Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 08-06-2013, 08:31 AM
  #45526  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
chucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hell
Posts: 1,315
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

doing the build now.. waiting on parts. BCE is right on with machining every thing seams to be right on. waiting for servo mount and buying new side. guards other then 40.00 worth or parts its a great deal


Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread-bce-003.jpg
chucko is offline  
Old 08-06-2013, 08:48 AM
  #45527  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (32)
 
mxgregg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 610
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Doug T View Post
Hey Gregg, how is the testing going???? You running more of the 2.0 set ups or staying with the 1.0 set ups with minor changes? Did you keep the diffs the same as your 1.0 set up. Thanks Gregg.

P.S. Looks awesome............
Hey Doug,

Testing is going great. I am running Ryan Dunford's latest 2.0 settings and they work great on my local clay track. The chassis layout is the really big change between the 1.0 & the 2.0. You really don't need to buy all the little parts unless you want to. I am very happy with mine and I just got my son a new H1 chassis and it has the 2.0 servo mount that we're testing. I think it will be the way to go along with the 2.0 center torque rods.
mxgregg is offline  
Old 08-06-2013, 09:25 AM
  #45528  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (35)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Murrieta, CA
Posts: 330
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

I raced with my BCE H1 chassis for the first time this weekend, using the latest Dunford setup for the 2.0. It seemed to work pretty well for me. I'm using the V1 servo mount and receiver box still. I guess I don't really see an advantage to switching that and I like that everything is contained in the box. I'm running the 2.0 torque rods front and rear. It is nice that the chassis is setup to work with the 1.0 chassis braces as well. I may try those in the future.

Chucko, am I seeing correctly that your servo mount and receiver box holes are countersunk on the top of the chassis? I have all the same mounting holes as you, but mine are flat on top.
kazuaki is offline  
Old 08-06-2013, 09:37 AM
  #45529  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (32)
 
mxgregg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 610
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kazuaki View Post
I raced with my BCE H1 chassis for the first time this weekend, using the latest Dunford setup for the 2.0. It seemed to work pretty well for me. I'm using the V1 servo mount and receiver box still. I guess I don't really see an advantage to switching that and I like that everything is contained in the box. I'm running the 2.0 torque rods front and rear. It is nice that the chassis is setup to work with the 1.0 chassis braces as well. I may try those in the future.

Chucko, am I seeing correctly that your servo mount and receiver box holes are countersunk on the top of the chassis? I have all the same mounting holes as you, but mine are flat on top.
Yes we are trying the countersunk holes to lower the servo. We are trying to put every mod we can and keep this chassis at the top!
mxgregg is offline  
Old 08-06-2013, 11:37 AM
  #45530  
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,999
Default

Originally Posted by eddomak View Post
Heh heh, only putting it out there as food for thought/evaluation.

I wonder which one is best and/or equitable with one another? Of course I don't even race, so who even can account for driver skill and/or style/preference?

A) SCTE 1.0 stock
B) SCTE 1.0 with TLR goodies & chassis of your choice (TLR or aftermarket)
C) SCTE 1.0 with MIP
D) SCTE 1.0 with BCE Hybrid chassis (ie 2.0 layout)
E) SCTE 2.0
F) SCTE 2.0 with BCE 2.0 chassis

I actually found the TLR SCTE 2.0 chassis available locally for $AUD80 (which is cheaper than buying in the states?). but haven't gone and done the conversion.







Yea i dont get why the 2.0 chassis is that much ethier. Um i can only speak for the stock chassis and the 1.0 Flex chassis since thats all i ran.

The stock chassis handling wise feels more like a heavy 1/8 scale Buggy or SC . Its good on rougher outdoor tracks jumps ok it really liked to nosedive a lot . The downside was all the weight on it its pretty hard on the 2s lipos and electronics.

The Flex chassis with the Rear Torque rod and Stock Front brace is much better than stock ! Much lighter handles like a lighten SC or 1/8 scale Buggy jumps better you get much better grip with the flex it just handles better . Much easier on the electronics also !

Downside is it likes to nosedive still but not nearly as much.


MIP kit ive only driven one on a indoor carpet offroad track i liked it handled like a 1/10 scale touring car kind of jumped great and handled like a 2.0 SCTE kind of.

Outdoors since its really light i thought would hurt it but i race with a guy who has the MIP kit on his SCTE. And on the Rough surface it actually seems to drive and handle it fine.
tc5 man is offline  
Old 08-06-2013, 03:49 PM
  #45531  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
chucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hell
Posts: 1,315
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kazuaki View Post
I raced with my BCE H1 chassis for the first time this weekend, using the latest Dunford setup for the 2.0. It seemed to work pretty well for me. I'm using the V1 servo mount and receiver box still. I guess I don't really see an advantage to switching that and I like that everything is contained in the box. I'm running the 2.0 torque rods front and rear. It is nice that the chassis is setup to work with the 1.0 chassis braces as well. I may try those in the future.

Chucko, am I seeing correctly that your servo mount and receiver box holes are countersunk on the top of the chassis? I have all the same mounting holes as you, but mine are flat on top.
Changes are being made on a daily basis . new ideas... I changed a few things after running it.. I had the original box radio compartment in it and am going to the 2.0 mount to test and see how much better it can handle the flying that I do on my large track out doors at CCRC. I will post back with results next week this is my old one I polished lol it blinds you when its out side in the sun
Attached Thumbnails Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread-bce-001.jpg  
chucko is offline  
Old 08-07-2013, 02:41 AM
  #45532  
Tech Initiate
 
N/Q HPIer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Townsville Australia
Posts: 23
Default

l bought my daughter for her birthday a Losi ten-scte roller , l've fitted it up with Spectrum gear for radio/transmitter , a savox hi torque , metal geared digital servo and 1/8 Xerun combo , 120amp sc ESC (the blue one) and the 1800 kva 4 pole motor , geared it with a 14T pinion (like you would for 1/8 scale) she runs at the local track in the kids class (a 1/10 scale track) but we went to the 1/8 scale track last week for the first time so l fitted it with a 4s lipo and this thing hauls arse but on the her race nights (at the 1/10 scale track) we have to run 2s max , the truck still gets along alright , heaps of grunt for jumps and out of corners untill the straight where people start to catch or come around her , can l gear it up and how much bigger pinion can you go before it wont fit or just bite the bullit and buy a 1/10 scale 4 pole motor and deal with the heat , its allways hot here in N/Queensland and thats why l did what l did to get away from the heat issue , Note the most temp we have ever recorded is 42c on motor and ESC , l would really like to leave it 1/8 scale setup if possible for this reason , just need more speed or am l kidding myself.

Last edited by N/Q HPIer; 08-07-2013 at 02:56 AM.
N/Q HPIer is offline  
Old 08-07-2013, 06:24 AM
  #45533  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (8)
 
eddomak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 531
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by N/Q HPIer View Post
l bought my daughter for her birthday a Losi ten-scte roller , l've fitted it up with...

and the 1800 kva 4 pole motor ...

... can l gear it up and how much bigger pinion can you go before it wont fit or just bite the bullit and buy a 1/10 scale 4 pole motor and deal with the heat , its allways hot here in N/Queensland and thats why l did what l did to get away from the heat issue , Note the most temp we have ever recorded is 42c on motor and ESC , l would really like to leave it 1/8 scale setup if possible for this reason , just need more speed or am l kidding myself.
I think the biggest pinion that fits is a 20T, or maybe just a 21T. I found that with the big batteries it is the handling that suffers. Can you go the mid-ground to a 3S setup with a 2000-2700 KV setup?
eddomak is offline  
Old 08-07-2013, 12:07 PM
  #45534  
Tech Regular
 
reckboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: South San Francisco, CA
Posts: 276
Default

Originally Posted by chucko View Post
Changes are being made on a daily basis . new ideas... I changed a few things after running it.. I had the original box radio compartment in it and am going to the 2.0 mount to test and see how much better it can handle the flying that I do on my large track out doors at CCRC. I will post back with results next week this is my old one I polished lol it blinds you when its out side in the sun
looking forward to the production run of the H1 chassis. Was thinking of pre-ordering from the site. Any estimate when R&D will be done and product will be available in its final config? No rush. I am sure it is worth waiting for. Just want to get an idea if on timing if you have one. Site says late July I believe.
reckboy is offline  
Old 08-07-2013, 01:45 PM
  #45535  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (32)
 
mxgregg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 610
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by reckboy View Post
looking forward to the production run of the H1 chassis. Was thinking of pre-ordering from the site. Any estimate when R&D will be done and product will be available in its final config? No rush. I am sure it is worth waiting for. Just want to get an idea if on timing if you have one. Site says late July I believe.
I'm thinking in the next week or two. Just making the last few tweeks with some of the 2.0 mounting locations for extra adjustability.
mxgregg is offline  
Old 08-07-2013, 05:19 PM
  #45536  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (8)
 
eddomak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 531
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mxgregg View Post
I'm thinking in the next week or two. Just making the last few tweeks with some of the 2.0 mounting locations for extra adjustability.
Out of curiosity, from the BCE perspective, do you think that an SCTE 1.0 with the H1 chassis performs as well as a SCTE 2.0 with the BCE v2 chassis?
eddomak is offline  
Old 08-07-2013, 05:39 PM
  #45537  
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,999
Default

Well from driving the 2.0 and the MIP conversion kit they both handle better for sure than the typical 1.0 layout ! Never driven ethier one on dirt though just a indoor Carpet offroad track.

So any chassis with the center diff toward the Rear is better for sure.
tc5 man is offline  
Old 08-07-2013, 05:39 PM
  #45538  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (35)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Murrieta, CA
Posts: 330
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by eddomak View Post
Out of curiosity, from the BCE perspective, do you think that an SCTE 1.0 with the H1 chassis performs as well as a SCTE 2.0 with the BCE v2 chassis?
I don't see why not. I have the BCE H1 chassis and compared it to an SCTE 2.0 at the race this weekend. The layout of the major components (battery, motor, esc, diff) is the same. The chassis even allows the use of the 2.0 servo mount if you want. I am still using the original servo mount/radio box, but I seriously doubt that makes a noticeable difference. The only way I can see the BCE H1 and a 2.0 driving differently would be due to the differences in the actual chassis flex. I'm sure the way the pocketing is done and possible differences in the quality of the aluminum may lead to differences in flex characteristics. One thing I do like about the BCE H1, is the options it gives you. You can use either the old or new servo mount. You can use the new 2.0 torque rods, or the old-style chassis braces for more flex.
kazuaki is offline  
Old 08-07-2013, 05:53 PM
  #45539  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
chucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hell
Posts: 1,315
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I agree on the more of the difference of changing to one or the other ..Its nice to be able to tune for a track rather then starting a set up from known racer thats just a starting point. if the short brace works in the past That's your driving style and its ok if you want the box servo its going to work What BCE gives is a lot of options for tuning rather then bone stock here take it try and see if you can make it work. the guys at losi test for months then give you a basic starting point and at that has not to many options to tune.. the BCE gives you all the options. JMO and it works great
chucko is offline  
Old 08-07-2013, 06:08 PM
  #45540  
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,999
Default

Do any of you guys make better lap times with a 5,7,3 diff setup than 5,5,3 on dry dirt/loose ?

Ive tried both and for some reason i get better lap times for sure with 7k in the center than 5k in the center diff . I like the fact that 5k is easier to drive on dry dirt but with 7k. I just like the forward traction it gives you and more torque out of corners so i guess its just a drivers thing.

5K in the center diff feels like it doesnt give you much Forward traction. I noticed looking at my lap times i could get away from my fastest lap time at 36s at diffrent tracks . I seemed to have faster lap times with 5,7,3 .

I might try diffrent Front tires out and leave the 5k in to see first before i use 7 again . Maybe with the lighter oil in the center diff you need to go up on the Front diff like 7 ?
tc5 man is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.