Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 04-11-2012, 10:28 AM
  #32536  
Tech Fanatic
 
.AJ.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Basingstoke UK
Posts: 756
Default

Originally Posted by hacker07 View Post
I just posted about this on the prior page. They hit our IL warehouse and already are shipping. I am trying to get he CA warehouse ones through QC and shipping today or tomorrow.
Thanks, ill pass on the news
.AJ. is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 10:29 AM
  #32537  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,553
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by N8racer View Post
Guess Horizon sent me a batch of old pins when this issue first cropped up! I have not had much chance to run my truck but 8 times since I replaced mine and they are shockingly warn badly!! I thought I was getting the new hardened pins when they sent me the new ones. I contacted them and they said I had to go online and fill out a request online and I'm still waiting on a response from Horizon on if they will send me the actual hardened pins or not. Just a bit frustrated is all, but I love my SCTE and have no regrets buying it!! I just hope they do the right thing and send me new pins so I can get up and running again!!
Just call Losi support and they should get you taken care of. This issue was resolved over a year ago now and everything that is in the package with the new gears is the harder pins.
hacker07 is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 10:54 AM
  #32538  
Tech Master
iTrader: (40)
 
BlackStarRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Miramar, Florida
Posts: 1,786
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hacker07 View Post
Just call Losi support and they should get you taken care of. This issue was resolved over a year ago now and everything that is in the package with the new gears is the harder pins.
Hey man....Loving your SETUP!!! Keep up the good work!!!
BlackStarRacing is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 11:27 AM
  #32539  
Tech Initiate
 
N8racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 28
Default

Originally Posted by hacker07 View Post
Just call Losi support and they should get you taken care of. This issue was resolved over a year ago now and everything that is in the package with the new gears is the harder pins.
Ok I'll try Losi Support. Horizon support made me go online and put in a ticket and have not heard back from them. I know the issue was taken care of and I got new pins and installed them, so that is why I was sooo shocked when I cracked open my diffs as I thought I had received the new hard pins. Thanks for the response Ryan!!
N8racer is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 11:51 AM
  #32540  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,812
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hacker07 View Post
I just posted about this on the prior page. But I cross read some lines so let me clarify. It has hit both warehouses and passed QC. It has shipped out of CA and should start shipping out of IL today.
I hope so, I have a Bump edition on my wish list through Nitro House, and need to get it quickly so I can start racing again. I just sold my SC10 4X4...............
Slotmachine is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 12:13 PM
  #32541  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
symmetricon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: houston
Posts: 4,882
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Slotmachine View Post
I hope so, I have a Bump edition on my wish list through Nitro House, and need to get it quickly so I can start racing again. I just sold my SC10 4X4...............
You will enjoy the change in vehicles. I am about 2sec faster per lap on average with y heavily modded SCTE vs modded SC10 4x4. Hopefully you have the same results
symmetricon is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 01:52 PM
  #32542  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
8ight-e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,174
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RC*PHREAK View Post
i've never used an orion carbon (buddy of mine did and it puffed within the first 2 or 3 charges and orion and horizon told him to pound salt), but i have used the gens ace and the nano's. the nano's have been superior in every way. of course it holds more charge as the nano is 6000 and the gens ace is 5000, but the nano has more punch. i have had 4 of them. on one of them, the battery terminal inside the lipo got hot and melted the case. it was from a faulty banana plug, so i wouldn't use the supplied wiring harness for anything but charging. the other 3 nano's have performed flawlessly.

i'm fairly certain that the nano will be at least the equal of the orion.
Originally Posted by 8ight-e View Post
I hope so, I've only used the carbon pro 90c 6500s (in the orion battery line), and I have a couple they have been flawless in my scte and short course vehicles actually by far the best I've owned. But if I can buy as good of a batt for less I'm all for it. I'll be staying away for gens ace for future buys, and I'll see soon enough if the nano collection increases. Also trying a few 6s nano's this year too in my 1/8s.
Managed to get some track time today, while the performance was very good for the new nano 6600mah, you could still feel a difference in punch and recovery with the orion carbons 90c 6500 packs. I will say for the difference in price there is no better value imo, and with out question the nano's are better than the gens ace that I've used. You can get two 6600 nano's for the price of one carbon. The nano's did also run nearly 8' warmer as well.. Not an issue in our application, but maybe important for anyone using in 1/8 racing. I'm racing Friday so we'll see how the nano does under true pressure.
8ight-e is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 02:59 PM
  #32543  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (26)
 
pistolpete1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 442
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Thinking of getting a losi scte but wondering what esc/motor to run. I know this has been discussed several times before, but I already have one of these...

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXVHA5

is this too much motor for this truck?

will only run 2s lipo on it.
pistolpete1982 is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 03:06 PM
  #32544  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,869
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by pistolpete1982 View Post
Thinking of getting a losi scte but wondering what esc/motor to run. I know this has been discussed several times before, but I already have one of these...

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXVHA5

is this too much motor for this truck?

will only run 2s lipo on it.
Same price $358 you can get a RX8 and pro-4 motor. I would go that route.
Casper is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 03:09 PM
  #32545  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
wfdfiremedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: CT
Posts: 598
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by pistolpete1982 View Post
Thinking of getting a losi scte but wondering what esc/motor to run. I know this has been discussed several times before, but I already have one of these...

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXVHA5

is this too much motor for this truck?



will only run 2s lipo on it.
In my opinion the kv of that motor is just too low for 2s. For example, the losi rtr motor is 2800kv and requires the use of a 18 tooth pinion (20 is max). I just don't think the motor will turn enough rpm with 2s and available gearing. I think some have run the higher 2650 kv buggy motor with good results. Of course, you can use the esc. On 3s it would prolly rip.
wfdfiremedic is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 03:10 PM
  #32546  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
larlev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Austin, Tx.
Posts: 1,534
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 8ight-e View Post
Managed to get some track time today, while the performance was very good for the new nano 6600mah, you could still feel a difference in punch and recovery with the orion carbons 90c 6500 packs. I will say for the difference in price there is no better value imo, and with out question the nano's are better than the gens ace that I've used. You can get two 6600 nano's for the price of one carbon. The nano's did also run nearly 8' warmer as well.. Not an issue in our application, but maybe important for anyone using in 1/8 racing. I'm racing Friday so we'll see how the nano does under true pressure.
I have found the Nano's to be every bit as powerful as the higher priced lipos.
They have lasted 10x's longer than my Orion carbon's
I ran the Promatch 6000's last weekend and while powerful the mah capacity is not 6000. Sad to say
larlev is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 03:11 PM
  #32547  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
8ight-e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,174
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by pistolpete1982 View Post
Thinking of getting a losi scte but wondering what esc/motor to run. I know this has been discussed several times before, but I already have one of these...

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXVHA5

is this too much motor for this truck?

will only run 2s lipo on it.
Yes it's too much.. not only is it wicked heavy you will have to gear it through the roof to get decent speed on 2s lipo.

The MMM esc will work fine for senesorless motors if you already own it but as casper noted the tekin pro4 route would be a much wiser choice.

If you already have the MMM, snag a castle 1410 motor off ebay or a similar sensorless tenshock motor and you'll be styling.
8ight-e is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 04:26 PM
  #32548  
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,999
Default

Yea i wouldnt go with that motor/Esc ethier running on 2s trust me it will not move lol. Not to mention tons of added weight .
tc5 man is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 04:31 PM
  #32549  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
8ight-e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,174
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by larlev View Post
I have found the Nano's to be every bit as powerful as the higher priced lipos.
They have lasted 10x's longer than my Orion carbon's
I ran the Promatch 6000's last weekend and while powerful the mah capacity is not 6000. Sad to say
Did you use the nano 6k or the new 6.6k? I've never ran the 6k's but it's clear the nano I have while a great value isn't quite as good as my orion, mind you the orion was purchased last summer and still has more punch and quicker recovery. But who knows maybe there were bad batches of either packs... I only can speak to what I own, both my orion's are outstand packs, still with out a doubt the best I've run in my scte. The nano is a very impressive pack and easily #2 for performance and by far #1 for price.
8ight-e is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 04:50 PM
  #32550  
Tech Master
iTrader: (60)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: ohio
Posts: 1,222
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

I ran 1/8th scale 2650 kv lrp in mine when I first got it. ran okay on 2s but was geared to the moon and only advantage I had on people with 550 cans(4 poles weren't out yet) was I could punt them off the track with all the weight I was carrying . I would sell that combo and go tekin like casper said.
motobigalow is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.