Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 08-09-2012, 05:35 AM
  #38176  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (235)
 
teamlosi906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: up michigan
Posts: 2,610
Trader Rating: 235 (100%+)
Post

,,,
teamlosi906 is offline  
Old 08-09-2012, 06:16 AM
  #38177  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (132)
 
will g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Team Stingray Buckeye AZ
Posts: 3,587
Trader Rating: 132 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know about how far the servo saver should be tightened up from bottom ?
will g is offline  
Old 08-09-2012, 06:27 AM
  #38178  
Tech Master
iTrader: (49)
 
HighLife420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,189
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

I tighten mine pretty much all the way and backed off a turn. If you have a good metal gear servo, you can tighten it most of the way. I locktite the bottom piece too, so it doesnt loosen over time.
HighLife420 is offline  
Old 08-09-2012, 07:13 AM
  #38179  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (132)
 
will g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Team Stingray Buckeye AZ
Posts: 3,587
Trader Rating: 132 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by HighLife420
I tighten mine pretty much all the way and backed off a turn. If you have a good metal gear servo, you can tighten it most of the way. I locktite the bottom piece too, so it doesnt loosen over time.
i will be running now a jr 9100s .. was running a hitec 5996tg thnx Will G

Last edited by will g; 08-09-2012 at 07:30 AM.
will g is offline  
Old 08-09-2012, 07:15 AM
  #38180  
Tech Master
iTrader: (49)
 
HighLife420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,189
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Youre ok then, ive been using the same servo for over a year and the only issue ive ever had was it coming loose after a few months. Locktite solved that.
HighLife420 is offline  
Old 08-09-2012, 07:31 AM
  #38181  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (132)
 
will g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Team Stingray Buckeye AZ
Posts: 3,587
Trader Rating: 132 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by HighLife420
Youre ok then, ive been using the same servo for over a year and the only issue ive ever had was it coming loose after a few months. Locktite solved that.
i would assume at this tightness its no longer a servo saver it moves very little ?
will g is offline  
Old 08-09-2012, 07:34 AM
  #38182  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (6)
 
louperez4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: winter garden fl
Posts: 125
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default newest setup sheet

does anybody know a link to the newest update setup sheet
louperez4 is offline  
Old 08-09-2012, 07:41 AM
  #38183  
Tech Master
iTrader: (49)
 
HighLife420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,189
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by will g
i would assume at this tightness its no longer a servo saver it moves very little ?
Yep, pretty much. Metal gear servos are pretty strong, havent had one go on me yet.
HighLife420 is offline  
Old 08-09-2012, 07:52 AM
  #38184  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (132)
 
will g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Team Stingray Buckeye AZ
Posts: 3,587
Trader Rating: 132 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by HighLife420
Yep, pretty much. Metal gear servos are pretty strong, havent had one go on me yet.
i will tighted alittle softer than that and give it a try ... thanks for the help ... i wondered why i went thru few servo savers already prob too loose LOL
will g is offline  
Old 08-09-2012, 07:56 AM
  #38185  
Tech Master
iTrader: (49)
 
HighLife420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,189
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by will g
i will tighted alittle softer than that and give it a try ... thanks for the help ... i wondered why i went thru few servo savers already prob too loose LOL
Np
HighLife420 is offline  
Old 08-09-2012, 08:20 AM
  #38186  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 22
Default

Originally Posted by ChrisAttebery
I used the stock shafts for over a year and never had one come loose. The setscrews were not loose. The point looked like about 75% of the cup tip was in contact with the pinion. I'm wondering if the setscrews were a little too soft and the points pounded out.

I've been active in RC since the early 80's. I'm 99.9% sure it wasn't an installation error.
Thanks Chris, that the screws are a little soft makes sense. Both times this happened to me the setscrew looked to be in their proper place. I'll keep a closer eye on them.
Stevemopa is offline  
Old 08-09-2012, 08:37 AM
  #38187  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (121)
 
ChrisAttebery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gilroy, CA
Posts: 2,258
Trader Rating: 121 (100%+)
Default

I've been using the Nanotech 6600s for about 8 months without a problem. What is your current limiter set to? Are you spinning the tires alot?

Originally Posted by Suteki
So what batteries is everyone running in their scte?

Made a post a few pages back about my RX8 pro 4 4600 puffing batteries so I am looking for something that can handle the amp draw of this combo. My gens ace puff pretty easily and my turnigy nanotech 6600 65c are coming off slightly puffed also. Not a huge amount and they shrink back down but I dont trust the batteries when this is happening considering many people are saying a lipo battery should not puff at all, even after hard use, so I am curious what sort of success others are having in this vehicle with that combo and what batteries they are using.

I did order a revolectrix 6000 60c to give a go, considering they make big high end chargers and most of their product is geared toward high current draw helicopter applications, I figure these must surely hold up.....but curious to what others are using.

Also on the topic of batteries, I did pull one of the nanotechs apart to inspect the cells and they were perfectly flat, but the case itself you could see wasnt as flat as when I first got them. Does this indicate that maybe the cells aren't actually puffing? If so why does the case not appear as flat as the day they arrived?
ChrisAttebery is offline  
Old 08-09-2012, 08:39 AM
  #38188  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (121)
 
ChrisAttebery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gilroy, CA
Posts: 2,258
Trader Rating: 121 (100%+)
Default

I think you're right Chuck. The threads do get tight towards the bottom. I'm pretty sure I cranked them down when I installed them, but I used an L wrench last night just to make sure.

Originally Posted by chucko
on the set screws for the tekno drive shafts. F/R.. if you look at it when your tightening things down, IN YOUR HAND you will notice that it gets tight even before it bottoms out on the ring and pinion shaft. so when you think you have it tight its not. you need to really use an L shaped allen and twist the shit out of it to get it to tighten, its made tight with a slightly tapered thread.. it starts to feel like it touching but its not. Hope this helps
ChrisAttebery is offline  
Old 08-09-2012, 12:55 PM
  #38189  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (45)
 
goehm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 2,765
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ChrisAttebery
I think you're right Chuck. The threads do get tight towards the bottom. I'm pretty sure I cranked them down when I installed them, but I used an L wrench last night just to make sure.
Hey Chris - glad you just posted. I was wondering if you had setup thoughts on, or have seen adjusted setups for those that now use your battery mount in reverse (so the the ESC sits forward on the chassis).

I did my own battery/ESC mod to reverse those two and the truck rear end needed attention. Previous setup was essentially what Dunford runs, but in the rear I went to silver spring/30 oil/shocks out in the arm. Also moved the collars down some to bring the ride height back up from the extra weight in the rear.

That seemed to work well for me, but was wondering what other setup changes you might use/have seen.

Thanks
goehm is offline  
Old 08-09-2012, 12:55 PM
  #38190  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 41
Default Ackerman Arm

In the process of replacing my steering with ST racing concepts steering rack set.

Question: The Ackerman arm, which holes do I bolt it to the inside holes or the outside holes on the steering rack?

What is the difference?

Right now using stock ackerman arm.

Thanks
Jeffem62 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.