Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 09-05-2012, 03:55 PM
  #39046  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
TCCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Central Michigan
Posts: 1,512
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Pygmy View Post
That's good to hear since I ordered it yesterday (Will probably take a month to get here from Hong Kong though...)
I was wondering why I found so much posts and youtube videos about the Tenshock 411, and hardly anything about the HW 3656SD.
I'd love to see a race with a Scte with that motor in it just to see how it performs.
Hmm, i have a vid on there but its not of it racing, just running across the yard as the track we have wasnt groomed enough to run on it safely...Just click the pic and it should open up

TCCustoms is offline  
Old 09-05-2012, 03:56 PM
  #39047  
Tech Regular
 
MIP MATT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Moore's Ideal Products, LLC
Posts: 485
Default

Originally Posted by jonasm48 View Post
I took apart my scte and inspected my axles, and the ends look a bit wallowed out.

Are axles just a part that needs replaced from time to time?

Are tekno more durable? Are there direct replacement teknos?

Thanks
Yes there are direct replacement Tekno shafts for the centers and front/rear. I'm currently running them on my SCTE for quite a while and haven't had a failure. I have bent of one the rear shafts but I also splintered a losi shaft in the past and the drive pin slid out and tore apart my rear case. I have heard of people having them bind up but it seems different from SCTE to SCTE because I personally didn't have a problem.

Just my 2 cents.
MIP MATT is offline  
Old 09-05-2012, 04:56 PM
  #39048  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (45)
 
goehm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 2,756
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Pygmy View Post
That's good to hear since I ordered it yesterday (Will probably take a month to get here from Hong Kong though...)
I was wondering why I found so much posts and youtube videos about the Tenshock 411, and hardly anything about the HW 3656SD.
I'd love to see a race with a Scte with that motor in it just to see how it performs.
1 month? Yikes. Next time give Falcon Sekido a shot, they've been quick and Jennifer in support has been tremendously helping in getting anything I need (including extra cases and switches). Also had good experience with HobbyPartz. CRC should treat you right too, though I don't have first hand experience.
goehm is offline  
Old 09-05-2012, 05:00 PM
  #39049  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (45)
 
goehm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 2,756
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MIP MATT View Post
Yes there are direct replacement Tekno shafts for the centers and front/rear. I'm currently running them on my SCTE for quite a while and haven't had a failure. I have bent of one the rear shafts but I also splintered a losi shaft in the past and the drive pin slid out and tore apart my rear case. I have heard of people having them bind up but it seems different from SCTE to SCTE because I personally didn't have a problem.

Just my 2 cents.
Did you bend and splinter the shafts when running the MIP chassis and aluminum brace?

Seems that would occur more with chassis flex, and I assumed the MIP setup would be a bit more stiff with it's brace. I know I bent one with the stock chassis and stock plastic brace.
goehm is offline  
Old 09-05-2012, 06:04 PM
  #39050  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (8)
 
eddomak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 531
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by GNS Racing 86 View Post
ya im running the 4000kv on a small tight track and its just enough, outdoor or bigger track it would not be enough. also using the gens ace 5000, 50c, seems to be a good motor, only 3 races on it... but i will get the 4600 for bigger tracks....
Agree - I am on the 4000KV on a medium sized outdoor 1:10 track and compared to the 4600KV I think it's not quite enough. All this talk has me itching to buy the 4600KV now and sell the 4000KV.
eddomak is offline  
Old 09-05-2012, 06:47 PM
  #39051  
Tech Master
iTrader: (39)
 
BDRMBULLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: toronto CANADA
Posts: 1,490
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Do it man , do it ?:@)
BDRMBULLY is offline  
Old 09-05-2012, 06:59 PM
  #39052  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (8)
 
eddomak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 531
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BDRMBULLY View Post
Do it man , do it ?:@)
OK - only if you buy my 4000KV.

It's people like you that make me spend money.
eddomak is offline  
Old 09-05-2012, 07:18 PM
  #39053  
Tech Master
iTrader: (41)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,230
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

What is the safe max temp under racing conditions for a Tekin pro 4600?
rifraf is offline  
Old 09-05-2012, 07:26 PM
  #39054  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (42)
 
BashemSmashem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,647
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Some new paint !




And one next to my new buggy ....

Last edited by BashemSmashem; 09-05-2012 at 07:53 PM.
BashemSmashem is offline  
Old 09-05-2012, 07:34 PM
  #39055  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (56)
 
kman16jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa,Fl.
Posts: 4,046
Trader Rating: 56 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rifraf View Post
What is the safe max temp under racing conditions for a Tekin pro 4600?
I believe tekin told me 200 but mine runs around 170-180.
kman16jr is offline  
Old 09-05-2012, 07:35 PM
  #39056  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
TCCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Central Michigan
Posts: 1,512
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

uh oh, someones got some new sabertooth rims, hehe!!!

Hey, where do you get those little stickers you have on the side doors...we've been looking for some of those???
But looks good...do you paint your own?
TCCustoms is offline  
Old 09-05-2012, 07:35 PM
  #39057  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (227)
 
rcjunky10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fuquay Varina, NC
Posts: 2,180
Trader Rating: 227 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rifraf View Post
What is the safe max temp under racing conditions for a Tekin pro 4600?
180 and below and your good to go!
rcjunky10 is offline  
Old 09-05-2012, 07:38 PM
  #39058  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (42)
 
BashemSmashem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,647
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TCCustoms View Post
uh oh, someones got some new sabertooth rims, hehe!!!

Hey, where do you get those little stickers you have on the side doors...we've been looking for some of those???
But looks good...do you paint your own?

Thanks , yes I do all my own painting , the stickers on the doors came with the body .
BashemSmashem is offline  
Old 09-05-2012, 07:38 PM
  #39059  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (52)
 
rcracenut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: WIS
Posts: 3,363
Trader Rating: 52 (96%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rifraf View Post
What is the safe max temp under racing conditions for a Tekin pro 4600?
I always believed that you NEVER run a brushless motor over 160. I heard differently about the Pro 4 4600. So I called Tekin and they confirmed that 190 to 200 is OK under race conditions with that motor. Boy, does it ever fly when geared to run those temps. It definately likes it.
rcracenut is offline  
Old 09-05-2012, 07:43 PM
  #39060  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (8)
 
eddomak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 531
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Newbie Questions - 2S vs 3S

Hi - these are newbies question, but please bear with me...

I understand that with a 3S system it is more efficient than a 2S system and seems to power the truck more easily, just needing to get the right KV motor to put it in the 30K -> 40K rpm range, and then the right pinion gear...

Question 1:
However do you also need the same type of C rating to be able to match the load regardless of # volts?

Eg I am currently using the 2S NanoTech 6600's rated at 65C-130C. If I had a 3S with 6600, would I still be looking for something with the same C rating, or would it not require as high a C rating?

Question 2:
When using a friend's SCTE on 3S 5000mAh, I noticed the batteries were heaps heavier than my 2S 6600mAh's and my 2S 5000mAh's. Although the power was great this significantly affected handling. Are all 3S's that heavy? or is is just the ones he got?

Thanks in advance for your wisdom.
eddomak is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.