Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 01-13-2012, 05:41 PM
  #27556  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: MI
Posts: 645
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sb7979 View Post
Did you have the "hex" inserts snapped in all the way?
Not sure on what hex your talking about. I did about 6 times take it back apart to make sure the diff pins were seated properly and every time they were.

It all spins freely until I tighten it down I can see the "lower" spider gear (I think it's called) and all 4 spider gears on the pins all spin nicely, but once I tighten down the screws it gets very clicky and hard to to turn.

Pretty sure I'm doing everything right as the front and rear are extremely smooth and I only had to put those together once to get them that way.

Update: I took it apart 2 more times and cleaned and reassembled and still getting the same results...guess I'll go get another gasket tomorrow and try it with 2 gaskets...

Last edited by teknic; 01-13-2012 at 06:51 PM.
teknic is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 05:49 PM
  #27557  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (121)
 
ChrisAttebery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gilroy, CA
Posts: 2,258
Trader Rating: 121 (100%+)
Default

+1

Originally Posted by RC*PHREAK View Post
i've also had zero issues in my SCTE with that servo and an RX8.
ChrisAttebery is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 06:15 PM
  #27558  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
BmainStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: pullin in,ca.
Posts: 1,985
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 65BAJA View Post
I was making a list of spares I would like to have for the SCTE to throw in the tool box and the $ amount crept up pretty fast. This raised a question. How many of you guys who race on a regular basis just buy a whole nother kit as "spare parts"?
That was kinda the deal when parts were not available before.If your local track carries parts don't stock anything! I am serious! This is the most Stout R/C race vehicle I have ever driven or owned!!!End of Feb I will have been racing this truck for one year I have only broken a few rear bumpers and the front bumper mount! No arms,hubs,spindles ETC....Get the Losi carbon towers and go race!!!!!!If I had to carry something I would at least grab the front and rear drive line shafts that go to the center diff!Cheers!!
BmainStar is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 06:48 PM
  #27559  
Tech Rookie
 
viciousone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
Default Balancing tires

Just wanted to check to see how many of you are balancing your tires and which balancer you have been using...
viciousone is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 06:52 PM
  #27560  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (28)
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 263
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

So I just got my scte and was putting it together tonight and got to the servo. The stock servo horn is way to big for my servo (hpi sf 32tt). Are there other servo horns that come in the kit that im not seeing?
TDI793 is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 06:57 PM
  #27561  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: MI
Posts: 645
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TDI793 View Post
So I just got my scte and was putting it together tonight and got to the servo. The stock servo horn is way to big for my servo (hpi sf 32tt). Are there other servo horns that come in the kit that im not seeing?
You have to use the little inserts. They're on a "tree" and are yellow/white in color.

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...kage-Set-Ten-T

If you look at the picture in this link they are in the upper right.
teknic is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 07:02 PM
  #27562  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (28)
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 263
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by teknic View Post
You have to use the little inserts. They're on a "tree" and are yellow/white in color.

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...kage-Set-Ten-T

If you look at the picture in this link they are in the upper right.
Thank you!
TDI793 is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 07:28 PM
  #27563  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
10sctrel0v3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Titusville, Fl.
Posts: 388
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

so i was just about to grab a set of the updated center drive line shafts with the set screw in it and i started looking at the rebuild kits and found out that you can just buy the updated rebuild kits and put the new updated guts inside your old shafts. i paid no more then $6 for the rebuild and now i dont have to worry about that pin flying out.
10sctrel0v3r is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 07:31 PM
  #27564  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (29)
 
Factory Seal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Memphis,TN.
Posts: 3,977
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

O.k. fellas im confused.....im building the back end of the truck and looking at my inserts...i have #0,1,5...so how do i get to 3 degrees of antisquat?...
Thanks,Donnie.
Factory Seal is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 07:32 PM
  #27565  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Berlin, Wi
Posts: 80
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TDI793 View Post
Thank you!
You might want to look into an aluminum arm for that servo. I had my plastic multi servo arm on and the first day it skipped multiple times so i had to re center it. Once i put an aluminum arm on the servo I havnt had one problem.
naterpatater77 is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 07:37 PM
  #27566  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (13)
 
Pvd brett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 275
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by viciousone View Post
Just wanted to check to see how many of you are balancing your tires and which balancer you have been using...
im not balancing, ive run some pretty unbalanced tires before with no probs. ive run them back to back unbalanced and then balanced with no differences. It not like a truggy where balancing is neccessary
Pvd brett is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 07:46 PM
  #27567  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (42)
 
BashemSmashem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,647
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Factory Seal View Post
O.k. fellas im confused.....im building the back end of the truck and looking at my inserts...i have #0,1,5...so how do i get to 3 degrees of antisquat?...
Thanks,Donnie.
I am pretty sure if you use number 0 inserts at all corners it will give you 3 degree toe and 3 degree anti squat .
BashemSmashem is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 07:50 PM
  #27568  
Tech Regular
 
namewasdallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 299
Default

Originally Posted by Factory Seal View Post
O.k. fellas im confused.....im building the back end of the truck and looking at my inserts...i have #0,1,5...so how do i get to 3 degrees of antisquat?...
Thanks,Donnie.
I never understood this part either or what exactly they did, I just put in the 0's all the way around.
namewasdallas is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 07:58 PM
  #27569  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 39
Default

hello,
was just wondering if the team epic monster horsepower 3.5t with rx8
would be to much or would have heat issues?

thanx in advance
cuppcake80 is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 08:12 PM
  #27570  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (42)
 
BashemSmashem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,647
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cuppcake80 View Post
hello,
was just wondering if the team epic monster horsepower 3.5t with rx8
would be to much or would have heat issues?

thanx in advance

Not gonna work and will cook itself quickly .
BashemSmashem is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.