Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 08-08-2012, 10:33 PM
  #38176  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (19)
 
Rockthecatbox21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Texas panhandle
Posts: 2,797
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Biggie85 View Post
I dunno, I ran it hard twice tonight for 6 and 8 minutes. Never shut off or bogged out. Ill run it until i have a problem with it, then I'll switch it out.

Also, looked this up. The Pro4 4600kv motor at maximum burst is around 126-130 amps. Hobbywing ESC has a max burst of 380 amp.
Yeah don't worry about it. My friend ran the 80 amp in his sc10 4x4 and a tenshock sc401 4600 motor. Believe me the tenshock 4600 pulls just as many or more amps than a pro-4 motor. He ran it fine no issues.
Rockthecatbox21 is offline  
Old 08-08-2012, 10:34 PM
  #38177  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (114)
 
Mxer59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bakersfield, California
Posts: 2,703
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Default

I know the 4 pole motors are awsome I use to run Tekin Rx8 4600 pro4. I'm getting back into hobby and running 4x4 again. What's some takes on maybe running Sc4x 4.5 so it's easier on batteries or perhaps a 4000kv run good?
Mxer59 is offline  
Old 08-08-2012, 10:44 PM
  #38178  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 56
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Suteki View Post
So what batteries is everyone running in their scte?
I am using both Gens Ace 5000/50c and 5300/65c with a RX8/4600 and haven't puffed one of the 6 batteries I rotate between me and my sons XXX-SCT. And several times I have run them to cutoff, although I try not to make it a habit as my motor is scorching hot by then.
tonyxcom is offline  
Old 08-08-2012, 11:02 PM
  #38179  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
suby723's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Spring Hill Tennessee
Posts: 1,378
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by justpoet View Post
I just took a drill to the chassis and put lots of holes in it to lighten it. I managed to get down to about 4 lbs after drilling almost every part. It is really hard to drill out the center of drive shafts, getting straight enough of a shot is just annoying.
Then I got to figuring that if I just need to remove material, I should make parts thinner too. So I got out a file and took the chassis to half thickness, I even got to smooth out the bottom from all the 8th scale rocks I'd been hitting.

After also cutting out holes for most of the body, I was still able to put on a big wing in the back and some air splitters up front to come in at just under 4lbs.

Oh, and don't forget the most important part, carbon fibre pistons. Weight savings and more responsiveness due to meshing with the oil and emulsifying the carbon into the silicon to make the oil even lighter too!
Pics or it never happened Dave!!
suby723 is offline  
Old 08-09-2012, 05:35 AM
  #38180  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (235)
 
teamlosi906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: up michigan
Posts: 2,610
Trader Rating: 235 (100%+)
Post

,,,
teamlosi906 is offline  
Old 08-09-2012, 06:16 AM
  #38181  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (132)
 
will g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Team Stingray Buckeye AZ
Posts: 3,587
Trader Rating: 132 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know about how far the servo saver should be tightened up from bottom ?
will g is offline  
Old 08-09-2012, 06:27 AM
  #38182  
Tech Master
iTrader: (49)
 
HighLife420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,189
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

I tighten mine pretty much all the way and backed off a turn. If you have a good metal gear servo, you can tighten it most of the way. I locktite the bottom piece too, so it doesnt loosen over time.
HighLife420 is offline  
Old 08-09-2012, 07:13 AM
  #38183  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (132)
 
will g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Team Stingray Buckeye AZ
Posts: 3,587
Trader Rating: 132 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by HighLife420 View Post
I tighten mine pretty much all the way and backed off a turn. If you have a good metal gear servo, you can tighten it most of the way. I locktite the bottom piece too, so it doesnt loosen over time.
i will be running now a jr 9100s .. was running a hitec 5996tg thnx Will G

Last edited by will g; 08-09-2012 at 07:30 AM.
will g is offline  
Old 08-09-2012, 07:15 AM
  #38184  
Tech Master
iTrader: (49)
 
HighLife420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,189
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Youre ok then, ive been using the same servo for over a year and the only issue ive ever had was it coming loose after a few months. Locktite solved that.
HighLife420 is offline  
Old 08-09-2012, 07:31 AM
  #38185  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (132)
 
will g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Team Stingray Buckeye AZ
Posts: 3,587
Trader Rating: 132 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by HighLife420 View Post
Youre ok then, ive been using the same servo for over a year and the only issue ive ever had was it coming loose after a few months. Locktite solved that.
i would assume at this tightness its no longer a servo saver it moves very little ?
will g is offline  
Old 08-09-2012, 07:34 AM
  #38186  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (6)
 
louperez4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: winter garden fl
Posts: 125
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default newest setup sheet

does anybody know a link to the newest update setup sheet
louperez4 is offline  
Old 08-09-2012, 07:41 AM
  #38187  
Tech Master
iTrader: (49)
 
HighLife420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,189
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by will g View Post
i would assume at this tightness its no longer a servo saver it moves very little ?
Yep, pretty much. Metal gear servos are pretty strong, havent had one go on me yet.
HighLife420 is offline  
Old 08-09-2012, 07:52 AM
  #38188  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (132)
 
will g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Team Stingray Buckeye AZ
Posts: 3,587
Trader Rating: 132 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by HighLife420 View Post
Yep, pretty much. Metal gear servos are pretty strong, havent had one go on me yet.
i will tighted alittle softer than that and give it a try ... thanks for the help ... i wondered why i went thru few servo savers already prob too loose LOL
will g is offline  
Old 08-09-2012, 07:56 AM
  #38189  
Tech Master
iTrader: (49)
 
HighLife420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,189
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by will g View Post
i will tighted alittle softer than that and give it a try ... thanks for the help ... i wondered why i went thru few servo savers already prob too loose LOL
Np
HighLife420 is offline  
Old 08-09-2012, 08:20 AM
  #38190  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 22
Default

Originally Posted by ChrisAttebery View Post
I used the stock shafts for over a year and never had one come loose. The setscrews were not loose. The point looked like about 75% of the cup tip was in contact with the pinion. I'm wondering if the setscrews were a little too soft and the points pounded out.

I've been active in RC since the early 80's. I'm 99.9% sure it wasn't an installation error.
Thanks Chris, that the screws are a little soft makes sense. Both times this happened to me the setscrew looked to be in their proper place. I'll keep a closer eye on them.
Stevemopa is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.