Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 07-13-2012, 01:23 PM
  #36931  
Tech Master
iTrader: (160)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,840
Trader Rating: 160 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Casper View Post
Alum rear diff inserts and 5-40 alum nuts were added to options for the SCTE on the TLR site. Check them out.

http://www.tlracing.com/Products/Def...ProdID=TLR6311
http://www.tlracing.com/Products/Def...ProdID=TLR3100

You guys have asked about the alum rear diff inserts and they work great. I have been testing them for a little while now. 5-40 alum nuts are very hard to find and now losi offers some. Another way to take seme weight out of the truck if that is your deal. Great hopup with the titanium screw kit. I believe you need 24 nuts to replace all of them on the truck.
Do those inserts only work in the rear diff?
Chris Gierse is offline  
Old 07-13-2012, 01:36 PM
  #36932  
Tech Apprentice
 
BFoley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Northern, NJ
Posts: 60
Default

Originally Posted by Chris Gierse View Post
Do those inserts only work in the rear diff?
Yes, There are no inserts used in the front.
BFoley is offline  
Old 07-13-2012, 02:08 PM
  #36933  
Tech Regular
 
Dano628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: North West Jersey
Posts: 258
Default

Originally Posted by Casper View Post
Alum rear diff inserts and 5-40 alum nuts were added to options for the SCTE on the TLR site. Check them out.

http://www.tlracing.com/Products/Def...ProdID=TLR6311
http://www.tlracing.com/Products/Def...ProdID=TLR3100

You guys have asked about the alum rear diff inserts and they work great. I have been testing them for a little while now. 5-40 alum nuts are very hard to find and now losi offers some. Another way to take seme weight out of the truck if that is your deal. Great hopup with the titanium screw kit. I believe you need 24 nuts to replace all of them on the truck.
Awesome ! Great upgrade ! THANK YOU Losi !!!!
Dano628 is offline  
Old 07-13-2012, 02:31 PM
  #36934  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
TCCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Central Michigan
Posts: 1,512
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TCCustoms View Post
When tear down I'm gonna set mine up off the Dunford 2012' set up and wanted to kno how I would kno how to set up or kno what's what for -1 cAmber up front and that I'm doin it right...I dont kno a lot when it comes to suspension but want to copy this set up and go from there but don't kno what's -1 or -1.5. I'm kinda clueless on this stuff but want to learn while tearing down and rebuilding the truck plus rebuilding the diffs, go to the hd outdrives, and puttin in the new SNR carbon towers and upgrading to the standoffs??
Thanks
can anyone help me out or point me in the right direction to show me what is what?
TCCustoms is offline  
Old 07-13-2012, 02:45 PM
  #36935  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,869
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TCCustoms View Post
can anyone help me out or point me in the right direction to show me what is what?


This is camber.

We measure it with one of these.
http://www.losi.com/Products/Feature...odId=LOSA99172

Does this help?
Casper is offline  
Old 07-13-2012, 03:13 PM
  #36936  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
TCCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Central Michigan
Posts: 1,512
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Casper View Post


This is camber.

We measure it with one of these.
http://www.losi.com/Products/Feature...odId=LOSA99172

Does this help?
yea, i get that much i just meant what holes mean what or when it says -1.5 you always use the gauge to check? i just looking over the sheet studying it but like where it says camber link it says "2" which i get but wasnt sure what if your turning the turnbuckles to get the -1 or if there is a hole change that gets you to those and then fine tweak with turnbuckles. I think i have the rpm monster camber gauge and by looking at pics online since its been so long since used that it does show 1* increments. But i just want to make sure i have the correct hole locations and all...im sure im over analyzing it but id rather be safe then sorry
TCCustoms is offline  
Old 07-13-2012, 03:16 PM
  #36937  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,869
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TCCustoms View Post
yea, i get that much i just meant what holes mean what or when it says -1.5 you always use the gauge to check? i just looking over the sheet studying it but like where it says camber link it says "2" which i get but wasnt sure what if your turning the turnbuckles to get the -1 or if there is a hole change that gets you to those and then fine tweak with turnbuckles. I think i have the rpm monster camber gauge and by looking at pics online since its been so long since used that it does show 1* increments. But i just want to make sure i have the correct hole locations and all...im sure im over analyzing it but id rather be safe then sorry
Put the camber link in the correct hole (as you can see the holes are identified on the setup sheet and you got that). Then adjust the tie rod to get the static camber you are looking for. Make sure you set your ride hieght first and then adjust the static camber.
Casper is offline  
Old 07-13-2012, 03:19 PM
  #36938  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
wfdfiremedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: CT
Posts: 598
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I tried experimenting by using box stock rear springs in front and fronts in rear. I found cutting a coil off the previously rear springs worked well when using them in front. I find this is a cheap alternative to buying the racing spring sets.

Also, the hobby wing sct pro esc and 4000 kv motor simply kicks ass!!
wfdfiremedic is offline  
Old 07-13-2012, 03:20 PM
  #36939  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (18)
 
hkrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Baldwin Park, CA
Posts: 474
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Can someone give me the losi part # for a SCTE servo mounting kit(spacers & screws).

Thanks Rob
hkrob is offline  
Old 07-13-2012, 03:23 PM
  #36940  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
TCCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Central Michigan
Posts: 1,512
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Casper View Post
Put the camber link in the correct hole (as you can see the holes are identified on the setup sheet and you got that). Then adjust the tie rod to get the static camber you are looking for. Make sure you set your ride hieght first and then adjust the static camber.
ok, and ya...be doin ass backawards if i didnt do height first and thanks for reminding me! What is the proper way to set ride height and is there another set-up that would be better for being outdoors or just stick to the Dunfords?
TCCustoms is offline  
Old 07-13-2012, 03:25 PM
  #36941  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (79)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 698
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

What are you guys doing about the excessive play and sloppyness that develops in the turnbuckle rod ends?
AMP-RC is offline  
Old 07-13-2012, 03:26 PM
  #36942  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
larlev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Austin, Tx.
Posts: 1,534
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AMP-RC View Post
What are you guys doing about the excessive play and sloppyness that develops in the turnbuckle rod ends?
Just replace with new ends and balls.
larlev is offline  
Old 07-13-2012, 03:29 PM
  #36943  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (79)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 698
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by larlev View Post
Just replace with new ends and balls.
Just did, two runs later I'm back to a ton of play and slop.
AMP-RC is offline  
Old 07-13-2012, 03:39 PM
  #36944  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,869
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TCCustoms View Post
ok, and ya...be doin ass backawards if i didnt do height first and thanks for reminding me! What is the proper way to set ride height and is there another set-up that would be better for being outdoors or just stick to the Dunfords?
Losi made a video for ride height.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LF2BjgLwXLk

We do ride hieght body off with the SCTE as it is hard to measure with the body.

Originally Posted by AMP-RC View Post
What are you guys doing about the excessive play and sloppyness that develops in the turnbuckle rod ends?
http://www.losi.com/Products/Feature...rodId=LOSB2187

Keeps slop away much longer!
Casper is offline  
Old 07-13-2012, 03:49 PM
  #36945  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
TCCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Central Michigan
Posts: 1,512
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

ok, just what i thought...thank you very much! i'll keep studying and looking over my truck as i go until all parts get here and then knock this thing out...got alot of work ahead of me, lol!
TCCustoms is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.