Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 02-15-2012, 03:52 AM
  #29356  
dtr
Tech Master
 
dtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: budapest, hungary
Posts: 1,664
Default

Originally Posted by Suteki View Post
...
I dropped the car from about a foot and it bottomed out, not greatly but enough for me to think that coming off the jump from anything around 5ft is going to be a serious knock to the chasis. Is there usually something to be done about this? Stiffer springs, heavier shock oil?
You are right, the suspension needs heavier oil and/or smaller hole pistons from the piston pack (LOSB2909) to absorb the landings.
dtr is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 05:00 AM
  #29357  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 778
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dtr View Post
You are right, the suspension needs heavier oil and/or smaller hole pistons from the piston pack (LOSB2909) to absorb the landings.
I use lighter oil and a bigger piston myself, but my track is a smaller 10th scale track.
LosiMadMan is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 05:06 AM
  #29358  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
Suteki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Toowoomba AUS
Posts: 481
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Whats the relationship between spring, shock oil and shock bore size? If i increase oil weight it is obviously harder for the shock to compress, if i go a heavier oil, should i not go a heavier spring to ensure faster rebound?
Suteki is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 05:38 AM
  #29359  
Tech Regular
 
rcus3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: any*cal
Posts: 353
Default

Originally Posted by .AJ. View Post
can anyone help?
While back I needed the same info. 'Motor mount screws' search of this thread produces results - LOSA6262
rcus3r is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 05:38 AM
  #29360  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
FLHX1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Wyoming, MN
Posts: 1,712
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default VX4 Motor Exchange Program

I know there are several people here who are using the Copperhead, so I thought I would share this here:

In an attempt to be "Pro-Active" vs. being "Re-Active", Viper has setup an exchange program on the first run VX4 motors to insure that the best possible solution is available to the customer. Our goal is to ensure that all new VX4/VX4R production will meet the quality commitment and make sure that all customers will enjoy the product without worries.

It has been discovered that there is a problem with the attachment of the magnet to the rotor shaft, and the problem arose in the transition from R&D (motors built by the design engineers) to production (motors being built by production staff). It is a training issue where the magnet may be damaged during installation.

Extensive testing and R&D was done on the development of the VX4 motors and the Copperhead Speed Controls to ensure the utmost reliability and performance from the system. And though the problem with the magnet on the rotor lies in a very small number of units when compared to the number of units that are working just fine, Viper is going to institute an exchange program to insure that the end user ends up with what they deserve.

Steps have been taken to ensure there will not be any future problems with the use of a new fixture in the assembly process, and Viper is going to load and dyno every motor that comes off the line. The failure will come very early on if the magnet is damaged, and will show up in the first few moments once in use on the dyno.

If you have a VX4 or VX4R motor and believe you are having a problem with it, please begin the exchange process by:

1. Please visit Viper RMA system on the web site and fill up your detailed information and press enter.

Viper RMA Form

2. Contact Viper tech support at [email protected] with your RMA number and a copy of your original invoice (scanned image or detailed photo) for your Copperhead system.

3. You do not need to send back the motor. We will send you the replacement as soon as we verify your shipping address with original proof of purchase.

4. The Program will run until March 31st, 2012.

Every qualified case will receive a brand new VX4 or VX4R motor as quickly as possible. In the meantime, Viper will send you a ProGauge with free of charge as compensation of this matter.

Again, we sincerely apologize for this problem, and hope to get all customers back to the track with good products soon!

More information can be found on the Viper Facebook page here
FLHX1550 is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 05:43 AM
  #29361  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
FLHX1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Wyoming, MN
Posts: 1,712
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by .AJ. View Post
can anyone help?
If you are talking about the screws that hold the plate on the end of the motor, they are 3mm diam metric screws.
FLHX1550 is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 06:21 AM
  #29362  
Tech Master
iTrader: (39)
 
BDRMBULLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: toronto CANADA
Posts: 1,490
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JPG View Post
How tight is the blue collar supposed to be?
Well seeing as they dont make all that much money im guessing pretty tight!!
BDRMBULLY is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 09:16 AM
  #29363  
Tech Fanatic
 
.AJ.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Basingstoke UK
Posts: 756
Default

Originally Posted by rcus3r View Post
While back I needed the same info. 'Motor mount screws' search of this thread produces results - LOSA6262
Not them, the screws which go through the chassis to hold the motor mount
.AJ. is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 09:18 AM
  #29364  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
snwchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 1,675
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JPG View Post
How tight is the blue collar supposed to be?
I usually screw it on pretty tight to where the spring is compressed really good and then put some blue locktite on the threads/collar so it doesn't back off.
snwchris is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 09:37 AM
  #29365  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
ScottKelly911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,736
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JPG View Post
How tight is the blue collar supposed to be?
Lock it down all the way and use some locktite. Most use blue, but this particular part, I've heard a lot of people using Red locktite just to make sure it never comes loose. In a hobby where you're almost never supposed to use Red locktite, that tells you how important it is to go ahead and lock that thing down

BTW, just for fun, here's a pic of my newest body on my SCTE. It's the JConcepts Hi-Flow body painted by Jgo Paintz http://www.facebook.com/JGOPAINTS?ref=ts Photo by A Kercher Photography at the TLR Winter Series at OCRC last week

ScottKelly911 is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 09:47 AM
  #29366  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (33)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,383
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

nice
dgrobe2112 is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 10:16 AM
  #29367  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
chucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hell
Posts: 1,315
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

on the long ackerman arm..... does the spacer go in to the arm from the top or bottom before the screw ?? Thanks cant find it on the manual..
chucko is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 10:21 AM
  #29368  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
FLHX1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Wyoming, MN
Posts: 1,712
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by .AJ. View Post
Not them, the screws which go through the chassis to hold the motor mount
Pretty sure they are #8-32
FLHX1550 is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 11:03 AM
  #29369  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (128)
 
cavwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: IL
Posts: 2,668
Trader Rating: 128 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys what are you doing to to paint the rings? What paint etc? Some of your paint jobs with the painted rings look sick.
cavwrench is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 11:16 AM
  #29370  
Tech Fanatic
 
.AJ.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Basingstoke UK
Posts: 756
Default

Originally Posted by cavwrench View Post
Hey guys what are you doing to to paint the rings? What paint etc? Some of your paint jobs with the painted rings look sick.
do mean the beadlock rings?? the yellows are available as a optional part
.AJ. is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.