Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 03-26-2012, 07:23 PM
  #31756  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (37)
 
Gas Rat Racin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 647
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Just wanted to let you guys know I have 2 Brand new never used 6.6 nano techs for sale. I'm asking 60 shipped each. Pm me if your interested.
Gas Rat Racin is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 07:41 PM
  #31757  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (106)
 
elex300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 4,139
Trader Rating: 106 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by symmetricon View Post
I just wanted to post this up because my results were staggering. I finaly got around to putting the v2 dual stage scte pistons(rcshox) in my truck this last friday, and did alot of tuning. My previose fastet lap at our track was 35s, well after some tuning and playin around with tires, I was able to best my previous fastet lap by 1.5s
and i was able to hit 12 laps for the first time in a 7min main, and if I had run perfectly clean, I have no doubt that i could hit 13 laps. I was blown away! I hit several 33.5s which is very fast.

Oh, and I ordered the 120mp esc from brushlesshobbies.com for 59$ and found that it is the exact esc as the Xerun 120amp esc. Its an amazing deal. It ran great all friday. The esc never got over 110degs running the pro 4 4000kv 15/40 with 20deg of turbo, and the mtor didnt get over 160.
Good to hear some feedback on the speedo. I talked to one of the better racers at the onroad track the other day and he said the Hobbywings are really solid. Smoothe like Lrp with Tekin punch. Not to mention I could sell my back up RS pro and buy 3 of these.. So you don't need a card or anything but a usb cable to program these?
elex300 is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 07:53 PM
  #31758  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
symmetricon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: houston
Posts: 4,882
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by elex300 View Post
Good to hear some feedback on the speedo. I talked to one of the better racers at the onroad track the other day and he said the Hobbywings are really solid. Smoothe like Lrp with Tekin punch. Not to mention I could sell my back up RS pro and buy 3 of these.. So you don't need a card or anything but a usb cable to program these?
Nope, it comes with a usb adapter cable... and i put the newest speedpassion software on it, and it felt amazing comming from an xerun 1/8 80amp esc.
symmetricon is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 08:57 PM
  #31759  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
8ight-e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,174
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Anyone looking to unload a new / like new RTR losi 550 2800kv motor that upgraded? LMK.
8ight-e is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 04:32 AM
  #31760  
Tech Regular
 
vasidudu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 316
Default Castle 1410 / 3800Kv on 3s?

Hi there all,
Would like to know if it is possible to run CC 1410 / 3800Kv on 3s.
Was running my CC 2400Kv (1415) on 2s first then tried the 1410.
Still not enough peps on our 1/8 track.
We do not have limitations in terms of cells.
Is the 3800Kv (1410) ok to run on 3s? It is given for 3s max on CC website...
Thx for the info.
Best,
V

Last edited by vasidudu; 03-27-2012 at 04:43 AM.
vasidudu is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 04:47 AM
  #31761  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
8ight-e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,174
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by vasidudu View Post
Hi there all,
Would like to know if it is possible to run CC 1410 / 3800Kv on 3s.
Was running my CC 2400Kv (1415) on 2s first then tried the 1410.
Still not enough peps on our 1/8 track.
We do not have limitations in terms of cells.
Is the 3800Kv (1410) ok to run on 3s? It is given for 3s max on CC website...
Thx for the info.
Best,
V
Should be fine, 3s puts it at 42k rpm, well within the motors specs. I'd gear way down though, that is a 11-12t otherwise heat will come into play. Should rip though with that kind of RPM.
8ight-e is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 05:02 AM
  #31762  
Tech Regular
 
vasidudu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 316
Default

Originally Posted by 8ight-e View Post
Should be fine, 3s puts it at 42k rpm, well within the motors specs. I'd gear way down though, that is a 11-12t otherwise heat will come into play. Should rip though with that kind of RPM.
Hey thx 8ight-e,
So it is ok then with a 13T + fan on motor?
Does that fan actually provide any cooling; it looks very toyish to me.
Thx for the input.
Best,
V
vasidudu is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 06:04 AM
  #31763  
Tech Regular
 
rcus3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: any*cal
Posts: 353
Default

Originally Posted by vasidudu View Post
Hey thx 8ight-e,
So it is ok then with a 13T + fan on motor?
Does that fan actually provide any cooling; it looks very toyish to me.
Thx for the input.
Best,
V
From my experience, fan will keep the motor ~15F cooler than without. That being said, with Velineon motor (3800 2-pole, I think), it wasn't enough under some applications with 3S battery.

Did you not think the 1415 had enough 'peps' with 3S?
rcus3r is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 06:49 AM
  #31764  
Tech Regular
 
vasidudu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 316
Default

Originally Posted by rcus3r View Post
From my experience, fan will keep the motor ~15F cooler than without. That being said, with Velineon motor (3800 2-pole, I think), it wasn't enough under some applications with 3S battery.

Did you not think the 1415 had enough 'peps' with 3S?
Actually that is where I am wondering...
Should I keep running on 2s with 1410 or do I make the move to 3s with my 1415...???
I just want to make sure that if I go the 3s way I will be able to run it on both my 1410 and 1415.
Best,
V
vasidudu is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 06:56 AM
  #31765  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
8ight-e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,174
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by vasidudu View Post
Actually that is where I am wondering...
Should I keep running on 2s with 1410 or do I make the move to 3s with my 1415...???
I just want to make sure that if I go the 3s way I will be able to run it on both my 1410 and 1415.
Best,
V
it's not about the voltage, it's about the work...

if you gear the 1410 for nearly the same MPH on 2s as 3s you won't generate more heat at the motor. It will work just fine.

That said the 1415 2400 is really designed for 3s use, so it will be a monster on 3s vs 2s. This is a bigger motor now on the correct voltage, you can gear for even more top speed with no ill effect vs the smaller 3800.

A fan may buy you 1t on either voltage, past it's normal operating max with out the fan in the given application.
8ight-e is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 07:07 AM
  #31766  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
Panda-PR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 634
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Maybe its just me but I preffer a heatsink. No worries about current or getting disconnected. I use them with Artic Silver 5 to transfer the heat.
Panda-PR is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 07:27 AM
  #31767  
Tech Regular
 
vasidudu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 316
Default

Originally Posted by 8ight-e View Post
it's not about the voltage, it's about the work...

if you gear the 1410 for nearly the same MPH on 2s as 3s you won't generate more heat at the motor. It will work just fine.

That said the 1415 2400 is really designed for 3s use, so it will be a monster on 3s vs 2s. This is a bigger motor now on the correct voltage, you can gear for even more top speed with no ill effect vs the smaller 3800.

A fan may buy you 1t on either voltage, past it's normal operating max with out the fan in the given application.
Thx for the input...
Though if we relate to Kv and cells:
1410 on 2s = 28120 RPM
1415 on 3s = 26640 RPM
Will the 1415 have more top end on 3s than 1410 on 2s?
Sorry for debating around this; I am just not used to dealing with current, Kvs etc...
Thx for the valuable info.
Best,
V
vasidudu is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 07:38 AM
  #31768  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (171)
 
"Smiley"'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Cypress, Tx
Posts: 4,859
Trader Rating: 171 (97%+)
Default

Another win for the SCTE. Won the Pro 4 class at the Dialed Inc race this past weekend in Louisiana. The truck was dialed with my BCE Chassis.
"Smiley" is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 08:12 AM
  #31769  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
8ight-e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,174
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by vasidudu View Post
Thx for the input...
Though if we relate to Kv and cells:
1410 on 2s = 28120 RPM
1415 on 3s = 26640 RPM
Will the 1415 have more top end on 3s than 1410 on 2s?
Sorry for debating around this; I am just not used to dealing with current, Kvs etc...
Thx for the valuable info.
Best,
V

Short answer YES, the 1415 is basically a 4-pole 550 capable of more output than the smaller 1410 540 4-pole. On 3s voltage the 1415 can be geared up to exceed the top end of the 3800 easily and do it in proper temp with no fan. Now with 2s setups the 1410 has higher rpm's (higher kv) and can be geared properly so it is a better choice in this application. As many found out on low voltage the 1415 was limited by the motor mount to how high you can gear it so it seemed like a dog w/ the lower rpm and inability to gear it up to make up the ground. With a 3s config again the gearing falls into line (normal sizes) and you can really make the 1415 shine to it's full potential.
8ight-e is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 09:01 AM
  #31770  
Tech Fanatic
 
.AJ.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Basingstoke UK
Posts: 756
Default

Ive just fitted the HA servo saver tube to my rig, have i noticed any difference???? Not in the slightest lol
.AJ. is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.