Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 07-20-2012, 03:08 PM
  #37321  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
TCCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Central Michigan
Posts: 1,512
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jake C6R
But what chassis to get?

i would really like the MIP kit but thats too much for me so i think im goin KH due to the center diff being turned and reducing stress
TCCustoms is offline  
Old 07-20-2012, 03:09 PM
  #37322  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
huby3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 271
Trader Rating: 5 (86%+)
Default

Would a orion r10 pro work? And would a 40c battery work?
huby3 is offline  
Old 07-20-2012, 03:10 PM
  #37323  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (35)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 618
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default motor

Originally Posted by huby3
Really want to get a ten scte. Was wondering what a good esc would be to use. Besides the rx8.
hobbywing sct 85 dollars, i use it in my 1/8th and scte. and with the hobbywing 4700 kv motor my motor temp went from 200 with a tekin 4600 to 130 with the hobby wing.. the hobby wing motor is also 85 dollars.
regardless of price i would rather run hobbywing than tekin
nazman01 is offline  
Old 07-20-2012, 03:11 PM
  #37324  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (45)
 
goehm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 2,765
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jake C6R
But what chassis to get?
TEKNO
goehm is offline  
Old 07-20-2012, 03:18 PM
  #37325  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (35)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 618
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

what chassis to get? NONE... the stock chassis is fine.. i have changed everything on a scte at one time or another.. its hard to make the truck handle any better than how it comes stock , i know people will argue, but i usually tq or win at my local track, no change made me faster than a stock truck, also no one else has gotten any faster with any mods.. funy i saw a post a few pages back how someone made changes, chassis included, and cant get the truck to handle as good as it did stock. I think some people forget how good the truck is stock. I bet alot dont even bother running it stock.. for the price of a chassis, i think the money can def be better spent, or stay in your pocket
nazman01 is offline  
Old 07-20-2012, 03:25 PM
  #37326  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (7)
 
Sean Dickinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Peoria, AZ
Posts: 680
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nazman01
what chassis to get? NONE... the stock chassis is fine.. i have changed everything on a scte at one time or another.. its hard to make the truck handle any better than how it comes stock , i know people will argue, but i usually tq or win at my local track, no change made me faster than a stock truck, also no one else has gotten any faster with any mods.. funy i saw a post a few pages back how someone made changes, chassis included, and cant get the truck to handle as good as it did stock. I think some people forget how good the truck is stock. I bet alot dont even bother running it stock.. for the price of a chassis, i think the money can def be better spent, or stay in your pocket
I believe my truck might be the one you are talking about, with all the holes drilled and a bunch of stuff removed. But I don't agree with you at all, my truck became a featherweight when I removed all that weight. Huge difference, the truck feels like a sled stock and won't get around tight corners anywhere near how well a lightened Truck does.

Maybe your setup is no good. Even with a bad setup, the truck will still be alright, but it might not be as responsive to any changes.
Sean Dickinson is offline  
Old 07-20-2012, 03:26 PM
  #37327  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
TCCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Central Michigan
Posts: 1,512
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

OR here is a better question....???

Do i do the KH chassis and the TLR tuning kit which im gonna sell half of it since i have towers already, i dont have SCTE shocks so the stand-offs wont work, along with the shock caps and collars

OR

Just get the MIP kit and call it good for now???
TCCustoms is offline  
Old 07-20-2012, 03:32 PM
  #37328  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (7)
 
Sean Dickinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Peoria, AZ
Posts: 680
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TCCustoms
OR here is a better question....???

Do i do the KH chassis and the TLR tuning kit which im gonna sell half of it since i have towers already, i dont have SCTE shocks so the stand-offs wont work, along with the shock caps and collars

OR

Just get the MIP kit and call it good for now???
I would go with the TLR kit and TLR Chassis. I just believe in staying with the same brand for big things like a chassis. But since you cant use the standoffs, shock parts, or towers you might as well just get the adjustable hinge pin kits. It's really nice to be able to change everything with the hinge pins.
Sean Dickinson is offline  
Old 07-20-2012, 03:32 PM
  #37329  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (140)
 
timannnn6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,285
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

New truck from TLR.

http://www.shortcourse.eu/2012/07/tl...rse-truck-kit/
timannnn6 is offline  
Old 07-20-2012, 03:32 PM
  #37330  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (35)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 618
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Sean Dickinson
I believe my truck might be the one you are talking about, with all the holes drilled and a bunch of stuff removed. But I don't agree with you at all, my truck became a featherweight when I removed all that weight. Huge difference, the truck feels like a sled stock and won't get around tight corners anywhere near how well a lightened Truck does.

Maybe your setup is no good. Even with a bad setup, the truck will still be alright, but it might not be as responsive to any changes.
lol, well maybe its not my setup is bad(witch it may be) but maybe its awesome.. i mean theres nothing more i want out of the truck stock, it jumps awesome, tons of traction, corners amazing,... could all just be where you race to, i race on a larger 1/8th track and the truck doesnt let me down in any catergory. Its funny to because im someone who like hop ups, it just on my truck at my local track, it needs none.
nazman01 is offline  
Old 07-20-2012, 03:37 PM
  #37331  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
huby3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 271
Trader Rating: 5 (86%+)
Default

If i got the tekin pro 4 motor should i get more of a 1/8th esc or can i run the orion r10 pro?
huby3 is offline  
Old 07-20-2012, 03:40 PM
  #37332  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (7)
 
Sean Dickinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Peoria, AZ
Posts: 680
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nazman01
lol, well maybe its not my setup is bad(witch it may be) but maybe its awesome.. i mean theres nothing more i want out of the truck stock, it jumps awesome, tons of traction, corners amazing,... could all just be where you race to, i race on a larger 1/8th track and the truck doesnt let me down in any catergory. Its funny to because im someone who like hop ups, it just on my truck at my local track, it needs none.
Ohhhhh that's why. I race on tight technical indoor 1/10 scale tracks. That's why mine made a night-and-day difference with all my lightening. Ya it's hard to notice a difference with anything on an 1/8 scale track. Sorry bout that.
Sean Dickinson is offline  
Old 07-20-2012, 03:40 PM
  #37333  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (21)
 
MarkA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 9,161
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by huby3
Would a orion r10 pro work? And would a 40c battery work?
The R10 is a fantastic ESC for this (or any) truck. I've run one in my SCTE for many months and am very pleased. 40C may be cutting it close on the battery though, depending on your motor. I've ran a 4.5 550 fine off 50C packs however.
MarkA is offline  
Old 07-20-2012, 03:42 PM
  #37334  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
huby3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 271
Trader Rating: 5 (86%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MarkA
The R10 is a fantastic ESC for this (or any) truck. I've run one in mine for many months and am very pleased. 40C may be cutting it close on the battery though, depending on your motor. I've ran a 4.5 550 fine off 50C packs however.
Thanks, would the tekin pro 4 motor be good for the r10 too?
huby3 is offline  
Old 07-20-2012, 03:49 PM
  #37335  
Tech Regular
 
RC_Woody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: St. Helens, OR
Posts: 314
Default

Originally Posted by MarkA
The R10 is a fantastic ESC for this (or any) truck. I've run one in my SCTE for many months and am very pleased. 40C may be cutting it close on the battery though, depending on your motor. I've ran a 4.5 550 fine off 50C packs however.
^ ^
| |
| |
Woohoo another Oregonian in this thread!
Mark, you run at Dave's and PRCR correct?
RC_Woody is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.