Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 03-12-2012, 01:37 PM
  #31006  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (38)
 
kenny lutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canal Winchester,OH
Posts: 720
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Casper View Post
Most popular is Tekin RX8. Some are using MMP, Orion R10 pro, or hobby wing.
Is anyone running the novak?
kenny lutz is offline  
Old 03-12-2012, 02:04 PM
  #31007  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (86)
 
gawith0413's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 2,681
Trader Rating: 86 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kenny lutz View Post
Is anyone running the novak?
Not a lot people run Novak with this truck.
gawith0413 is offline  
Old 03-12-2012, 02:07 PM
  #31008  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Hampstead, Md.
Posts: 245
Default

Originally Posted by lewis4x4 View Post
Anyone know where the SCTE Tuning Kit is in stock at?
+1 anybody know of any hobby shops with the tuning kit in stock???
mdmaxx is offline  
Old 03-12-2012, 02:25 PM
  #31009  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (8)
 
Jake C6R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 557
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mdmaxx View Post
+1 anybody know of any hobby shops with the tuning kit in stock???
I just ordered one yesterday for $130 that I found on eBay from a U.S. seller - I just looked on there again and I see there is one available for the same price but it is shipping from China.
Jake C6R is offline  
Old 03-12-2012, 02:30 PM
  #31010  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
8ight-e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,174
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ketthoover05 View Post
1. did I screw up by getting the RTR version and not getting the roller and putting different electronics in it? (someone pointed out on something I read that an SCTE RTR won somewhere), 2. can someone clarify what the hop ups for the SCTE RTR would be and where the best place to buy them would be?, 3. Any mods that are a must?, and 4. good starting setups?
1) Nope, it was a fine decision - guy just one Motoroma with a RTR SCTE (against highly hopped up FT 4x4 sc10's to boot)

2) You really must get the carbon fiber shock towers, or get the TLR kit that includes most of the goodies for a great price. (www.losipartshouse.com as well as many others carry this) Maybe a few spares if you wreck a lot (f/r bumpers, f/r a-arms, rear bearing carriers). knock on wood - ive yet to break any a-arms or rear carriers in 1.5yrs+ of racing, I did break a rear shock tower, but it was because a screw backed out and it gave away on our big 1/8 track.

3) Lighten it up (troll back through for ideas and photos, Snag the lightened out drives when you do your first diff service and swap out.

4) Losi team drivers setups are on losi's site, here is my setup that I have had a Ton of luck with. Funny enough this setup works on every surface i've tried, it's almost comical. Summer large 1/8 track, Carpet indoor offroad track, Indoor offroad clay track. The only thing I change is droop and tires. AKA enduro's are my go to tire on outdoor tracks, and it's sick how well stock sc10 tires hook up on both carpet and clay (just keep um clean)

EDIT: I do run Orion carbon 6500mAH lipos only now (ignore those on the setup sheet), and I swap gearing from 11-16t on my motor depending on the track and ambient temp.


Last edited by 8ight-e; 03-12-2012 at 03:29 PM.
8ight-e is offline  
Old 03-12-2012, 03:20 PM
  #31011  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,553
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mdmaxx View Post
+1 anybody know of any hobby shops with the tuning kit in stock???
The warehouses just got more in stock so they should be shipped out shortly.
hacker07 is offline  
Old 03-12-2012, 03:34 PM
  #31012  
Tech Apprentice
 
BFoley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Northern, NJ
Posts: 60
Default

Originally Posted by kenny lutz View Post
Is anyone running the novak?

I run a Novak Havoc SC pro (pre-Xdrive) with a 4.5/550 Novak motor, with zero issues. I run the same setup in a OFNA 10SC. Also with no issues.

Not lacking speed or power. 12 tooth pinions, off the track around 125 to 130 degrees.
BFoley is offline  
Old 03-12-2012, 04:12 PM
  #31013  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Hampstead, Md.
Posts: 245
Default

Originally Posted by hacker07 View Post
The warehouses just got more in stock so they should be shipped out shortly.
thanks!
mdmaxx is offline  
Old 03-12-2012, 05:12 PM
  #31014  
Tech Adept
 
Razorbelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 143
Default

Originally Posted by BFoley View Post
I run a Novak Havoc SC pro (pre-Xdrive) with a 4.5/550 Novak motor, with zero issues. I run the same setup in a OFNA 10SC. Also with no issues.

Not lacking speed or power. 12 tooth pinions, off the track around 125 to 130 degrees.
__________________________________________________ ___________
What size battery do u use and is that a 2 pole 550? and what servo?
And long of running time do u get with that setup?
Razorbelly is offline  
Old 03-12-2012, 05:18 PM
  #31015  
Suspended
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 282
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

just got done installing pro-4 4600kv motor with rx8 esc and just test drove in my small basment and this thing flat out rips i was like HOLY CRAP was running fantom 3.5t but the pro4 is fricken awesome- guys sepnd the $140 and but the tekin pro-4 4600kv
biggerc is offline  
Old 03-12-2012, 05:19 PM
  #31016  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
8ight-e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,174
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by biggerc View Post
just got done installing pro-4 4600kv motor with rx8 esc and just test drove in my small basment and this thing flat out rips i was like HOLY CRAP was running fantom 3.5t but the pro4 is fricken awesome- guys sepnd the $140 and but the tekin pro-4 4600kv
Forget 140, towers is 125 shipped with coupon if you're a member
8ight-e is offline  
Old 03-12-2012, 05:42 PM
  #31017  
Tech Apprentice
 
BFoley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Northern, NJ
Posts: 60
Default

Originally Posted by Razorbelly View Post
__________________________________________________ ___________
What size battery do u use and is that a 2 pole 550? and what servo?
And long of running time do u get with that setup?

They are 2 pole motors. Batteries are Promatch racing 2s/5800/60c and a Hi tec 965mg servo. I can probably push 9-10 minutes out of it, but, I don't take it down to cutoff. At 7 minutes They are down to 20%
BFoley is offline  
Old 03-12-2012, 07:16 PM
  #31018  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (1)
 
WORC1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 40
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kenny lutz View Post
Is anyone running the novak?
I have been trying to run Novak without much success. 1st one (Havok Pro X-Drive w/ 4.5T 550) went up in smoke after about 5 laps. Novak is taking a look at it. I had bought a spare (Havoc Pro X-Drive & 4.5T 550 Ballistic) and installed it, also having problems. Still trying to sort them out but was getting Blue and Green blinking (again) with 14T & 13T pinions. Inspected motor and drivetrain, no binding or restrictions, very frustrated here. Gonna try again Wednesday but I have a Hobbywing 150A XERUN ready to go for a spare (and a Tekin combo ready to buy in my stormerhobbies shopping cart just in case).
WORC1 is offline  
Old 03-12-2012, 07:42 PM
  #31019  
Tech Adept
 
Razorbelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 143
Default

Originally Posted by BFoley View Post
They are 2 pole motors. Batteries are Promatch racing 2s/5800/60c and a Hi tec 965mg servo. I can probably push 9-10 minutes out of it, but, I don't take it down to cutoff. At 7 minutes They are down to 20%
________________________________________________
Thanks, because some tracks in our area run 10min mains.
Razorbelly is offline  
Old 03-12-2012, 07:47 PM
  #31020  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (25)
 
losi_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

If Anyone is looking for a scte with to tuning kit (minus alum shock collars) and tlr chassis . Pm me for details
losi_racer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.