Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 01-30-2012, 05:23 PM
  #28486  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
larlev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Austin, Tx.
Posts: 1,534
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Tanman11 View Post
I got the 5150, yes for 2 SCTEs. one's mine, one's the GF. I figure better to have too much power, and dial down, than maybe not enough. Bigger is always better
Haha, get ready for some serious speed runs. You both will have a blast with that motor.

If you need any help let me know
larlev is offline  
Old 01-30-2012, 06:38 PM
  #28487  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (36)
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 850
Trader Rating: 36 (97%+)
Default im new

Im new at this...well competing wise...i run..a trinity monster 5.5 motor...momba max pro esc...savox 1258g servo and race reciever...i see that motor isnt listed...is this not a good set up...please leave info like i stated im new at this...and appreciate help..like is there ne thing else i can do to get the edge

Thanks jake
Jake444 is offline  
Old 01-30-2012, 07:08 PM
  #28488  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 778
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by namewasdallas View Post
So I posted up this morning about my battery tray on the truck cracking, Has anyone had this issue????

it was the front facing part of the battery tray went from one corner to the other.
Just buy another one they are only $10.99. I run a piece of 1/4 foam rubber under my battery to keep the battery nice and cushioned.
LosiMadMan is offline  
Old 01-30-2012, 07:40 PM
  #28489  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (41)
 
Wildrcracn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Madera Ca
Posts: 553
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default scte motor question

ok, Here I go, I have a rx8 and 4600 pro4 tekin set-up (love it).Got beat this weekend bye a done up truck (unknowen) but I found the motor was a 2700kv motor. The lowest pinion I had,was a 12 running at a temp of 138 (not bad). The question I have guys, I want more bottem end, I was thinking about going to a pro4 4000kv and play with my gearing more or even the 3300kv pro4
I have pinions from 12 to 17 want to use them. So which motor is better, 3300kv or 4000kv pro4
thanks alot guys
Wildrcracn is offline  
Old 01-30-2012, 07:59 PM
  #28490  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (9)
 
scracer68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 401
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Wildrcracn View Post
ok, Here I go, I have a rx8 and 4600 pro4 tekin set-up (love it).Got beat this weekend bye a done up truck (unknowen) but I found the motor was a 2700kv motor. The lowest pinion I had,was a 12 running at a temp of 138 (not bad). The question I have guys, I want more bottem end, I was thinking about going to a pro4 4000kv and play with my gearing more or even the 3300kv pro4
I have pinions from 12 to 17 want to use them. So which motor is better, 3300kv or 4000kv pro4
thanks alot guys
Unless he was running 3s you just got out drove bro.
scracer68 is offline  
Old 01-30-2012, 08:01 PM
  #28491  
Tech Master
iTrader: (24)
 
Feint Motion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: So Cal IE
Posts: 1,346
Trader Rating: 24 (96%+)
Default

Originally Posted by namewasdallas View Post
So I posted up this morning about my battery tray on the truck cracking, Has anyone had this issue????

it was the front facing part of the battery tray went from one corner to the other.
mine crack'd and i just bought a new one. No big deal.
Feint Motion is offline  
Old 01-30-2012, 08:15 PM
  #28492  
Tech Master
iTrader: (90)
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Houston TX (formally Sou CA)
Posts: 1,220
Trader Rating: 90 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Wildrcracn View Post
ok, Here I go, I have a rx8 and 4600 pro4 tekin set-up (love it).Got beat this weekend bye a done up truck (unknowen) but I found the motor was a 2700kv motor. The lowest pinion I had,was a 12 running at a temp of 138 (not bad). The question I have guys, I want more bottem end, I was thinking about going to a pro4 4000kv and play with my gearing more or even the 3300kv pro4
I have pinions from 12 to 17 want to use them. So which motor is better, 3300kv or 4000kv pro4
thanks alot guys
Don't confuse gearing down your pinion for more bottom end... I bet he was on his wheels longer than you.

When your pinion gets that low, 10-11 will be worst than the 12. The bottom end you want isn't the first 10% of the throttle. It's been discussed here multiple times on this thread too.
Kuya_Kimo is offline  
Old 01-30-2012, 08:25 PM
  #28493  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (41)
 
Wildrcracn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Madera Ca
Posts: 553
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Kuya_Kimo View Post
Don't confuse gearing down your pinion for more bottom end... I bet he was on his wheels longer than you.

When your pinion gets that low, 10-11 will be worst than the 12. The bottom end you want isn't the first 10% of the throttle. It's been discussed here multiple times on this thread too.
lol the guy can drive, we go back and forth hes had his scte for awhile
why is his 2700kv motor right with my 4600kv his gear is a 16 mine is a 12
Which motor would you get 3300 or 4000 I want my pinion up
ps we rolled over about the same, the track is a small track and racing another small track this weekend
Wildrcracn is offline  
Old 01-30-2012, 08:32 PM
  #28494  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
Ridley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,460
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Wildrcracn View Post
ok, Here I go, I have a rx8 and 4600 pro4 tekin set-up (love it).Got beat this weekend bye a done up truck (unknowen) but I found the motor was a 2700kv motor. The lowest pinion I had,was a 12 running at a temp of 138 (not bad). The question I have guys, I want more bottem end, I was thinking about going to a pro4 4000kv and play with my gearing more or even the 3300kv pro4
I have pinions from 12 to 17 want to use them. So which motor is better, 3300kv or 4000kv pro4
thanks alot guys
The 4600 is the best of the 3. Put a 14t or 15t on there if you want more snort, a 12t will make it feel gutless. Brushless motors are a little different gearing wise. You will have a torquier feel with a larger pinion, even though conventional thought would say otherwise. Gear to the temperature of the motor for best performance
Ridley is offline  
Old 01-30-2012, 08:37 PM
  #28495  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (41)
 
Wildrcracn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Madera Ca
Posts: 553
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Ridley View Post
The 4600 is the best of the 3. Put a 14t or 15t on there if you want more snort, a 12t will make it feel gutless. Brushless motors are a little different gearing wise. You will have a torquier feel with a larger pinion, even though conventional thought would say otherwise. Gear to the temperature of the motor for best performance
thanks for all the info guys, I'm getting it
last question ,what is a great temp range to be at and what % do I want to run the motor with tekin hotwire? Also if the motor temp is over , that means I have to go down on the pinion (right)?
O yeah I running 2s only 5000 40c ( new packs )
Wildrcracn is offline  
Old 01-30-2012, 08:41 PM
  #28496  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (105)
 
thecman26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Central Kansas
Posts: 7,993
Trader Rating: 105 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Wildrcracn View Post
O yeah I running 2s only 5000 40c ( new packs )
Just keep it below 200* and your good to go! I usually run mine between 15-* and 160*. The battery might be holding you back a bit though... Maybe... I run 65C packs in mine as these systems are power hungry!
thecman26 is offline  
Old 01-30-2012, 08:48 PM
  #28497  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
Ridley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,460
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Wildrcracn View Post
thanks for all the info guys, I'm getting it
last question ,what is a great temp range to be at and what % do I want to run the motor with tekin hotwire? Also if the motor temp is over , that means I have to go down on the pinion (right)?
O yeah I running 2s only 5000 40c ( new packs )
Yes, down on pinion to reduce temps. I like to stay below 180 or so, but up to 200 is fine. Temps vary greatly depending on how heavy your trigger finger is, so one persons gearing might not work quite as well for another. I run a 15/40 with that motor, and 90 on the current limiter on the Rx8. Enjoy
Ridley is offline  
Old 01-30-2012, 08:55 PM
  #28498  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (36)
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 850
Trader Rating: 36 (97%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Wildrcracn View Post
ok, Here I go, I have a rx8 and 4600 pro4 tekin set-up (love it).Got beat this weekend bye a done up truck (unknowen) but I found the motor was a 2700kv motor. The lowest pinion I had,was a 12 running at a temp of 138 (not bad). The question I have guys, I want more bottem end, I was thinking about going to a pro4 4000kv and play with my gearing more or even the 3300kv pro4
I have pinions from 12 to 17 want to use them. So which motor is better, 3300kv or 4000kv pro4
thanks alot guys
i dont know if i could be some help cause im new but i do know where i run almost every 4x4 there runs the 3300kv..i do know one guy told me he liked it for going into turns he didnt have let off the throttle to much as where someone with a big kv might have back off the turns...idk if thats any help
Jake444 is offline  
Old 01-30-2012, 09:02 PM
  #28499  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (41)
 
Wildrcracn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Madera Ca
Posts: 553
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jake444 View Post
i dont know if i could be some help cause im new but i do know where i run almost every 4x4 there runs the 3300kv..i do know one guy told me he liked it for going into turns he didnt have let off the throttle to much as where someone with a big kv might have back off the turns...idk if thats any help
Thanks To all I am new too, I just still dont know how a 2700 keeps up with a 4600, I want my truck too run gd even if I have to buy the 3300 motor
I going to listen to others and play with going up on the pinion, I am looking for more bottom end, I think on the tight track hes keeping up because of the lower kv which I read has more torque than a higher kv motor.
Me and the guy im racing are equall drivers
Wildrcracn is offline  
Old 01-30-2012, 09:14 PM
  #28500  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (32)
 
POWESKULL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 178
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Wildrcracn View Post
Thanks To all I am new too, I just still dont know how a 2700 keeps up with a 4600, I want my truck too run gd even if I have to buy the 3300 motor
I going to listen to others and play with going up on the pinion, I am looking for more bottom end, I think on the tight track hes keeping up because of the lower kv which I read has more torque than a higher kv motor.
Me and the guy im racing are equall drivers
An electric motor has its full torque at 0 Rpm and goes down from there. I think of an electric motor like a diesel. lower rpm for torque vs a gas motor which you have to rev. more pinion the lower the rpm for the same speed or torque. gear up till temps are comfortable.
POWESKULL is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.