Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 03-05-2012, 10:03 AM
  #30541  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (86)
 
gawith0413's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 2,720
Trader Rating: 86 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dgrobe2112
are you asking how to get 3* toe.. im sure ryan has the TLR tuning kit.. has adjustablility. i think its the 0 inserts on the rear blocks..
That's what I have also, but with the 0 inserts my RPM toe gauge reads 5.5?
gawith0413 is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 10:06 AM
  #30542  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (551)
 
wrightcs77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blaine, MN
Posts: 3,827
Trader Rating: 551 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys, thought I would post here, sorry for the spam.


Used HA Losi SCTE shock bodies
Front and rear spring tuning kits (1 pr of front and 1 pr rear used, rest are new)

PM me for price.

Last edited by wrightcs77; 03-05-2012 at 05:16 PM.
wrightcs77 is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 10:12 AM
  #30543  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (86)
 
gawith0413's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 2,720
Trader Rating: 86 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dgrobe2112
are you asking how to get 3* toe.. im sure ryan has the TLR tuning kit.. has adjustablility. i think its the 0 inserts on the rear blocks..
Ryan, Casper and thoughts?
gawith0413 is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 10:20 AM
  #30544  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (121)
 
ChrisAttebery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gilroy, CA
Posts: 2,258
Trader Rating: 121 (100%+)
Default

The stock suspension holders are at 3 degrees of toe.

Originally Posted by gawith0413
Hey Ryan,
How did you get 3 rear toe on your setup on the losi website for an indoor track?
ChrisAttebery is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 10:24 AM
  #30545  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 8
Default

Originally Posted by SC-Racer
Think I am going to try to run a 5.5t 550 Novak instead of my 4.5t 550 Novak to get a long run time. Where should I start on the pinion? This will be running on a large outdoor track. Running the 4.5t on a small indoor track now. The 4.5t is just not going to make a 10 minute main that is required on the outdoor track.
I have one for sale, sent you a pm if you are interested.
Rcnemesis is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 10:26 AM
  #30546  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,869
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Yes stock settings are 3 deg of toe and 2 deg of antisquat. This is also what you get if you have the adjustable pivots and install 0's all around.
Casper is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 10:45 AM
  #30547  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (86)
 
gawith0413's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 2,720
Trader Rating: 86 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Casper
Yes stock settings are 3 deg of toe and 2 deg of antisquat. This is also what you get if you have the adjustable pivots and install 0's all around.
Thanks for your help Casper!
gawith0413 is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 10:48 AM
  #30548  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 44
Default

Just put tekin pro4 4600 into my rtr. first issue thermal melt down of stock esc. Also 2 buddies put 4000 pro4 in and having same things happen but mine is toasted. I figure ez fix get rx8 problem solved. Nope everywhere is backorder. I have seen on here people talking up the hobbywing esc. Which one is best option, how much they cost, where can i get my hands on one, and what wire do I need to program it?
scoobymx79 is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 11:05 AM
  #30549  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
BLKNOTCH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ajax, Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,024
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by scoobymx79
Just put tekin pro4 4600 into my rtr. first issue thermal melt down of stock esc. Also 2 buddies put 4000 pro4 in and having same things happen but mine is toasted. I figure ez fix get rx8 problem solved. Nope everywhere is backorder. I have seen on here people talking up the hobbywing esc. Which one is best option, how much they cost, where can i get my hands on one, and what wire do I need to program it?
Wait for Tekin
BLKNOTCH is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 11:16 AM
  #30550  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
symmetricon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: houston
Posts: 4,882
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by scoobymx79
Just put tekin pro4 4600 into my rtr. first issue thermal melt down of stock esc. Also 2 buddies put 4000 pro4 in and having same things happen but mine is toasted. I figure ez fix get rx8 problem solved. Nope everywhere is backorder. I have seen on here people talking up the hobbywing esc. Which one is best option, how much they cost, where can i get my hands on one, and what wire do I need to program it?
http://www.hobbypartz.com/07e-c-xerun-120a-sd.html
http://www.hobbypartz.com/hobbywing-...ogram-box.html
symmetricon is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 11:24 AM
  #30551  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (33)
 
rcgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Blackfoot Idaho.
Posts: 3,466
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by scoobymx79
Just put tekin pro4 4600 into my rtr. first issue thermal melt down of stock esc. Also 2 buddies put 4000 pro4 in and having same things happen but mine is toasted. I figure ez fix get rx8 problem solved. Nope everywhere is backorder. I have seen on here people talking up the hobbywing esc. Which one is best option, how much they cost, where can i get my hands on one, and what wire do I need to program it?
HW SCT PRO. Get the programming card too. Look on eBay. Got mine for $90 shipped and have had no issues with it. Runs just as well as the RX8 I had in it before.
rcgod is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 11:31 AM
  #30552  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,869
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by scoobymx79
Just put tekin pro4 4600 into my rtr. first issue thermal melt down of stock esc. Also 2 buddies put 4000 pro4 in and having same things happen but mine is toasted. I figure ez fix get rx8 problem solved. Nope everywhere is backorder. I have seen on here people talking up the hobbywing esc. Which one is best option, how much they cost, where can i get my hands on one, and what wire do I need to program it?
Did you guys change the pinion when you put in the 4600? The stock pinion at 18T is WAY too tall for the 4600. You should be down in the 13-14 tooth range.

The RTR ESC should have handled the 4600 no problem but you had to change the gearing.
Casper is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 11:42 AM
  #30553  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
8ight-e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,175
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Casper
Did you guys change the pinion when you put in the 4600? The stock pinion at 18T is WAY too tall for the 4600. You should be down in the 13-14 tooth range.

The RTR ESC should have handled the 4600 no problem but you had to change the gearing.
I'm also still baffled why so many people actually want the 4600kv, it has no more power/speed than a geared up 4000kv but has WAY less gearing options. It Just doesn't make much sense iMO. The 4000kv will give you the ability to gear properly for smaller or larger tracks, and other than normal batch differences they should run at the exact same temp while pushing the same MPH.
8ight-e is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 11:49 AM
  #30554  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,869
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 8ight-e
I'm also still baffled why so many people actually want the 4600kv, it has no more power/speed than a geared up 4000kv but has WAY less gearing options. It Just doesn't make much sense iMO. The 4000kv will give you the ability to gear properly for smaller or larger tracks, and other than normal batch differences they should run at the exact same temp while pushing the same MPH.
Sorry but if both are geared properly the 4600 will out run a 4000 all day long. Now depending on how big your track is and your driving skill the 4000 may produce as good or even better lap times then a 4600 but I don't agree with your statment that the 4600 does not have more power/speed then a 4000. That is like saying my 13.5 will go just as fast as my 7.5
Casper is offline  
Old 03-05-2012, 11:56 AM
  #30555  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (86)
 
gawith0413's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 2,720
Trader Rating: 86 (100%+)
Default

Hey Casper or Ryan,
I was just wondering, what have you guys had to tweak on your setups when you use a lighter chassis example the TLR, Bump or BCE chassis'? (if you use one) I know this is a pretty general and open question depending on other factors. I was just wanting to hear your guys thoughts and experiences.
gawith0413 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.