Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 10-21-2012, 08:30 PM
  #40381  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
Gene158's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New Haven, CT
Posts: 634
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rcgod View Post
They all leak.
Clean the metal insert and inside of case well. Put a thin film of rtv on the outside of insert. Don't put any on the bottom! Push insert all the way into the case making sure it's fully bottomed. Wipe off excess sealant that pushes up inside of case. If you put the rtv on the case it will push down under the insert and possibly not seat all the way, which will cause binding when you reassemble the diff.
When you're talking about the metal inserts, you're talking about those hex shaped pieces that almost look like a 17mm hub right?
Gene158 is offline  
Old 10-21-2012, 08:33 PM
  #40382  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (19)
 
Rockthecatbox21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Texas panhandle
Posts: 2,797
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Gene158 View Post
When you're talking about the metal inserts, you're talking about those hex shaped pieces that almost look like a 17mm hub right?
Yes
Rockthecatbox21 is offline  
Old 10-21-2012, 10:34 PM
  #40383  
Tech Addict
 
nanoverse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 650
Default

Originally Posted by Rockthecatbox21 View Post
Actually it's not for that reason at all. I added another gasket to make the diff more free, as it was locking up after ca'ing the inserts.
I have never needed two gaskets. When I first tried to get the gaskets tight and put too much rtv sealant on the gasket and putting rtv first on the inserts I got lockup. Just put the insert in first (hard), then glue or rtv. After that put brake/motor cleaner on gasket and soak/smear in rtv. After that diffs have been butter.
nanoverse is offline  
Old 10-21-2012, 10:44 PM
  #40384  
Tech Addict
 
nanoverse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 650
Default

Originally Posted by OG RC 10T View Post
If your getting too much body roll that would be in your suspension, not in your diffs. In other words changing the diff fluid would not have an impact on body roll, specifically. However, changing the fluids would, in my opinion, give you better drive-ability, than leaving the factory grease in there. And your choice of thickness depends on where you drive. On carpet I would like to think, 5k, 5k, 3k would be easier to drive.

As for the body roll, thicker oil and stiffer springs would help. Personally in all of my RCs I have found stock springs to be sufficient, so unless you already have them, try the oil first.
Bottoming out isnt a bad thing if its controlled and not a total slap where you loose control.

I would go low as possible on carpet start with 25mm. You can also limit body roll with your rear droop screws or putting limiters in shocks.

You have surely used same tires as the other fast guys on your track.
nanoverse is offline  
Old 10-22-2012, 06:00 AM
  #40385  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (19)
 
Rockthecatbox21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Texas panhandle
Posts: 2,797
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nanoverse View Post
I have never needed two gaskets. When I first tried to get the gaskets tight and put too much rtv sealant on the gasket and putting rtv first on the inserts I got lockup. Just put the insert in first (hard), then glue or rtv. After that put brake/motor cleaner on gasket and soak/smear in rtv. After that diffs have been butter.
I did 2 gaskets only on the front diff. It was my first diff to put ca on and i seem to have gotten tiny bit too much, just enough for it to lockup. I got it right on the other two diffs and used the ca more sparingly. No need for a second gasket.
Rockthecatbox21 is offline  
Old 10-22-2012, 06:57 AM
  #40386  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (22)
 
rcguy76559's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Jarrell tx
Posts: 668
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by timannnn6 View Post
Understand that 8200mah at 30C is 246 amps continuous!! Plenty for our trucks. When running more mah you do not need "75C". Probably false claims anyways.
C rating is a bs # there is no standard on it. Theres bunch guys running turnigy 6000 packs the black ones think there 25-30c there like 25 bucks each. With no issues. I been running 6600 nano tech packs with no puffing for a year now. Just keep those temps down and run current limiter. Also check all bearings in truck. When temps start getting hot.
rcguy76559 is offline  
Old 10-22-2012, 08:35 AM
  #40387  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (171)
 
"Smiley"'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Cypress, Tx
Posts: 4,859
Trader Rating: 171 (97%+)
Default

Good weekend at the Sc Showdown. Ended up 4th. In 4wd Sc there was all the way down to a L main. 270 Entries i believe.
Attached Thumbnails Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread-showdown.jpg  
"Smiley" is offline  
Old 10-22-2012, 08:40 AM
  #40388  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
Adonis_mp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 442
Trader Rating: 8 (90%+)
Default

I keep going back and forth with my Pro4 4600kv on 2S and my CC 550 on 3S. I like the sensored feel and responsiveness of the Pro4 but I keep getting pass on the two long straights on the 1/8 scale track. So I guess what I'm looking for is a 4pole sensored 550 motor, any ideas?
Adonis_mp is offline  
Old 10-22-2012, 08:49 AM
  #40389  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,869
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Adonis_mp View Post
I keep going back and forth with my Pro4 4600kv on 2S and my CC 550 on 3S. I like the sensored feel and responsiveness of the Pro4 but I keep getting pass on the two long straights on the 1/8 scale track. So I guess what I'm looking for is a 4pole sensored 550 motor, any ideas?
Tekin has mentioned a 550 4 pole called the Pro-4HD. It should be here soon as the annoucement was a while ago but not sure on the time frame.

http://www.rctech.net/forum/10671790-post2691.html
Casper is offline  
Old 10-22-2012, 08:52 AM
  #40390  
Tech Master
iTrader: (230)
 
nitro_mt_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wapakoneta OH
Posts: 1,592
Trader Rating: 230 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Adonis_mp View Post
I keep going back and forth with my Pro4 4600kv on 2S and my CC 550 on 3S. I like the sensored feel and responsiveness of the Pro4 but I keep getting pass on the two long straights on the 1/8 scale track. So I guess what I'm looking for is a 4pole sensored 550 motor, any ideas?
Your track let's you run 3s in 4wd sct? What esc are you running?
nitro_mt_racer is offline  
Old 10-22-2012, 08:54 AM
  #40391  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (37)
 
Resqnu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 968
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default Rear Brace

Ordering the Bump chassis. Which rear brace do you recommend? Delrin, TLR torque rod or other?
Resqnu is offline  
Old 10-22-2012, 08:55 AM
  #40392  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (8)
 
caguilar4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 138
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by "Smiley" View Post
Good weekend at the Sc Showdown. Ended up 4th. In 4wd Sc there was all the way down to a L main. 270 Entries i believe.
Great job! Any video footage of the race?
caguilar4 is offline  
Old 10-22-2012, 09:02 AM
  #40393  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Grandturk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 3,485
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Resqnu View Post
Ordering the Bump chassis. Which rear brace do you recommend? Delrin, TLR torque rod or other?
I have stock, TLR rod and the long Delrin brace available as tuning options. I've been using the TLR rod lately. It's a good in between feel. Use the Bump Delrin brace on high bite tracks where you can't seem to get the back end to rotate enough. I found the truck to be very quick to rotate with the Delrin brace. Use the stock brace for low traction conditions and the TLR brace for in between.
Grandturk is offline  
Old 10-22-2012, 09:05 AM
  #40394  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Grandturk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 3,485
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Adonis_mp View Post
I keep going back and forth with my Pro4 4600kv on 2S and my CC 550 on 3S. I like the sensored feel and responsiveness of the Pro4 but I keep getting pass on the two long straights on the 1/8 scale track. So I guess what I'm looking for is a 4pole sensored 550 motor, any ideas?
What are you getting passed by? Rocket ships? I keep up with ebuggies and truggies with my Novak 4.5 550 on the straights.
Grandturk is offline  
Old 10-22-2012, 09:07 AM
  #40395  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (37)
 
Resqnu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 968
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Grandturk View Post
I have stock, TLR rod and the long Delrin brace available as tuning options. I've been using the TLR rod lately. It's a good in between feel. Use the Bump Delrin brace on high bite tracks where you can't seem to get the back end to rotate enough. I found the truck to be very quick to rotate with the Delrin brace. Use the stock brace for low traction conditions and the TLR brace for in between.
Thinking of buying a strc front brace and center diff support. Are they needed?
Resqnu is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.