Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 01-23-2012, 06:42 AM
  #28126  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (33)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,383
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

another weekend of racing.. and another couple of front coupler pins break.. the new ones with the set screw.. same thing..

setscrew, and part of the pin are left in the coupler.. this time.. i just put a kyosho wheel hex pin in there.. and dremeled a flat spot for the set screw.. see if this works..

thats 4 losi coupler pins broke.. in the front only..

Other than that.. truck is dialed..
dgrobe2112 is offline  
Old 01-23-2012, 06:50 AM
  #28127  
Tech Master
iTrader: (30)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,506
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Factory Seal View Post
Man that is alot of wheelin....how does it look where the droop screws meet the chassis?.......that should be the only wear spot.......If you are worried about the bottom you should see my nitro onroad chassis after 1 run...LOL!!
What rear chassis brace is that i just bought one of these things has tlr light chassis tlr tu.i.g kit some rear brace witj rod ends on it one is broke that brace u have looks like my ae alum. Rc8 rear brace
jewn_beef is offline  
Old 01-23-2012, 07:09 AM
  #28128  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (105)
 
thecman26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Central Kansas
Posts: 7,992
Trader Rating: 105 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jethro32 View Post
Where exactly did you put the bearing? Do you have any pictures?
Thanks
Kinda like the elite rc motor block has a bearing supporting the motor shaft...
The part that the motor bolts to has an opening that looks like it was meant to have a bearing in it but they didn't come with one.

+1 where did you get the bearing, avid doesn't list one that size.
thecman26 is offline  
Old 01-23-2012, 08:04 AM
  #28129  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
chucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hell
Posts: 1,315
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I am in a dream state of mind.... I can't believe,.. I won my first race and it only took two months and BCE chassis helping. after testing different shock oils chassis braces, motors and speed controls, I finally got it dialed. its fun to race with the big boys and come in first. Thanks Losi, Tekin, Pro match batteries,the wife for allowing me to spend my savings. Have a good Year you all...
chucko is offline  
Old 01-23-2012, 08:07 AM
  #28130  
Tech Master
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,307
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dgrobe2112 View Post
another weekend of racing.. and another couple of front coupler pins break.. the new ones with the set screw.. same thing..

setscrew, and part of the pin are left in the coupler.. this time.. i just put a kyosho wheel hex pin in there.. and dremeled a flat spot for the set screw.. see if this works..

thats 4 losi coupler pins broke.. in the front only..

Other than that.. truck is dialed..
Are u greasing that joint well? I installed the KH retainers w/ the boots just so i could pack it well w/ grease to allow least amount of wear there
nitro0619 is offline  
Old 01-23-2012, 08:11 AM
  #28131  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (11)
 
Numburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Byram, MS
Posts: 734
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Numburn View Post
I have the TLR torque brace on the rear of my truck and broke one of the rod ends. Does anyone know a replacement part for that end?
I'm referring to this.

Numburn is offline  
Old 01-23-2012, 08:41 AM
  #28132  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (121)
 
ChrisAttebery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gilroy, CA
Posts: 2,258
Trader Rating: 121 (100%+)
Default

I just took the motor off the mount and pressed the bearing by hand into the back of the mount. The bearing fits perfectly between the pinion gear and the motor.

I got the bearing at my LHS. The had them in bulk for $2 each. No idea what it would have been used for.

My only worry is that the holes in the motor mount aren't perfectly aligned to the motor. It all slipped together easily though, so I think that I'm just being paranoid.
ChrisAttebery is offline  
Old 01-23-2012, 09:00 AM
  #28133  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (36)
 
sb7979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 382
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Numburn View Post
I'm referring to this.

These are the same rod ends.

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ering-Link-Set
sb7979 is offline  
Old 01-23-2012, 09:08 AM
  #28134  
SEF
Tech Elite
iTrader: (39)
 
SEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: LA
Posts: 2,151
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default 3s lipos

For you guys that run your SCTE on 3s (11.1 V), I am selling all my 3s batteries. No one really runs 3s around here, and it seems like the rules aren't changing any time soon.

So if you want some cheap 3s batteries check here

http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-item...l#post10214016
SEF is offline  
Old 01-23-2012, 11:39 AM
  #28135  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (33)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,383
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

yes.. i pack it with black grease i have from my 1/10 scale stuff..
dgrobe2112 is offline  
Old 01-23-2012, 12:27 PM
  #28136  
Tech Master
iTrader: (39)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: El Pueblo de Nuestra Señora La Reina de Los Ángeles del Río de Porciúncula, California, Unites States of America
Posts: 1,157
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

I just bought a SCTE to keep my 8ight company.

My 8ight is running a Mamba Monster with 2200kv motor and is waay too much for the indoor clay track at OCRC.

I was thinking of buying a Tekin RX8 with 1900kv motor for the 8ight and move the Mamba Monster with 2200kv over to the SCTE to run on 2S.

Will this combo work out OK for this indoor clay track?
lagcisco is offline  
Old 01-23-2012, 12:49 PM
  #28137  
Tech Master
iTrader: (47)
 
Littlejohn Dsgn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,332
Trader Rating: 47 (98%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lagcisco View Post
I just bought a SCTE to keep my 8ight company.

My 8ight is running a Mamba Monster with 2200kv motor and is waay too much for the indoor clay track at OCRC.

I was thinking of buying a Tekin RX8 with 1900kv motor for the 8ight and move the Mamba Monster with 2200kv over to the SCTE to run on 2S.

Will this combo work out OK for this indoor clay track?
Someone will correct me if I am wrong but I do not believe the 2200 will fit without major modifications.
Littlejohn Dsgn is offline  
Old 01-23-2012, 12:52 PM
  #28138  
SEF
Tech Elite
iTrader: (39)
 
SEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: LA
Posts: 2,151
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lagcisco View Post
I just bought a SCTE to keep my 8ight company.

My 8ight is running a Mamba Monster with 2200kv motor and is waay too much for the indoor clay track at OCRC.

I was thinking of buying a Tekin RX8 with 1900kv motor for the 8ight and move the Mamba Monster with 2200kv over to the SCTE to run on 2S.

Will this combo work out OK for this indoor clay track?
You will love the Tekin with the 1900 in your 8ight. I just converted my 8ight to electric and run the same setup.

The 2200 on the other hand on 2s is a little slow on top end since you can't fit a pinion big enough. Tons of torque which is nice. Will also be a beast on 3s. The downfall with the 2200 is it is much bigger and heavier than say the 2650 or any other 540 can 4 pole motor which is really popular to run. It takes away from the balance of the car. I know a lot of people that have tried several 1/8 scale motors with great success (including myself), but ultimately if you want a lighter car running on 2s, the smaller higher kV 4 pole motors are the way to go (ie Tekin Pro4 4600 or Castle 3800 plus others).
SEF is offline  
Old 01-23-2012, 01:28 PM
  #28139  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (86)
 
gawith0413's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 2,681
Trader Rating: 86 (100%+)
Default

How do I remove the front pinion gear from the gearbox?
gawith0413 is offline  
Old 01-23-2012, 01:30 PM
  #28140  
Tech Regular
 
vasidudu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 316
Default

Originally Posted by SEF View Post
You will love the Tekin with the 1900 in your 8ight. I just converted my 8ight to electric and run the same setup.

The 2200 on the other hand on 2s is a little slow on top end since you can't fit a pinion big enough. Tons of torque which is nice. Will also be a beast on 3s. The downfall with the 2200 is it is much bigger and heavier than say the 2650 or any other 540 can 4 pole motor which is really popular to run. It takes away from the balance of the car. I know a lot of people that have tried several 1/8 scale motors with great success (including myself), but ultimately if you want a lighter car running on 2s, the smaller higher kV 4 pole motors are the way to go (ie Tekin Pro4 4600 or Castle 3800 plus others).
Hey there,
I started with a 1415 2400Kv on 2s.
Was coming from nitro (8IGHT 2.0) and did not know much about the whole brushless thing. I just happened to have a really good deal on this motor + MMP SCT Pro.
I just bought a 1410 3800Kv to make myself an idea running this combo in 2s. I suppose this is going to be a major difference.
Will come back with more feedback.
V
vasidudu is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.