crawler guys will want that sidewinder. Seems to be popular in that department.
SC_RAGE is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 09:10 AM
  #7407  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
SaladFork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Earth
Posts: 3,349
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SC_RAGE View Post
Top of the morning to ya. Today is a fine sunny day in good old seattle. Might go do a little bashing. Get the track queen off the track. lol
Traffic was light this morning... Cya at 11.
SaladFork is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 09:10 AM
  #7408  
Tech Master
iTrader: (35)
 
bigemike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: hamilton, oh
Posts: 1,756
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

i would run the bec with the 1015, i have it in my slash 4x4 and i had to add one to the sidewinder
bigemike is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 09:11 AM
  #7409  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Idaho,
Posts: 729
Default

Originally Posted by bigemike View Post
i would run the bec with the 1015, i have it in my slash 4x4 and i had to add one to the sidewinder
The sidewinder wouldn't even be considered in the scte. Its no bueno.
SC_RAGE is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 09:18 AM
  #7410  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (141)
 
RC*PHREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,136
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Janke View Post
liking the raptor
IMO, the jconcepts raptor body is better. it has more detail and if the proline raptor body is like the rest of their bodies, the jconcepts body is thicker and more durable.

Originally Posted by 8ight-e View Post
nope never used a bec on any of my mmp's, don't have one on my scte either.. It all depends on the serv, if there is a problem or not. My scte I use the hitec 985mg, zero issues no glitching. I was using the losi rtr truggy serno in my scte, it's an amp hog.
i really think it's a combo of digital servos, certain brand receivers (spektrum being the worst) and 550 motors that are what screw up the MMP. i tried two different servos (futaba 9350 (.12/139) and traxxas 2075 (.16/125), neither of which are powerhouses and the truck stuttered with both under throttle while turning. put in a castle BEC and it seems to work fine now. both of those servos are right in line with the specs of the 985. i run my other MMP in a 1/10 truggy with a digital servo and a 1410 and zero problems. i would guess you have an airtronics or futaba?
RC*PHREAK is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.