Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 02-02-2012, 04:18 PM
  #28666  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (15)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 566
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Gas Rat Racin View Post
I just bought 2 new 6600 nano techs. Does know if there is a "Break In Period" for these? If so what do I need to do?
How did you get them? Ive been waiting for over a month for them to come off backorder
Jethro32 is offline  
Old 02-02-2012, 04:18 PM
  #28667  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (79)
 
lowroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,126
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by omenwolf View Post
I have a set of rulux that i use for racing, I have about 20-30 packs through them and no cracks at all.

And what do mean silly beads, you have to look good going around the track too sometimes
Thanks, makes more sense. One person who never ran themsaying they're crap becuase he read about a couple people with issues should'nt sway me like it did. I know better. I still hate the trim rings :-D
lowroad is offline  
Old 02-02-2012, 04:21 PM
  #28668  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (79)
 
lowroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,126
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AgroAMG View Post
Enlighten me on this screw vs going with bare aluminum (how it is now). How can I do what you suggest? Any pics? Any part numbers, sizes, etc. ?
4-40 tap and drill from the hardware store. part numbers for screws on the first page.
lowroad is offline  
Old 02-02-2012, 04:21 PM
  #28669  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (37)
 
Gas Rat Racin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 647
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jethro32 View Post
How did you get them? Ive been waiting for over a month for them to come off backorder
I read it on here awhile back that they were in stock so I went to Hobby King and ordered them. It did take a long time to get them because I chose the cheapest shipping option. I guess I was just lucky.
Gas Rat Racin is offline  
Old 02-02-2012, 04:22 PM
  #28670  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (37)
 
Gas Rat Racin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 647
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

I also have a set of relux wheels with no issues
Gas Rat Racin is offline  
Old 02-02-2012, 04:25 PM
  #28671  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 778
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by NitroLuver View Post
Raced my car last night and I have two problems.

1 huge problem I've always had is the rear of my car just wants to slide.I try hitting a little brake before entering a high speed corner and it doesn't help and if I try to just roll through the corner my truck slides out. I lose so much time off the straight because of it.

2. For some reason last night my car just felt slow/ actually was physically slow I didn't have any acceleration and down the straight I didn't have any top speed...First time this have ever happened to me.

Current Setup:
Stock Everything ie. Chassis,shock towers,sway bars.
Shock Setup 35F Black Spring, 30 Rear Orange Spring
Shocks in middle of a-arm both front and rear
Front shock inner hole on tower rear shocks stood all the way up
unsure of ride height(forgot to check it)
camber whatever stock is
diffs 5F 3C 3R
tekin rx8/4600kv pro 4 geared 13/40
Jconcepts barcodes (orange)

Track is med/high bite indoor clay(WC/RC)
Problem 1 is your shock setup. Move the lower mount to the outer hole and the top to the middle. I tried the setup your running and it pushed like crazy and was loose feeling. I would also try a different tire like Aka city blocks or pro line Calibers. I run City Blocks as do most of the people at my track on very hard packed clay/river sand, and topsoil. I'm picking up a set of Calibers for when the track has been watered.

2. I noticed you didn't list lightened out drives. This IMO is the first upgrade to get. If your running stock one they are probably worn and that can severely cut your acceleration.
LosiMadMan is offline  
Old 02-02-2012, 04:54 PM
  #28672  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (8)
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,486
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AgroAMG View Post
Enlighten me on this screw vs going with bare aluminum (how it is now). How can I do what you suggest? Any pics? Any part numbers, sizes, etc. ?
Drilled and Countersunk. I prefer the Larger Button Screw Vs the Flat heat Screw.



Originally Posted by Gas Rat Racin View Post
I just bought 2 new 6600 nano techs. Does know if there is a "Break In Period" for these? If so what do I need to do?

Charge at 1C for the for 3-4 charges.
Integra is offline  
Old 02-02-2012, 05:01 PM
  #28673  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (46)
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Some where
Posts: 3,088
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by LosiMadMan View Post
Problem 1 is your shock setup. Move the lower mount to the outer hole and the top to the middle. I tried the setup your running and it pushed like crazy and was loose feeling. I would also try a different tire like Aka city blocks or pro line Calibers. I run City Blocks as do most of the people at my track on very hard packed clay/river sand, and topsoil. I'm picking up a set of Calibers for when the track has been watered.

2. I noticed you didn't list lightened out drives. This IMO is the first upgrade to get. If your running stock one they are probably worn and that can severely cut your acceleration.
I will try changing up the shocks, I do have the outdrives and they will be installed along with my other chassis and tuning kit when I get my scews. Calibers will not work at west coast( i run the tire that most run there). Either barcodes, suburbs, and some have tried re-bars
NitroLuver is offline  
Old 02-02-2012, 05:11 PM
  #28674  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (105)
 
thecman26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Central Kansas
Posts: 7,992
Trader Rating: 105 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by NitroLuver View Post
I will try changing up the shocks, I do have the outdrives and they will be installed along with my other chassis and tuning kit when I get my scews. Calibers will not work at west coast( i run the tire that most run there). Either barcodes, suburbs, and some have tried re-bars
Have you tried Beams? Those are a great tire!
thecman26 is offline  
Old 02-02-2012, 05:39 PM
  #28675  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 778
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AgroAMG View Post
Enlighten me on this screw vs going with bare aluminum (how it is now). How can I do what you suggest? Any pics? Any part numbers, sizes, etc. ?
You can see from his pictures the top of the screw takes minimal damage and when it's worn you just replace it. The Losi chassis has these holes drilled already you just have to buy the screws. IMO this is a major oversite by all the other chassis makers out there. This is my opinion only and one of the reasons I went with the Losi chassis.
LosiMadMan is offline  
Old 02-02-2012, 06:01 PM
  #28676  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (105)
 
thecman26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Central Kansas
Posts: 7,992
Trader Rating: 105 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by LosiMadMan View Post
You can see from his pictures the top of the screw takes minimal damage and when it's worn you just replace it. The Losi chassis has these holes drilled already you just have to buy the screws. IMO this is a major oversite by all the other chassis makers out there. This is my opinion only and one of the reasons I went with the Losi chassis.
+1, kinda like the Tekno chassis, the chassis shouldn't really be a "wear" item...
thecman26 is offline  
Old 02-02-2012, 06:15 PM
  #28677  
Tech Master
iTrader: (49)
 
HighLife420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,189
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Well, SCTE take #2 is in full effect. Just got back from the hobby store with brand spanking new RX8 and Pro4 4600kv.

Going to start off 14/40, maybe 10 or so boost...what you guys think? Track is BG clay, outdoor, 140x70 with a approx 125ft straight.
HighLife420 is offline  
Old 02-02-2012, 06:20 PM
  #28678  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (105)
 
thecman26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Central Kansas
Posts: 7,992
Trader Rating: 105 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by HighLife420 View Post
Well, SCTE take #2 is in full effect. Just got back from the hobby store with brand spanking new RX8 and Pro4 4600kv.

Going to start off 14/40, maybe 10 or so boost...what you guys think? Track is BG clay, outdoor, 140x70 with a approx 125ft straight.
Those things don't need any boost! They are rocket ships without boost and timing! I have heard that just make them run hotter, not any faster.
thecman26 is offline  
Old 02-02-2012, 06:25 PM
  #28679  
Tech Master
iTrader: (49)
 
HighLife420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,189
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by thecman26 View Post
Those things don't need any boost! They are rocket ships without boost and timing! I have heard that just make them run hotter, not any faster.
Really? I would think i would need boost to keep the pro4 up with the 550 can motors...

Good to know, ill try with nothing first and see. Maybe i should go up a tooth in pinon then?

Thanks for the info.
HighLife420 is offline  
Old 02-02-2012, 06:25 PM
  #28680  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (11)
 
big_alex39301's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Jackson, Ms.
Posts: 188
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default shock towers

Has anyone tried the STRC shock towers?
big_alex39301 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.