Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 08-03-2012, 03:34 PM
  #37951  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
Ralph289's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Central FL.
Posts: 380
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default SCTE Undercover ???

Does anyone make an clear over-tray for the SCTE ?
THANKS
Ralph289 is offline  
Old 08-03-2012, 03:40 PM
  #37952  
Tech Master
iTrader: (40)
 
BlackStarRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Miramar, Florida
Posts: 1,786
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Casper View Post
Yes we are on our monthly rotation on bitching about screws. Next week is the great chassis debate again!
LMAO......

HOW ABOUT THIS IS ANYONE DOING ANY TUNING OUTSIDE OF THE TEAM SETUPS AND HAVING SUCCESS AT IT?

Great topic to share ideas.....
BlackStarRacing is offline  
Old 08-03-2012, 03:48 PM
  #37953  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (16)
 
justpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NH, USA
Posts: 2,063
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Ralph289 View Post
Does anyone make an clear over-tray for the SCTE ?
THANKS
You can get an 810 body and mount kit and pretty much just drop it on under the normal body.
justpoet is offline  
Old 08-03-2012, 03:56 PM
  #37954  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
8ight-e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,174
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

A few must haves for any losi scte, new in box losi lightened flex chassis, and a new in box hobbywing sct pro w/ 4000kv 4-pole. Take a peek.. here in the sale area.
8ight-e is offline  
Old 08-03-2012, 03:58 PM
  #37955  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (12)
 
Josey Wales's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 454
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default HIOOOH

Originally Posted by USMC STONE View Post
Of course the Losi sponsored will say its race able box stock, and it is. BUT:

1-I use Hudy tools with new tips or ground down to unused section of tips. The stock screws are very soft compared to let's say X-RAY.
2-The stock chassis and shock towers must be made of "limpanium" I can bend by hand. How many people have bent the front kick up section of chassis or rear shock tower? A whole lot.
3- I purchased 3 of first batch so I went thru the whole diff pin issue but the diff plastics were stripped and leaked grease from factory. They may be solved now like the diff pins.

If you really want the best version of this truck do not buy it from Losi.
1. Buy aftermarket chassis of your choice
2. Get carbon towers from Losi, SNR or other well know maker. The aftermarket Losi aluminum towers are just as week as stock.
3. Get the entire Tekno drivetrain and don't worry about anything.
4. Get most of the rest for cheap on eBay like arms (although RPM makes some now), steering and camber links, aftermarket body.
You can build a race version like this for hardly any more than a stock Losi and not have to worry about the issues that have plagued the original.

CHECK THIS GUY OUT..........TOO COOL FOR SCHOOL....!!!!!
Josey Wales is offline  
Old 08-03-2012, 04:47 PM
  #37956  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 350
Default

Chucko, thanks for the help...
Whitey_Wangster is offline  
Old 08-03-2012, 04:52 PM
  #37957  
Tech Regular
 
Dano628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: North West Jersey
Posts: 258
Default

Originally Posted by 8ight-e View Post
A few must haves for any losi scte, new in box losi lightened flex chassis, and a new in box hobbywing sct pro w/ 4000kv 4-pole. Take a peek.. here in the sale area.
Good deal on both . I run that chassis and love it . I have already decided if anything goes wrong with my current set up I am going to try the Xerun . I bumped it for you .
Dano628 is offline  
Old 08-03-2012, 04:52 PM
  #37958  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (76)
 
tony montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Leonardtown Md.
Posts: 6,352
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

Fella's give my man a break, he is a service man. I will listen to what he says even if he is wrong or right. It's a public forum remember.
tony montana is offline  
Old 08-03-2012, 06:53 PM
  #37959  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
myl3s91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 238
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

OKAY, I HATE SCTE DIFFS. every time i rebuild a diff sometimes they work, sometimes they lock up. LOSI please come out with a new design where us as your customers dont have to spend time make shifting them to work with fluid. I rebuild my diffs in a brand new truck, some when smooth, but the front was locking up, today i went out and bought a new housing thinking it might have been the way i glued the inserts. So i rebuilt is again, today, when the diff is tightened down it still locks up. The diffs are brand new. I backed off the screws a little and it seems OK. Is it normal for a new diff to be a little stiffer and not as smooth as one that is a little older?
myl3s91 is offline  
Old 08-03-2012, 07:01 PM
  #37960  
Tech Rookie
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 17
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by myl3s91 View Post
OKAY, I HATE SCTE DIFFS. every time i rebuild a diff sometimes they work, sometimes they lock up. LOSI please come out with a new design where us as your customers dont have to spend time make shifting them to work with fluid. I rebuild my diffs in a brand new truck, some when smooth, but the front was locking up, today i went out and bought a new housing thinking it might have been the way i glued the inserts. So i rebuilt is again, today, when the diff is tightened down it still locks up. The diffs are brand new. I backed off the screws a little and it seems OK. Is it normal for a new diff to be a little stiffer and not as smooth as one that is a little older?

Yes
Khwilliams is offline  
Old 08-03-2012, 07:03 PM
  #37961  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (125)
 
Briguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by myl3s91 View Post
OKAY, I HATE SCTE DIFFS. every time i rebuild a diff sometimes they work, sometimes they lock up. LOSI please come out with a new design where us as your customers dont have to spend time make shifting them to work with fluid. I rebuild my diffs in a brand new truck, some when smooth, but the front was locking up, today i went out and bought a new housing thinking it might have been the way i glued the inserts. So i rebuilt is again, today, when the diff is tightened down it still locks up. The diffs are brand new. I backed off the screws a little and it seems OK. Is it normal for a new diff to be a little stiffer and not as smooth as one that is a little older?
I have had one that I needed to double up on diff gaskets so the gears don`t get to tight .
Briguy is offline  
Old 08-03-2012, 07:11 PM
  #37962  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
jlfx car audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: jackson,tn
Posts: 3,834
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Yea I wish the gear boxes were a little less traxxasish lol would be great to be able to access the diffs without pulling 20% of the truck apart....... come on X ray build us a professional grade SC truck but with losi prices! Lol
jlfx car audio is offline  
Old 08-03-2012, 07:13 PM
  #37963  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
myl3s91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 238
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Khwilliams View Post
Yes
Originally Posted by Briguy View Post
I have had one that I needed to double up on diff gaskets so the gears don`t get to tight .
Okay, so it is normal for a brand new diff to be a little tighter then a diff that has been broken obviously right? lol
myl3s91 is offline  
Old 08-03-2012, 07:22 PM
  #37964  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,869
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by myl3s91 View Post
OKAY, I HATE SCTE DIFFS. every time i rebuild a diff sometimes they work, sometimes they lock up. LOSI please come out with a new design where us as your customers dont have to spend time make shifting them to work with fluid. I rebuild my diffs in a brand new truck, some when smooth, but the front was locking up, today i went out and bought a new housing thinking it might have been the way i glued the inserts. So i rebuilt is again, today, when the diff is tightened down it still locks up. The diffs are brand new. I backed off the screws a little and it seems OK. Is it normal for a new diff to be a little stiffer and not as smooth as one that is a little older?
With the new gears it is critical you get the "squares" set down in the diffs. I use a allen wrench to push down to make sure the blocks are fully seated into the housing. If you do that the diffs should always come out smooth. I found this out when I built all new diffs with the new gears. One was smooth as could be the other two locked up until I realized the square blocks were not fully seated.
Casper is offline  
Old 08-03-2012, 08:20 PM
  #37965  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
myl3s91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 238
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Casper View Post
With the new gears it is critical you get the "squares" set down in the diffs. I use a allen wrench to push down to make sure the blocks are fully seated into the housing. If you do that the diffs should always come out smooth. I found this out when I built all new diffs with the new gears. One was smooth as could be the other two locked up until I realized the square blocks were not fully seated.
Thats how I built the diffs, and I did it more then once, i used an allen wrench to push the square blocks, so they fully seat. But they still seemed rather tight, and if I fully snugged up the screw they'd be at the locking point.. I have rebuilt the diffs in my other scte over a dozen times with no issues. But these are brand new diffs, I doubled up the gasget on the front and rear and they are as smooth as butter now. The center was fine, can doubling up the gasget cause any issues? Im thinking ill run them with the doubled up gasgets for a while then rebuild and hope that they will break in and be smoother with 1 gasget.. Thanks for the feed back any info helps!!!
myl3s91 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.