Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 05-31-2012, 08:47 PM
  #34831  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (45)
 
goehm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 2,756
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TCCustoms View Post
OK, just got it today at lunch from the PO and took it to work like show and tell...how dumb, right?!

So here it is...Hobbywing SCT PRO with the new Hobbywing 4700kv motor and LCD program card. Got it all mounted, wired, and ready to boot up
That looks great fantastic. I just swapped out my Tekin 4600 for the HW 4000 and looking forward to trying it. Let us know how you like the 4700.

One thing I'd suggest is running that ESC wire under your battery tray, and then into the receiver box. If you remove the tray you'll see clips underneath designed to hold the the wires in place. Then you can run in along the tray, under the front brace and into the side slit in the receiver box.
goehm is offline  
Old 05-31-2012, 08:59 PM
  #34832  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (19)
 
Rockthecatbox21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Texas panhandle
Posts: 2,797
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by goehm View Post
That looks great fantastic. I just swapped out my Tekin 4600 for the HW 4000 and looking forward to trying it. Let us know how you like the 4700.

One thing I'd suggest is running that ESC wire under your battery tray, and then into the receiver box. If you remove the tray you'll see clips underneath designed to hold the the wires in place. Then you can run in along the tray, under the front brace and into the side slit in the receiver box.
+1 on that i do it as well. Also another thing you might do is mount your on/off switch directly to the flat part of the chassis right next to the esc. Double servo tape it or use some of that kyosho zeal gel to mount it.
Rockthecatbox21 is offline  
Old 05-31-2012, 09:37 PM
  #34833  
Tech Adept
 
dougo96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: CRC Raceway
Posts: 122
Default

Originally Posted by TCCustoms View Post
OK, just got it today at lunch from the PO and took it to work like show and tell...how dumb, right?!

So here it is...Hobbywing SCT PRO with the new Hobbywing 4700kv motor and LCD program card. Got it all mounted, wired, and ready to boot up but time was short tonight so maybe tomorrow and hopefully get some vids of it this weekend in action if the body post come in and hoping they show tomorrow. Combo came with a 15T and 19T and were different pitches with them both being 5mm shafts but the 15 matched the pitch on the scte so thats what im running for now and will stop at the hobby shop and get a 14T also




FYI its a 4000kv motor....
dougo96 is offline  
Old 05-31-2012, 10:43 PM
  #34834  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 151
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TCCustoms View Post
OK, just got it today at lunch from the PO and took it to work like show and tell...how dumb, right?!

So here it is...Hobbywing SCT PRO with the new Hobbywing 4700kv motor and LCD program card. Got it all mounted, wired, and ready to boot up but time was short tonight so maybe tomorrow and hopefully get some vids of it this weekend in action if the body post come in and hoping they show tomorrow. Combo came with a 15T and 19T and were different pitches with them both being 5mm shafts but the 15 matched the pitch on the scte so thats what im running for now and will stop at the hobby shop and get a 14T also
Nice! I just got mine in and running today. I have the Tenshock SC411 4000kv though, runs great! Sensored is sooo smooth I have my ESC mounted 90* clockwise of how yours is mounted, figure if anything gets up in that area (sticks or whatever), it won't rip the wires out of the ESC. It is well protected anyway but I didn't want to risk it.

goehm, I'm going to run my ESC wire like you said. I looked at it and it really looked like too much of a pain to route so I routed it like TCCustoms for the time being. I just had to drive it!!
thegame7 is offline  
Old 05-31-2012, 11:03 PM
  #34835  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
8ight-e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,174
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hacker07 View Post
They are in the wheel wells.
Any chance of "smart diff's" or a front universal coming out any time soon?
8ight-e is offline  
Old 05-31-2012, 11:45 PM
  #34836  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (141)
 
RC*PHREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,135
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

just got a used hobbywing 4 pole motor today to test out. first thing i did was pull it apart. wanted to see the rotor. here are some comparisons of the hobbywing, pro-4, and a SC401 tenshock:

from left to right: hobbywing, pro-4, tenshock:



DIAMETER:

hobbywing: 19.07


pro-4: 19.02


SC401: 14.63


LENGTH:

hobbywing: 27.39


pro-4: 20.06


SC401: 29.86


FINAL STATS:

hobbywing: 19.07 X 27.39
Pro-4: 19.02 X 20.06
SC401: 14.63 X 29.86

the hobbywing should be a beast...
RC*PHREAK is offline  
Old 06-01-2012, 12:16 AM
  #34837  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (141)
 
RC*PHREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,135
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

and as far as saladfork goes. he's fine. just can't get on the intrawebz for a while.
RC*PHREAK is offline  
Old 06-01-2012, 05:00 AM
  #34838  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
8ight-e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,174
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the info.. also Castle 1410 3800kv 17mm x 25mm (magnet area only)
8ight-e is offline  
Old 06-01-2012, 05:06 AM
  #34839  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
TCCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Central Michigan
Posts: 1,512
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Koo guys, thanks for all the input! As far as it all goes and what's where... The power button is just sitting there as I thought it was funny it was a perfect fit sitting there. The esc wire tho...I didn't like it that way anyways so thanks for the info as I had no clue and will fix that tonight but need to get some double sticky servo tape so I can hold down the power button!
TCCustoms is offline  
Old 06-01-2012, 07:14 AM
  #34840  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
criss2115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 267
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Servo arm insert

Can someone please post the Losi part numbers for the metal servo arm inserts. I can not find them to order.
Thanks in advance
criss2115 is offline  
Old 06-01-2012, 07:42 AM
  #34841  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (8)
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,486
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cavg View Post
However that Mugen part ain't the best. In the manual it's states that you shouldn't try to replace pins that are more than 50% worn out. My first attempt was a pin that had perhaps 65% left, and the screw tip broke (the part that presses the pin). I have managed to replace some pins with it but would definately not purchase it again. As it stands now the tip is on the remover screw is flush with the screw..so can't press them out enough to get a new one started. And the inserter screw have a crack in it.

Worst rc investment for me by far. Caused alot of grief!

part reason i Suggest the Chain breaker and Not a Branded RC pin remover. Ive had the Chain breaker for darn near 3+ year's. pressed COUNTLESS pins from ALL brands of cars and Have never once broken a press pin. Yes I've gotten some tricks over the year's but I personally feel the Hudy is a Joke of a Tool. A Hammer, really hudy. Not to mention they are Extremely Dangerous to use. Pins can Shatter and sent pieces Fast and Far. I would know, I took on in the hand.

Originally Posted by 8ight-e View Post
Any chance of "smart diff's" or a front universal coming out any time soon?



I vote UNI.
Integra is offline  
Old 06-01-2012, 07:50 AM
  #34842  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (141)
 
RC*PHREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,135
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

Hard to believe the 1410's rotor is 25mm long. I'm not measuring the spacer, just the magnet length.

edit: just figured it out. no sensors. that's how they can fit the 25mm long rotor in there.

Last edited by RC*PHREAK; 06-01-2012 at 09:51 AM.
RC*PHREAK is offline  
Old 06-01-2012, 11:38 AM
  #34843  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (19)
 
Rockthecatbox21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Texas panhandle
Posts: 2,797
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by criss2115 View Post
Can someone please post the Losi part numbers for the metal servo arm inserts. I can not find them to order.
Thanks in advance
Are you talking about the plastic splines that go into the horn itself?
Rockthecatbox21 is offline  
Old 06-01-2012, 12:23 PM
  #34844  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
criss2115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 267
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Rockthecatbox21 View Post
Are you talking about the plastic splines that go into the horn itself?
Not plastic inserts that come with the kit. Losi makes metal inserts just like these. I need to order one for myself and a loaner but I can not find a part #
criss2115 is offline  
Old 06-01-2012, 12:37 PM
  #34845  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
TCCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Central Michigan
Posts: 1,512
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dougo96 View Post
FYI its a 4000kv motor....
Sorry bro, but might wanna get to kno your own products alittle better as the package says 4700kv and so does the motor laser etching. I kno that sounds rude but I kno my products and make sure I got what I ordered. I'll get a better pic tonight of the motor but the only thing I noticed was that with the grooves in the motor sticking out I had to grind down the tab underneath which looks like it would be a support as the motor wouldnt slide into the mount becuz of the additional grooves.

And a Quick question...mine was an 810 now a SCTE so do you think the axles and 17mm hexes stick out farther than the 12mm stock SCTE Hexes would? The 1/8th scale rims look like they might hit the body but did order and do have scte axles and hexes but no scte rims/tires yet
TCCustoms is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.