Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 09-16-2012, 01:00 AM
  #39331  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (8)
 
eddomak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 531
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by snaketaco
Bought scte used. How do I know what type of spring are on it? I don' see any thing to identify them.
For the original (ARR & RTR) style it comes with all black coloured springs. This means "medium". If you have gold or silver springs the previous person used the older style losi springs.

If you have black springs but they have dots of colour on the ends then it has the newer style racing springs.

Here are some notes from a previous thread:

http://www.rctech.net/forum/10541655-post31964.html

Spring rates for LOSB 2959 Front set
Green - 3.6
Blue - 3.9
Black - 4.2
Purple - 4.5

Spring rates for LOSB 2963 Rear set
Red - 2.7
Orange - 3.0
Silver - 3.3
Green - 3.6

"Old" spring rates.. Stock spring rates Front
Silver - 3.6
Black - 3.9
Gold -4.3
Stock rears are
Silver - 3.0
Black - 3.3
Gold -3.6
eddomak is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 04:10 PM
  #39332  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (7)
 
jsamarin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Posts: 638
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

does the 2012 dunford setup call for emulsion or bladder shocks? I dont think it says on the setup sheet what he is using.

Thanks
jsamarin is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 04:58 PM
  #39333  
Tech Regular
 
aquito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Oceanside CA
Posts: 264
Default

Hey guys I have a scte with a castle 1410 3800kv with a hobbyking 120a esc and I'm running gens ace 40c 5,000mah 2s and a 50c 5,000mah 2s..

My question is. I will be upgrating to the tenshock sc401 4600kv.. Will I have to get new batteries with higher C rating? Or the ones I have are ok?
aquito is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 06:25 PM
  #39334  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
TCCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Central Michigan
Posts: 1,512
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by aquito
Hey guys I have a scte with a castle 1410 3800kv with a hobbyking 120a esc and I'm running gens ace 40c 5,000mah 2s and a 50c 5,000mah 2s..

My question is. I will be upgrating to the tenshock sc401 4600kv.. Will I have to get new batteries with higher C rating? Or the ones I have are ok?
my 40c puffed on my HW SCT Pro and HW 4700kv geared at 13T and dont wanna drop any more as punch is on 1 and it still spins alot but my Nanotechs direct wired from esc to bullets that plug right into battery have yet to even get the packs warm even running in 90* heat in MI.

I say run it and try it with 13-14t gearing and see how temps are and see what your batteries do? If your that worried order new and sell or sell the GA and order a higher C rating while waiting for delivery of the motor if you can. I tried mine and mine didnt like it but they are $37 batt so i wasnt really out anything if something happened as i had them for 6-8 months and got my money out of them i thought, but any extra connection will cause resistance and even i was a skeptic until removing my TRX battery connection and goin to a direct wire set-up
TCCustoms is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 06:27 PM
  #39335  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: okc,ok
Posts: 483
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Would like some viewpoints, rebuild truck with all new stuf or get a new roller kit ?
sgtlt is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 06:56 PM
  #39336  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
TimMo846's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 736
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sgtlt
Would like some viewpoints, rebuild truck with all new stuf or get a new roller kit ?
I would go with a new roller IMHO. I bought my roller brand new in box and really haven't changed to much on the set up, other than a little more cambering. Buying a used truck with all new parts sounds very tempting especially if its a GREAT price. But the Bad thing about buying something that is used is that you're buying someone else's set up and possibly problems and it's hard to get everything directly back to the stock setup so you can start fresh. If you have the money, I'd go new roller.
TimMo846 is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 07:40 PM
  #39337  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (19)
 
Rockthecatbox21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Texas panhandle
Posts: 2,794
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by aquito
Hey guys I have a scte with a castle 1410 3800kv with a hobbyking 120a esc and I'm running gens ace 40c 5,000mah 2s and a 50c 5,000mah 2s..

My question is. I will be upgrating to the tenshock sc401 4600kv.. Will I have to get new batteries with higher C rating? Or the ones I have are ok?
I actually HAVE the sc401 4600 and i can tell you will need new batteries. I'm geared at 13t and my nanotec 6600's get puffed at the end of a long run. Even a short 6 min heat makes them heat up a little.
Rockthecatbox21 is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 07:48 PM
  #39338  
Tech Master
iTrader: (22)
 
cpt_RedBeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N.E Ohio
Posts: 1,010
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sgtlt
Would like some viewpoints, rebuild truck with all new stuf or get a new roller kit ?
It all depends on where you wanna go with the build. I was going mip and top of the line so I went used. But I also went ceramic bearings, tekno drives and shafts, Ha balls and ti links. There wasn't much losi left when I was done.
cpt_RedBeard is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 08:37 PM
  #39339  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
TCCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Central Michigan
Posts: 1,512
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cpt_RedBeard
It all depends on where you wanna go with the build. I was going mip and top of the line so I went used. But I also went ceramic bearings, tekno drives and shafts, Ha balls and ti links. There wasn't much losi left when I was done.
+1

couldnt have said it better...I would have been better off doin a roller rather than converting my 810 into a SCTE but i was able to sell the motor/driveline to help gain some money back but i spent more trying to get it up and goin but still happy even tho i wish the MIP kit would have been out sooner cuz i would have just done that and swap all over that was needed.

But just depends like RedBeard said if you goin with alot of aftermarket, i'd shoot for a decent used but pay attention to what your buying and how they have treated it maintenance wise
TCCustoms is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 09:02 PM
  #39340  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
Gene158's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New Haven, CT
Posts: 634
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Rockthecatbox21
I actually HAVE the sc401 4600 and i can tell you will need new batteries. I'm geared at 13t and my nanotec 6600's get puffed at the end of a long run. Even a short 6 min heat makes them heat up a little.
Damn man you got me worried now. I just bought a ten scte and ordered the sc401 4600kv and HW sct pro. For batteries, I ordered some 2s 6000mah 65-130c nanotechs. I was planning on using a 14t or 15t pinion. You think I'll have any issues with that setup?
Gene158 is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 09:18 PM
  #39341  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (19)
 
Rockthecatbox21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Texas panhandle
Posts: 2,794
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Gene158
Damn man you got me worried now. I just bought a ten scte and ordered the sc401 4600kv and HW sct pro. For batteries, I ordered some 2s 6000mah 65-130c nanotechs. I was planning on using a 14t or 15t pinion. You think I'll have any issues with that setup?
Usually around 8 min mark is when they noticeably puff. At regular 6 min heats battery is at about 95 f and my motor is at 170 WITH the castle fan on it. My friend tried a 14t WITHOUT a fan and at the end of a 8 min run his motor temp was at 210 f
Rockthecatbox21 is offline  
Old 09-16-2012, 11:51 PM
  #39342  
Tech Master
iTrader: (90)
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Houston TX (formally Sou CA)
Posts: 1,220
Trader Rating: 90 (100%+)
Default

Regarding batteries puffing.

I've tried all the nano-techs and gens ace on my 4600 and they ALL puff the 1st generation nanotech 6.0's were the ones that lasted the longest in my SCTE.

Turnigy now has the A-SPEC nanotech 6.2 which are the REAL deal. These batteries are actually lighter, feel stronger (carbon wrap), and have A LOT more punch. On the straight, a couple other racers were amazed on the speed of my truck.... tried my old nano's and it wasn't the same.

Just saying.....
Kuya_Kimo is offline  
Old 09-17-2012, 12:02 AM
  #39343  
Tech Regular
 
ferrarieeeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 287
Default

Originally Posted by Gene158
Damn man you got me worried now. I just bought a ten scte and ordered the sc401 4600kv and HW sct pro. For batteries, I ordered some 2s 6000mah 65-130c nanotechs. I was planning on using a 14t or 15t pinion. You think I'll have any issues with that setup?
Did u mean the SC411?
ferrarieeeee is offline  
Old 09-17-2012, 12:03 AM
  #39344  
Tech Regular
 
aquito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Oceanside CA
Posts: 264
Default

Wow so looks like I'm gonna need new batteries then. Or should I just keep my castle 1410? Is it really a big difference? I'm running 15t pinion
aquito is offline  
Old 09-17-2012, 12:11 AM
  #39345  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (145)
 
RC*PHREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,322
Trader Rating: 145 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Gene158
Damn man you got me worried now. I just bought a ten scte and ordered the sc401 4600kv and HW sct pro. For batteries, I ordered some 2s 6000mah 65-130c nanotechs. I was planning on using a 14t or 15t pinion. You think I'll have any issues with that setup?
you should be fine with those batteries as long as you aren't running more than about 8 minute races. after that, you're risking it. i haven't puffed any of my 6.0's with my SC411 4600. i slightly puffed a 6.6 running it almost to cutoff during practice. i did puff a 6.0 running the hobbywing 4700 4 pole motor. that thing is just too much IMO. yeah, it's ballistic fast, but people say tenshocks eat motors? that thing eats them for lunch and asks for seconds.
RC*PHREAK is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.