Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 01-04-2012, 10:12 AM
  #26971  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (45)
 
goehm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 2,756
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cwilkinson View Post
Yeah it got pretty hairy using CA on the diffs for me left some of my finger tip in the diff
How'd it run? What was the weight of the tip? Can you post your setup sheet please?

I run mine filled with 8 part fluid, 1 part Yellow Lab dander and 1 part track dust .. and every once in a while 1-20 part Yuengling. Just depends on how late into the night it is when I start work on the diffs.

Thanks!
goehm is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 10:16 AM
  #26972  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (45)
 
goehm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 2,756
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by LosiMadMan View Post
My trucks solder points are clean as a whistle. I will have to re-solder the motor when the heatsink with te fan comes, but they are good.
Do you have binding anywhere? And good bearings all around? Sounds like there is excessive stress coming from somewhere if you're running hotter than everyone else.
goehm is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 10:18 AM
  #26973  
Team Tekin
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,912
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by LosiMadMan View Post
No drag brake, 75% current limit, C1 on the timing because that's the lowest setting, pretty sure the rest is default. I already bought the 11t pinion, I hope I didn't waste my money. The track I run on is very small 16 to 17sec laps.
I'm running on a track with similar lap times also. We're missing something if your Pro 4 is that hot. C1 is a custom profile so where is the Timing advance set?
Randy_Pike is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 10:20 AM
  #26974  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (79)
 
lowroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,126
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by goehm View Post
Do you have binding anywhere? And good bearings all around? Sounds like there is excessive stress coming from somewhere if you're running hotter than everyone else.
check that rear diff bearing in the front. Seen a couple go so south, and excessive heat beforehand.
lowroad is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 10:41 AM
  #26975  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (79)
 
lowroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,126
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ChrisAttebery View Post
3.5mm
A #28 drill bit is .003" oversize. Perfect for clearancing the arms.
thanks for posting this, Chris. I am having some binding in the rear end (ouch) and this is definitely the issue. I took my shocks off and the arms will stay whereever I put them in mid air. no bueno. Off to ace for a #28 bit.
lowroad is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 10:53 AM
  #26976  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (121)
 
ChrisAttebery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gilroy, CA
Posts: 2,258
Trader Rating: 121 (100%+)
Default

No problem. Glad to help.

Originally Posted by lowroad View Post
thanks for posting this, Chris. I am having some binding in the rear end (ouch) and this is definitely the issue. I took my shocks off and the arms will stay whereever I put them in mid air. no bueno. Off to ace for a #28 bit.
ChrisAttebery is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 10:56 AM
  #26977  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (121)
 
ChrisAttebery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gilroy, CA
Posts: 2,258
Trader Rating: 121 (100%+)
Default

What shock o-rings are you guys using? I thought I had read in here somewhere about using x-rings. Mine are getting old and I'm finding debris in the fluid when I change it.
ChrisAttebery is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 11:09 AM
  #26978  
Tech Master
iTrader: (48)
 
Bondonutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: St. Pete FL.
Posts: 1,326
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

I'm hooking up a sensored motor to a MMP, my speedo is kinda old and the wires and case are not clearly marked A,B,C.

Can someone please calrify with certainty which are which please ?

THX
Bondonutz is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 11:26 AM
  #26979  
Tech Master
iTrader: (48)
 
Bondonutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: St. Pete FL.
Posts: 1,326
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bondonutz View Post
I'm hooking up a sensored motor to a MMP, my speedo is kinda old and the wires and case are not clearly marked A,B,C.

Can someone please calrify with certainty which are which please ?

THX
Never mind, Called Castle and they picked up right away.Amazing ?

Red White Black
A B C
Bondonutz is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 01:29 PM
  #26980  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 29
Default New Losi SCTE

Howdy,

I just purchased a Losi SCTE 4x4 and I have spent many hours on this forum reading and learning every thing I can in order to have a nice performing truck. I will be running the MMP and the Pro 4600. My only question is what servo should I use. I have read somewhere that a few people have a glitching problem when running a certain servo with the MMP. They purchased a glitch buster and the problem was solved. I would like to get a servo that will not do this and I think its the Spektrum 6040. Can anyone lead me in the right direction. Thanks!
dmwilson09 is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 01:32 PM
  #26981  
mkl
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 953
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I use a 6040 servo with Spektrum Tx and Rx and have no issues with glitching. I use tekin ESC and motor as well.
mkl is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 02:01 PM
  #26982  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,869
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dmwilson09 View Post
Howdy,

I just purchased a Losi SCTE 4x4 and I have spent many hours on this forum reading and learning every thing I can in order to have a nice performing truck. I will be running the MMP and the Pro 4600. My only question is what servo should I use. I have read somewhere that a few people have a glitching problem when running a certain servo with the MMP. They purchased a glitch buster and the problem was solved. I would like to get a servo that will not do this and I think its the Spektrum 6040. Can anyone lead me in the right direction. Thanks!
Originally Posted by mkl View Post
I use a 6040 servo with Spektrum Tx and Rx and have no issues with glitching. I use tekin ESC and motor as well.
The tekin ESC has a better BEC then the MMP.

The Savox servo's do draw a LOT of amps which is hard on ESC's BEC's. It kind of depends on the MMP you get. Some have better BEC's in them then others. The "glitch buster" is just a cap that goes into the reciever. They are pretty cheap and can be squeezed into the reciever box so no big deal if you go that route.
Casper is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 02:20 PM
  #26983  
Tech Master
iTrader: (47)
 
Littlejohn Dsgn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,332
Trader Rating: 47 (98%+)
Default

Ok guys question about motors, getting ready to spend tax return money I am currently running a Novak 4.5 550. I run mainly on very large outdoor 1/8th tracks. I have not done much to lighten the truck (outdirves, shock tower thats about it). I like the speed of the 4.5 but want a backup or use this as a backup.

Guess my question is would I be better off sticking with a 550 for this huge tracks, or dropping down to a 540 4 pole (thinking I need a 4600kv). I do ALOT of WOT for extended sections of the tracks will the 540s take that?
Littlejohn Dsgn is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 02:26 PM
  #26984  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,869
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Littlejohn Dsgn View Post
Ok guys question about motors, getting ready to spend tax return money I am currently running a Novak 4.5 550. I run mainly on very large outdoor 1/8th tracks. I have not done much to lighten the truck (outdirves, shock tower thats about it). I like the speed of the 4.5 but want a backup or use this as a backup.

Guess my question is would I be better off sticking with a 550 for this huge tracks, or dropping down to a 540 4 pole (thinking I need a 4600kv). I do ALOT of WOT for extended sections of the tracks will the 540s take that?
The Tekin Pro 4 4600KV motor has proven to have a little more top end as well as bottom end and runs cooler then the 550 4.5 from them. I think you will be impressed. I cannot comment on the other similar motors.
Casper is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 02:35 PM
  #26985  
Tech Master
iTrader: (47)
 
Littlejohn Dsgn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,332
Trader Rating: 47 (98%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Casper View Post
The Tekin Pro 4 4600KV motor has proven to have a little more top end as well as bottom end and runs cooler then the 550 4.5 from them. I think you will be impressed. I cannot comment on the other similar motors.
Sounds good enough for me ... I was looking at other brands as well but I plan to run a couple ROAR events this summer so will need to stick with a company that has ROAR approved motors
Littlejohn Dsgn is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.