Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 05-23-2012, 01:32 PM
  #34441  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
wfdfiremedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: CT
Posts: 598
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by boba.slave View Post
I've posted a short video with my issue. You guys say that the Sävox-servo's do make a lot of noise. If this is the noise you are talking about, nothing's wrong... but somehow I feel there's something going (very) wrong.

FYI: The servo is its neutral position when switching on.

Here's the video:
+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.


Already a big "thank you" for the input!
I do believe the savox's make extra noise. However, just make sure your endpoints are correct and you are not pushing your servos beyond limits. Besides, that, I would run it with that extra noise and simply keep an eye on it.
wfdfiremedic is offline  
Old 05-23-2012, 01:35 PM
  #34442  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,869
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by boba.slave View Post
I've posted a short video with my issue. You guys say that the Sävox-servo's do make a lot of noise. If this is the noise you are talking about, nothing's wrong... but somehow I feel there's something going (very) wrong.

FYI: The servo is its neutral position when switching on.

Here's the video:
+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.


Already a big "thank you" for the input!
Very normal sounds. Just the digital motor trying to make corrections all the time. My spektrum sounds exactly the same way.
Casper is offline  
Old 05-23-2012, 01:35 PM
  #34443  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
wfdfiremedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: CT
Posts: 598
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

One thing I see is that it appears your servo horn is not 90 degrees to the servo.
wfdfiremedic is offline  
Old 05-23-2012, 01:36 PM
  #34444  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 41
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Stanford55 View Post
If someone running a Tekin 4600 could tell me their motor temps and truck weight fully rtr (tires, 2s, body, etc), I'd appreciate it.
tested my Tekin 4600 today, was at 166F.

Speaking of Hobbywing sct pro, I talked a few pages ago I was having a flashing lights problem where both red and green lights are flashing which disables the sensor. I only recently rebuilt my diffs to 5-5-3 from 3-5-2 and now no flashing lights. I have tried everything in the past to fix this problem with the esc but now it seems to work.

Also installed M2C tapered pistons with 30 weight oil, seems to roll a little to much, should I use higher weight like 35 or 40?
howse is offline  
Old 05-23-2012, 01:37 PM
  #34445  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by boba.slave View Post
I've posted a short video with my issue. You guys say that the Sävox-servo's do make a lot of noise. If this is the noise you are talking about, nothing's wrong... but somehow I feel there's something going (very) wrong.

FYI: The servo is its neutral position when switching on.



Already a big "thank you" for the input!

Sounds pretty normal for Savox
Tailspin is offline  
Old 05-23-2012, 01:58 PM
  #34446  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
???E-Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Owensboro,Ky
Posts: 1,741
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Ive been eyeing the Ready to Run truck for sometime now. $519 on A-main.
Still debating thou. A shaft drive truck would be better outdoors.
I still believe the Losi is the better buy because it comes with a decent set of tires right out of the box. Bowtie type treads.
There's a guy here locally that bought the ready to run and ran a 3s Lipo on
the esc. I would probably still run a 2s for racing thou. 3s is some crazy speed LOL
???E-Racer is offline  
Old 05-23-2012, 02:08 PM
  #34447  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (37)
 
Gas Rat Racin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 647
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rcracenut View Post
Gas rat: Your probably under geared. Im running a 15 on an outdoor track. Temps come off at 140. Under-gearing can produce heat also.
Is that at Clark? I'll try the 15 and a 14 to see how those work.
Gas Rat Racin is offline  
Old 05-23-2012, 02:20 PM
  #34448  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
larlev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Austin, Tx.
Posts: 1,534
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by boba.slave View Post
I've posted a short video with my issue. You guys say that the Sävox-servo's do make a lot of noise. If this is the noise you are talking about, nothing's wrong... but somehow I feel there's something going (very) wrong.

FYI: The servo is its neutral position when switching on.



Already a big "thank you" for the input!
Totally normal....no need to worry. Mine all do the same thing
larlev is offline  
Old 05-23-2012, 02:36 PM
  #34449  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (121)
 
ChrisAttebery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gilroy, CA
Posts: 2,258
Trader Rating: 121 (100%+)
Default

The noise you hear is due to the very narrow deadband on the digital servos. They want to be within ~1% of the correct position vs an analog servo that will position within ~5%. It will always make noise if there is any load on the servo.

I would check to make sure that the steering linkage is 100% free. I found one of the ball links on my son's truck that would not move freely. It had thread lock or something on it from the factory. His servo would make noise on the stand too.


Originally Posted by boba.slave View Post
I've posted a short video with my issue. You guys say that the Sävox-servo's do make a lot of noise. If this is the noise you are talking about, nothing's wrong... but somehow I feel there's something going (very) wrong.

FYI: The servo is its neutral position when switching on.

Here's the video:
+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.


Already a big "thank you" for the input!
ChrisAttebery is offline  
Old 05-23-2012, 02:54 PM
  #34450  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
zZ Hop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Western Colorado
Posts: 91
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ChrisAttebery View Post
The noise you hear is due to the very narrow deadband on the digital servos. They want to be within ~1% of the correct position vs an analog servo that will position within ~5%. It will always make noise if there is any load on the servo.

I would check to make sure that the steering linkage is 100% free. I found one of the ball links on my son's truck that would not move freely. It had thread lock or something on it from the factory. His servo would make noise on the stand too.
I would agree, it sounds like all of my trucks with the 1258t. With and without the spectrum and castle combos. It's been my experience that the brown outs are during high load and it seems that the steering is off when under power. I run a BEC on my scte with spectrum receiver, hobbywing esc and castle motor even though I have not experienced a brown out with the truck. I thought I was having glitching last week, but it was actually the steering binding up...
zZ Hop is offline  
Old 05-23-2012, 04:57 PM
  #34451  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Port Orange
Posts: 67
Default

Is it still necessary to put holes in the front windshield on a high-flow body just wanted to know if it would hurt or help
Throwindirt is offline  
Old 05-23-2012, 04:59 PM
  #34452  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,869
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Throwindirt View Post
Is it still necessary to put holes in the front windshield on a high-flow body just wanted to know if it would hurt or help
There are holes in the front hood. I don't think they have any scribe marks for the windshield but I am not 100% sure on that.
Casper is offline  
Old 05-23-2012, 09:02 PM
  #34453  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Grandturk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 3,485
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Frustrating race night for me. Changed my setup and I was very uncomfortable and the truck handled like poop! Stick with what works I say! Dang...

Was running 32.5 front black spring, 30 rear orange spring. Switched to 3 piston front, 4 piston rear, 27.5 all corners and was wallowing and out of shape in the first heat. Changed oil to 32.5 all around and was better, won the C, 2nd in the B but still felt like I was fighting the car.

Going back to old setup with "stock" pistons - whatever comes in the rebuild kit - I don't think hey have numbers.

Wish I never changed anything!!!
Grandturk is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 09:12 AM
  #34454  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kleine-Brogel (Belgium)
Posts: 31
Default

Thank you all guys for the input!!
I really appreciate this!

Now I know that the noise is okay, I'm going to try to get the servo-horn at 90°.
boba.slave is offline  
Old 05-24-2012, 09:22 AM
  #34455  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (121)
 
ChrisAttebery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gilroy, CA
Posts: 2,258
Trader Rating: 121 (100%+)
Default

The stock pistons are #3.

Originally Posted by Grandturk View Post
Frustrating race night for me. Changed my setup and I was very uncomfortable and the truck handled like poop! Stick with what works I say! Dang...

Was running 32.5 front black spring, 30 rear orange spring. Switched to 3 piston front, 4 piston rear, 27.5 all corners and was wallowing and out of shape in the first heat. Changed oil to 32.5 all around and was better, won the C, 2nd in the B but still felt like I was fighting the car.

Going back to old setup with "stock" pistons - whatever comes in the rebuild kit - I don't think hey have numbers.

Wish I never changed anything!!!
ChrisAttebery is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.