Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 05-09-2012, 10:09 PM
  #33811  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (141)
 
RC*PHREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,135
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

ah yes. i see that now. interesting. i haven't seen the sct-pro in black. i like it better than the blue faux-metal look. i'm sure it's very nice. hobbywing makes top notch stuff. not enough to make me go away from trusty tenshock though...
RC*PHREAK is offline  
Old 05-09-2012, 10:19 PM
  #33812  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (33)
 
Blitzrockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: B.C Canada
Posts: 2,183
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RC*PHREAK View Post
ah yes. i see that now. interesting. i haven't seen the sct-pro in black. i like it better than the blue faux-metal look. i'm sure it's very nice. hobbywing makes top notch stuff. not enough to make me go away from trusty tenshock though...
Both very nice stuff and very nice motor.
Blitzrockey is offline  
Old 05-09-2012, 10:21 PM
  #33813  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (114)
 
Mxer59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bakersfield, California
Posts: 2,703
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 8ight-e View Post
Yup you cannot add voltage to a servo on the internal BEC and expect good things. In order for voltage to make reduced amp draw you need to be able to reduce gearing. Well in a servo you cannot change the gearing so you only add amp draw when you increase voltage; though you get faster speed and more torque.

Typically you can just run a bypass with a 2s lipo setup and jump a wire off your battery direct into your Rx. That or get an external BEC, I wouldn't waste the money on a glitch buster.. fix it the right way. Just my 2c
I prefer running the bec straight to the reciever any time I run a Mamba, but I was just going of what the guy told me with his Losi mmp Novak was having that issue running the pro4 about it sending weird signals, so they did the x-drive boards to fix that. I hear good things about hobby wing though I hear they make the Esc for Orion don't qoute me on it though lol. I looked into doing the hobbywing setup just didn't know what setup I needed
Mxer59 is offline  
Old 05-09-2012, 10:24 PM
  #33814  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 41
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Blitzrockey View Post
Had the same problem sell the pro 4 and get the hobbywing 540 4pole 4700. Better motor cheeper and u won't have that problem. Its like they made the pro4 to only work with a rx8 to make u buy them. Sad really. I have the hobbywing motor and its as good if not better. Rips good and good temps. EBay for 90 bucks I belive.
haha i was looking at the 4700, sadly none are on ebay at the moment

EDIT: nevermind used the model number in ebay instead of just "hobbywing 4 pole"

EDIT2: ordered.

Last edited by howse; 05-09-2012 at 10:36 PM.
howse is offline  
Old 05-09-2012, 10:41 PM
  #33815  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (114)
 
Mxer59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bakersfield, California
Posts: 2,703
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by howse View Post
haha i was looking at the 4700, sadly none are on ebay at the moment

EDIT: nevermind used the model number in ebay instead of just "hobbywing 4 pole"

EDIT2: ordered.
I can't find the 4700 on there website only 3500?
Mxer59 is offline  
Old 05-10-2012, 12:26 AM
  #33816  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 41
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Mxer59 View Post
I can't find the 4700 on there website only 3500?
Hobbywing Xerun 3656SD 4700KV

its on the hobbywing site,it only shows the 4000kv, but their are 4700kv motors as well.
howse is offline  
Old 05-10-2012, 01:14 AM
  #33817  
Tech Master
 
ngo8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Posts: 1,264
Default

Originally Posted by howse View Post
Hobbywing Xerun 3656SD 4700KV

its on the hobbywing site,it only shows the 4000kv, but their are 4700kv motors as well.
http://www.hobbywing.com/product_show.asp?id=277
This one???
ngo8 is offline  
Old 05-10-2012, 01:40 AM
  #33818  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 41
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ngo8 View Post
This one???
nope, the one I ordered has a 5mm shaft.

I would post the link but being a new member I am not allowed yet. Just google or ebay Hobbywing Xerun 3656SD 4700KV.
howse is offline  
Old 05-10-2012, 02:01 AM
  #33819  
Tech Fanatic
 
.AJ.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Basingstoke UK
Posts: 756
Default

Has anyone got a set up for astro turf they would like to share with me????
.AJ. is offline  
Old 05-10-2012, 03:02 AM
  #33820  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 13
Default

What is wrong my Tekin pro4 4600kv motor because it's heat over 100*C (212*F)? I use 13T pinion and Turnigy 6000mah lipos and Xerun150A esc. I dont have any timing and I drive on small tracks.
GrazyDriver is offline  
Old 05-10-2012, 03:11 AM
  #33821  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
SoCal Jared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Corona CA
Posts: 349
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by GrazyDriver View Post
What is wrong my Tekin pro4 4600kv motor because it's heat over 100*C (212*F)? I use 13T pinion and Turnigy 6000mah lipos and Xerun150A esc. I dont have any timing and I drive on small tracks.
Thats hot for sure, your gearing is correct and with zero timing/boost you should have no issues.You can also use the current limiter at 70-80% if you run on a small layout to help reduce temps a bit. Heres a few things to check; Make sure your mesh is properly set, make sure there is no visible binding in the drive train, also check the motor bearing and other bearings in the gear boxes.
SoCal Jared is offline  
Old 05-10-2012, 03:44 AM
  #33822  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (19)
 
WIGMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Soo, Michigan
Posts: 984
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by GrazyDriver View Post
What is wrong my Tekin pro4 4600kv motor because it's heat over 100*C (212*F)? I use 13T pinion and Turnigy 6000mah lipos and Xerun150A esc. I dont have any timing and I drive on small tracks.
I am having the same problem, goto this thread http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric...s-my-scte.html

There are lots of good suggestions on things to check and try.
WIGMAN is offline  
Old 05-10-2012, 04:00 AM
  #33823  
Tech Fanatic
 
.AJ.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Basingstoke UK
Posts: 756
Default

Pointless

http://www.rpmrcproducts.com/product...2.htm#SCTEarms
.AJ. is offline  
Old 05-10-2012, 04:56 AM
  #33824  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (37)
 
omenwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Gresham Or
Posts: 940
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by .AJ. View Post
Cool but i agree, I have had my scte for about a year. Bashed it raced it and launched it off bmx jumps and still running original a-arms. the rear bumper looks goofy with the angled flaps. they need to make a better mount for the bumper rather than just the back part.
omenwolf is offline  
Old 05-10-2012, 04:56 AM
  #33825  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,812
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by GrazyDriver View Post
What is wrong my Tekin pro4 4600kv motor because it's heat over 100*C (212*F)? I use 13T pinion and Turnigy 6000mah lipos and Xerun150A esc. I dont have any timing and I drive on small tracks.
Why does everyone think you need a 4600 4 pole motor on a short track? Just put in a 4000 and stop overpowering your truck , you will be just as fast............
Slotmachine is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.