Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 05-04-2012, 12:48 PM
  #33601  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (9)
 
scracer68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 401
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by BlackStarRacing
Tires:

Are you guys running all four of the same tire or are you mixing the tires from front to rear? If so on loose clay would you place the a higher nub or smaller nub tire on the front vs the rear?

Thanks
I run 4 different tires on mine.
scracer68 is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 12:51 PM
  #33602  
Tech Master
iTrader: (40)
 
BlackStarRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Miramar, Florida
Posts: 1,786
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by scracer68
I run 4 different tires on mine.
at the same time?
BlackStarRacing is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 01:04 PM
  #33603  
Tech Regular
 
RC_Woody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: St. Helens, OR
Posts: 314
Default

Originally Posted by chucko
In answer before you edited my 8 E on the ground is at 8 lb 1.6 oz my scte on ground 6 lb 9.8 oz sorry if I took so long answering I had to get the scale out lol
Thanks for answering

But isn't that mainly because its got a big ass motor and battery in it?
I wonder how close they are dry weight aka no motor/battery(assuming minimal lightening)

Why not run a 2s and and a 4600? I know its not the norm, just trying to figure out why?
RC_Woody is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 01:37 PM
  #33604  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (45)
 
goehm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 2,765
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RC_Woody
Thanks for answering

But isn't that mainly because its got a big ass motor and battery in it?
I wonder how close they are dry weight aka no motor/battery(assuming minimal lightening)

Why not run a 2s and and a 4600? I know its not the norm, just trying to figure out why?
You can run 2S and a 4600, but you'd get ripped. My 8ight-E on 3S 2650kv (old setup) or 4S 2900kv can run cooler, longer, stronger and faster than my SCTE all day long.

The real question then, is why not run 3S and 4S in SCTE?

Answer? Rules, and to comply with the 'spirit' of the class.
goehm is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 01:39 PM
  #33605  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (16)
 
Cackswayn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Austin Tx.
Posts: 445
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by goehm
You can run 2S and a 4600, but you'd get ripped. My 8ight-E on 3S 2650kv (old setup) or 4S 2900kv can run cooler, longer, stronger and faster than my SCTE all day long.

The real question then, is why not run 3S and 4S in SCTE?

Answer? Rules, and to comply with the 'spirit' of the class.
+1.... 2900kv on 4s???
Cackswayn is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 01:53 PM
  #33606  
Tech Regular
 
RC_Woody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: St. Helens, OR
Posts: 314
Default

Originally Posted by goehm
You can run 2S and a 4600, but you'd get ripped. My 8ight-E on 3S 2650kv (old setup) or 4S 2900kv can run cooler, longer, stronger and faster than my SCTE all day long.

The real question then, is why not run 3S and 4S in SCTE?

Answer? Rules, and to comply with the 'spirit' of the class.

True, hadn't thought of it in reverse.

I want the answer to be, to keep cost down but we know in this industry that never flies for long!

My take is well I want to try the 8eight but what motor to buy? do I have to buy new batteries? thinking of ways to keep my costs down. Another RX8 and a T8, plus the cost of the buggy alone, is a pretty big investment. Sounds like though, it will work on what we put in the SCTE, you just wouldn't be competitive with everyone else.
RC_Woody is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 02:24 PM
  #33607  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (16)
 
Cackswayn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Austin Tx.
Posts: 445
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RC_Woody
True, hadn't thought of it in reverse.

I want the answer to be, to keep cost down but we know in this industry that never flies for long!

My take is well I want to try the 8eight but what motor to buy? do I have to buy new batteries? thinking of ways to keep my costs down. Another RX8 and a T8, plus the cost of the buggy alone, is a pretty big investment. Sounds like though, it will work on what we put in the SCTE, you just wouldn't be competitive with everyone else.
Find yourself some used electronics and pick up some hobbyking batt’s. You can piece meal electronic components together without having the big upfront cost of buying everything at once. Once you have all the electronics you need, than start looking for a buggy. I usually buy new kits or slightly used. The last used buggy I bought had a bunch of stripped plastics.

This is generally the route I go when trying out a new class.
Cackswayn is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 03:27 PM
  #33608  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
chucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hell
Posts: 1,319
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RC_Woody
True, hadn't thought of it in reverse.

I want the answer to be, to keep cost down but we know in this industry that never flies for long!

My take is well I want to try the 8eight but what motor to buy? do I have to buy new batteries? thinking of ways to keep my costs down. Another RX8 and a T8, plus the cost of the buggy alone, is a pretty big investment. Sounds like though, it will work on what we put in the SCTE, you just wouldn't be competitive with everyone else.
chassis then a motor, I think the 2000 kv Tekin T8 is great. been racing it a year. 2 times a week,.. if I had to do it over again,.. I would get the 1900 T8. now for speed control.. 180 to 200 or hobby wing and kings for 90 to 150. I have tried MMM esc 2650 in the 2.0 e and its crazy fast. so, so you can't run it wide open with out breaking it. I don't care how good a driver you are. with a 4 cell 5200 to a 5800 you get 20 min of play racing and don't have to worry about making a ten min main or temps. I think pushing 9 lbs is a bigger draw with temps being an issue with the 6 lbs scte. no timing 70 % current limit.. is using that at what it is. and thats close to the limit of being to small... run a 2050 mmm in the scte.. it fits.. I tried it ... it was fun but with the body kitting... that is the difference. the scte is a drivers truck
chucko is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 05:45 PM
  #33609  
Tech Master
iTrader: (40)
 
BDRMBULLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: toronto CANADA
Posts: 1,535
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by symmetricon
got the copperhead 5150kv combo to try out... looking for as much power as possible
It was lame compared to my rx8 n pro 4 4000 combo i took it out and put back what i had , not to happy with it but i guess it makes a great back up system
BDRMBULLY is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 05:58 PM
  #33610  
Tech Master
iTrader: (40)
 
BDRMBULLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: toronto CANADA
Posts: 1,535
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RC_Woody
Thanks for answering

But isn't that mainly because its got a big ass motor and battery in it?
I wonder how close they are dry weight aka no motor/battery(assuming minimal lightening)

Why not run a 2s and and a 4600? I know its not the norm, just trying to figure out why?
Diffs are bigger parts are even bigger , its heavier , theyre tanks compared to scte, i run mmp n 1700 on 4s in my buds back yard track , pack after pack n never temp over 140 all night long by a fire n drink beer lol
You could configure your scte li po to run in your ebuggy though to save dough
BDRMBULLY is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 06:35 PM
  #33611  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (32)
 
SCTRacerX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Columbus
Posts: 653
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Anyone have any info or links on how to convert a SCTE into a 810?
SCTRacerX is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 06:49 PM
  #33612  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
TCCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Central Michigan
Posts: 1,512
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

im doin the opposite and goin SCTE or SCTN...but mainly its the motor as the 810 is a Nitro but then you have the chassis, body, body post, bumpers, rear drive shaft from center diff to rear diff to accommodate the longer SCTE chassis and 1/8th wheel adapters

Its all swappable..no mods, just replace items with 810 parts

Or you wanna swap vehicles and save us both the hassle?

Last edited by TCCustoms; 05-04-2012 at 07:09 PM.
TCCustoms is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 07:06 PM
  #33613  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
badassrevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Roaming Shores, Ohio
Posts: 3,325
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

I race both, a SCTE and an 810e. I run the 810e on the indoor track 2s/4600 runs right with the high powered 1/8th buggies. I can usually run 17 laps with the 810 and fast 16 with e SCTE. I am going to try and run it outdoor to see how it goes. I might have to step up to 3s/3300.
badassrevo is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 07:11 PM
  #33614  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
symmetricon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: houston
Posts: 4,882
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BDRMBULLY
It was lame compared to my rx8 n pro 4 4000 combo i took it out and put back what i had , not to happy with it but i guess it makes a great back up system
Hmmm.... did you have the progauge to program it with? the reason I ask is that I tried it out today and it impressed the sh*t out of me! The powerband is suuuuper smoooooth. The bottom and mid throttle is very smooth and easy to drive. At the track today, which was very loose and bumpy, I was able to clear the set of tripples and the double after it with easy, while with the pro 4 i could not because it is to punchy. The motor also ran significantly cooler with comperable speeds.... since it was 93deg in H-town and its gonna get hotter, it matters. The only downside was that this motor/esc combo pulls some seriouse amps. I managed to puff one of my good batteries. But the runtimes were good. I made 12min with a 6000mah HVR battery.
symmetricon is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 07:12 PM
  #33615  
Tech Master
iTrader: (24)
 
Feint Motion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: So Cal IE
Posts: 1,346
Trader Rating: 24 (96%+)
Default RPM

.

Last edited by Feint Motion; 05-04-2012 at 07:23 PM.
Feint Motion is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.