Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 08-31-2012, 12:45 PM
  #38896  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 535
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I really like my SNR carbon chassis.
Jim Bob is offline  
Old 08-31-2012, 01:04 PM
  #38897  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (8)
 
caguilar4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 138
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys! MY SCTE is my first race truck! I've been around RCs for quite some time, but this is my first time racing..

anyway, I was wondering if there is a proper procedure to change my differential oil? should I drain my current grease overnight, just a quick dab with a clean cloth, or spraying nitro cleaner into it...?

Tried searching it, but threads are WAY to long to find it...

thanks!
caguilar4 is offline  
Old 08-31-2012, 01:19 PM
  #38898  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (29)
 
Devigili22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 847
Trader Rating: 29 (97%+)
Default

Any opinions/ideas on a budget ESC/Motor combo? Looking at around a $150 cap. The MMP and the 1415 just don't cut it on 2s.
Devigili22 is offline  
Old 08-31-2012, 01:22 PM
  #38899  
Tech Fanatic
 
.AJ.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Basingstoke UK
Posts: 764
Default

Originally Posted by Devigili22
Any opinions/ideas on a budget ESC/Motor combo? Looking at around a $150 cap. The MMP and the 1415 just don't cut it on 2s.
Tenshock SC411 4600kv and a Xerun SCT Pro or the Xerun SCT Pro combo with the 4700kv motor
.AJ. is offline  
Old 08-31-2012, 05:09 PM
  #38900  
Tech Regular
 
Dano628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: North West Jersey
Posts: 258
Default

Originally Posted by caguilar4
Hi guys! MY SCTE is my first race truck! I've been around RCs for quite some time, but this is my first time racing..

anyway, I was wondering if there is a proper procedure to change my differential oil? should I drain my current grease overnight, just a quick dab with a clean cloth, or spraying nitro cleaner into it...?

Tried searching it, but threads are WAY to long to find it...

thanks!
Mineral Spirits and a tooth brush works great . You can get it at any hardware or home improvement center . The TLR tuned kit is a great upgrade for a reduced price .
Dano628 is offline  
Old 08-31-2012, 06:51 PM
  #38901  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (8)
 
caguilar4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 138
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Dano628
Mineral Spirits and a tooth brush works great . You can get it at any hardware or home improvement center . The TLR tuned kit is a great upgrade for a reduced price .
Thanks Dano, I'm actually looking into the TLR kit, and the king headz chasis and moto mount, as they reduce the angle at which the front cvd works.

What I don't get from the TLR kit are the rear aluminum hubs. In what way are they better than the stock ones?
caguilar4 is offline  
Old 08-31-2012, 07:16 PM
  #38902  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 53
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

What I don't get from the TLR kit are the rear aluminum hubs. In what way are they better than the stock ones?[/QUOTE]

The only benefit I've seen from the aluminum hubs is the bearings seating tighter and lasting longer. Never had a problem with the stock set either.
Jspfeiss is offline  
Old 08-31-2012, 07:34 PM
  #38903  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
TCCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Central Michigan
Posts: 1,512
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by .AJ.
Tenshock SC411 4600kv and a Xerun SCT Pro or the Xerun SCT Pro combo with the 4700kv motor
+1
Have SCT Pro and 4700 and its a good set-up...i paid $19x.xx tho so if money is that tight the tenshock/sct pro combo is cheaper at funshobby(think thats how its spelled) and think they even sell on ebay but you dont get the program card for the sct pro with the tenshock combo but can buy it from them and they are NOT a US buyer but heard shipping is pretty quick

Havent had time but got my KH chassis, KH dual bearing diff mount, TLR tuning kit(minus a few parts), SNR Carbon towers, modded 8ight standoff's, 8ight alum caps, 8ight alum spring bottoms/holders, and 8ight red springs up front all installed but as always we've been busy and a wedding tomorrow and a holiday weekend so hopefully i'll get it out at some point this weekend and give feedback....
TCCustoms is offline  
Old 08-31-2012, 07:55 PM
  #38904  
Tech Regular
 
Dano628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: North West Jersey
Posts: 258
Default

Originally Posted by caguilar4
Thanks Dano, I'm actually looking into the TLR kit, and the king headz chasis and moto mount, as they reduce the angle at which the front cvd works.

What I don't get from the TLR kit are the rear aluminum hubs. In what way are they better than the stock ones?
I am not sure it is the only part I didn't use .
Dano628 is offline  
Old 08-31-2012, 10:03 PM
  #38905  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 689
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

has anybody had any experience with the MIP Pro4Mance package for this truck, if so can i get some feedback, thanks.
calo247 is offline  
Old 08-31-2012, 11:15 PM
  #38906  
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Frisco,Tx
Posts: 355
Trader Rating: 6 (88%+)
Default Scte Problem

Hey,
I recently just completely redid my Scte and And ever since Ive had a glitching issue. I am running a MMP with Novak 4.5 And S6040 servo. I went up to mikes and I was told to run a capacitor, lower my gearing from a 15t pinion to a 13t and I cut my motor wires shorter. That helped alot but the glitching is there and last week it brought me from 1st into 5th Plz help.
Rcdudes3475 is offline  
Old 08-31-2012, 11:40 PM
  #38907  
Tech Master
iTrader: (90)
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Houston TX (formally Sou CA)
Posts: 1,220
Trader Rating: 90 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Rcdudes3475
Hey,
I recently just completely redid my Scte and And ever since Ive had a glitching issue. I am running a MMP with Novak 4.5 And S6040 servo. I went up to mikes and I was told to run a capacitor, lower my gearing from a 15t pinion to a 13t and I cut my motor wires shorter. That helped alot but the glitching is there and last week it brought me from 1st into 5th Plz help.
What radio? MMP + spektrum tends to be a glitch some.
Kuya_Kimo is offline  
Old 08-31-2012, 11:46 PM
  #38908  
Tech Master
iTrader: (90)
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Houston TX (formally Sou CA)
Posts: 1,220
Trader Rating: 90 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Devigili22
Any opinions/ideas on a budget ESC/Motor combo? Looking at around a $150 cap. The MMP and the 1415 just don't cut it on 2s.
Buy a tenshock or hobbywing motor running on your mmp. Brushlesshobbies makes a great 120amp esc for $67.

Search this thread for it...
Kuya_Kimo is offline  
Old 09-01-2012, 06:13 AM
  #38909  
1M
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (44)
 
1M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 828
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

What needs to be done to have the SCTE rotate fast on a hair pin corner? If I drive it in deep, hit the breaks the truck just stops it doesn't slide the rear around.
1M is offline  
Old 09-01-2012, 06:22 AM
  #38910  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 116
Default

Slow down coming into the turn, then accelerate coming out of the apex. With brakes on all 4 wheels, it is not going to want to do that unless it is loose conditions.
oldschoolnewb is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.