Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 01-04-2012, 02:37 PM
  #26986  
Tech Master
iTrader: (47)
 
Littlejohn Dsgn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,332
Trader Rating: 47 (98%+)
Default

One other thing I lost a pin that goes behind the wheel hex on Amain it looks like to get the pins you also get the wheel hex ... is there another brand that works thats just the pins?

Also the pins that are in the diff that the gears are on those only come with the gear set too correct?
Littlejohn Dsgn is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 02:37 PM
  #26987  
Tech Regular
 
namewasdallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 299
Default

Originally Posted by Littlejohn Dsgn View Post
Ok guys question about motors, getting ready to spend tax return money I am currently running a Novak 4.5 550. I run mainly on very large outdoor 1/8th tracks. I have not done much to lighten the truck (outdirves, shock tower thats about it). I like the speed of the 4.5 but want a backup or use this as a backup.

Guess my question is would I be better off sticking with a 550 for this huge tracks, or dropping down to a 540 4 pole (thinking I need a 4600kv). I do ALOT of WOT for extended sections of the tracks will the 540s take that?
I would say the Tekin pro4 4600kv or the New RevTech sc4x12 4800kv. I personally would only run a 4 pole motor in this truck as its a beast and the extra torque is nice.
namewasdallas is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 02:38 PM
  #26988  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 190
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sbales View Post
Happy New Year! My tale of two chassis's, I built 2 trucks complete with all the hop-ups, On my son's I used the BCE and on mine I used the TRL, both
turned out very nice ($$$), One night at the track we swapped and I came away feeling his truck had a little lively-funner feel, so I made a couple of small setup changes to mine but also came back liking his better, I got the BCE of mine and for me it just feels better.
What rear chassis brace you got there?
AgroAMG is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 02:40 PM
  #26989  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 29
Default Losi Ten Scte

Originally Posted by Casper View Post
The tekin ESC has a better BEC then the MMP.

The Savox servo's do draw a LOT of amps which is hard on ESC's BEC's. It kind of depends on the MMP you get. Some have better BEC's in them then others. The "glitch buster" is just a cap that goes into the reciever. They are pretty cheap and can be squeezed into the reciever box so no big deal if you go that route.
Is the Spektrum 6040 a pretty decent servo or is a Savox servo a better option? Or is there a better option for a servo all together?
dmwilson09 is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 02:44 PM
  #26990  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 61
Default

I personally prefer the 4000kv tekin 4-pole with the rx8. it runs cool, and it produces tons of power. You would need a very large track to fully utilize the 4600kv.
nercracer is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 02:48 PM
  #26991  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: MI
Posts: 645
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

My new motor came in today so I got to try out my new electronics setup.

Tekin RX8, Tenshock SC411 4600kv and Nano-Tech.

Don't really know what to say other than wow...this setup blows my Novak Havoc Pro / 4.5 setup out of the water! With my old setup there would be certain parts of the track I would have to take the perfect line on if I wanted to land on the downside of one of the jumps and now I'm having to let off the throttle so I don't clear the entire landing.
teknic is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 02:48 PM
  #26992  
Tech Master
iTrader: (47)
 
Littlejohn Dsgn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,332
Trader Rating: 47 (98%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nercracer View Post
I personally prefer the 4000kv tekin 4-pole with the rx8. it runs cool, and it produces tons of power. You would need a very large track to fully utilize the 4600kv.
O some of the tracks I run on are huge ... with the 4.5 there was only 2 sections you pulled off the trigger Way more WOT then anything else. And when the straight away is 150-200ft you need every bit of speed.
Littlejohn Dsgn is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 02:50 PM
  #26993  
Tech Master
iTrader: (47)
 
Littlejohn Dsgn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,332
Trader Rating: 47 (98%+)
Default

Originally Posted by teknic View Post
My new motor came in today so I got to try out my new electronics setup.

Tekin RX8, Tenshock SC411 4600kv and Nano-Tech.

Don't really know what to say other than wow...this setup blows my Novak Havoc Pro / 4.5 setup out of the water! With my old setup there would be certain parts of the track I would have to take the perfect line on if I wanted to land on the downside of one of the jumps and now I'm having to let off the throttle so I don't clear the entire landing.
I was looking inot the Tenshock 4600 you would not happen to know if its ROAR approved would you.
Littlejohn Dsgn is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 02:52 PM
  #26994  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: MI
Posts: 645
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Littlejohn Dsgn View Post
I was looking inot the Tenshock 4600 you would not happen to know if its ROAR approved would you.
Not sure, I only club race so I didn't really pay attention.
teknic is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 02:54 PM
  #26995  
Tech Master
iTrader: (47)
 
Littlejohn Dsgn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,332
Trader Rating: 47 (98%+)
Default

Originally Posted by teknic View Post
Not sure, I only club race so I didn't really pay attention.
Yea I want to attend Region 11 regionals so I need to make sure its ROAR approved not sure why in a open type class it matteres. I can see on lipos it might be a saftey thing but motors come on.
Littlejohn Dsgn is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 03:00 PM
  #26996  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: MI
Posts: 645
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Littlejohn Dsgn View Post
Yea I want to attend Region 11 regionals so I need to make sure its ROAR approved not sure why in a open type class it matteres. I can see on lipos it might be a saftey thing but motors come on.
Yeah, I agree it seems like dirty politics to me . If you don't line our pockets we won't vote for your bill! lol

I'm very happy with the motor for the price so far. Like all the "china" stuff I buy though there's always that worry about how long it will last, but time will tell.

As it stands I got my RX8 (used) and Tenshock motor for $200 so I'm happy about it
teknic is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 03:07 PM
  #26997  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 778
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
I'm running on a track with similar lap times also. We're missing something if your Pro 4 is that hot. C1 is a custom profile so where is the Timing advance set?
So this may be the problem. The timing screen does not load in The Vegas software. When I click on it it is blank. I have to work tonight but I will try again in the morning. I have the latest software and updates applied to the speed control.
LosiMadMan is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 03:13 PM
  #26998  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
myl3s91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 238
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Today i rebuilt my center and rear diff, I sealed them with rtv sealant and let it dry over night. After assembling everything today they are so smooth! Success finally! Lol. Waiting for the sealant to cure on the front diff, then ill put it back together and my truck will be ready to go!! For everyone debating on doing this, use RTV sealant. Now i CANT WAIT for my bce chassis!!!!!!!!!!!
myl3s91 is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 03:17 PM
  #26999  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (31)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 820
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dmwilson09 View Post
Howdy,

I just purchased a Losi SCTE 4x4 and I have spent many hours on this forum reading and learning every thing I can in order to have a nice performing truck. I will be running the MMP and the Pro 4600. My only question is what servo should I use. I have read somewhere that a few people have a glitching problem when running a certain servo with the MMP. They purchased a glitch buster and the problem was solved. I would like to get a servo that will not do this and I think its the Spektrum 6040. Can anyone lead me in the right direction. Thanks!
Honestly a glitch buster may or may not work I love the MMP with my 4600 but I will never run a 4wd vehicle with a MMP without a Castle 10 amp BEC ever again. The Bec fixes all issues you will have ever encountered with the MMP and if there was room inside the case Castle would include it but there is not so it is sold seperate.
I dont think there is a better ESC to run on a loose track than the MMP it can be set up to be nice and soft on the bottom and ultra smooth as the power comes in you will love it.
adubaz7 is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 03:25 PM
  #27000  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 190
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by myl3s91 View Post
Today i rebuilt my center and rear diff, I sealed them with rtv sealant and let it dry over night. After assembling everything today they are so smooth! Success finally! Lol. Waiting for the sealant to cure on the front diff, then ill put it back together and my truck will be ready to go!! For everyone debating on doing this, use RTV sealant. Now i CANT WAIT for my bce chassis!!!!!!!!!!!
I know as soon as I disassemble my differentials I'll have tons more knowledge. I think the exploded view will help with that. However, I havent done it YET but plan on it. When you are re-assembling do you put a little bit of RTV on the blue gasket as pictured in this image? Just a thin later applied around, then the diff cases tightened up? I wonder if that makes the gasket usable in the future the next time you take apart the diff?

Even having to use rtv sealant seems wrong. the purpose of the gasket is to seal it. i wonder if this is a common problem if Horizon is looking at this and possibly some changes. I also saw double gaskets, seems the wrong long term fix too.

Last edited by AgroAMG; 01-04-2012 at 03:36 PM.
AgroAMG is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.