Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 11-29-2011, 12:51 AM
  #24991  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (105)
 
thecman26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Central Kansas
Posts: 7,994
Trader Rating: 105 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by myl3s91 View Post
Hey there, I am thinking of getting the JConcepts Double Dee's mounted on the JConcepts Rulux wheels. Would this be recommended for indoor? What are most racers using as to wheels and tires?
Material: Clay, dirt, pebbles???
Traction: Low, med, high, SUPER HIGH?
Surface: Smooth or bumpy?

I run indoors on SUPER HIGH traction smooth clay and have had GREAT luck so far with Hot Bodies Pink Beams with proline closed cell foams (FYI: they dont come with foams!). The Green bar codes and Super Soft Switches are pretty good too!
thecman26 is offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 02:19 AM
  #24992  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 116
Default

Originally Posted by retsoorkcuf View Post
Has anyone tried the jammin chassis im up in the air over jammin or bump and honestly i like the jammin cause it comes anodized black
I have not run it yet, but I just got the Jammin one because it came with screws. It looks to be high quality just like the others. I am sure the black anodizing is going to be wasted in short order, but I don't really care. It is a race truck. It is not supposed to be pretty all over.
oldschoolnewb is offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 05:23 AM
  #24993  
Tech Rookie
 
fullytwisted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Originally Posted by ChrisAttebery View Post
I let my 8yo son drive my SCTE for the first time on Saturday. I turned the throttle down to 65% and he was on a terror. Usually with his SC10 he's spinning out left and right and constantly being marshalled. With my SCTE he went 4 minutes without any help and just needed a nudge to get off a pipe in the last minute. I bought him a SCTE RTR for Christmas so he is going to be a happy boy.

Now I need some batteries. I am looking at the Turnigy NanoTech 5600 50c packs. I would have bought the 6000 65c but they are out of stock. What's the verdict on these packs are they good enough for the SCTE?

Thanks,


Chris
i have these lipos and i feel that they are worth every dollar..how can you go wrong with $34.00.. i bought 4 of them..good run times and pleant of boost..
fullytwisted is offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 05:28 AM
  #24994  
Tech Rookie
 
fullytwisted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Originally Posted by hacker07 View Post
The 16 go in the turnbuckles and the shock ends.
Hacker.. when do youthink these will be ready to ship?..soon i hope..
fullytwisted is offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 05:35 AM
  #24995  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (106)
 
elex300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 4,139
Trader Rating: 106 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by oldschoolnewb View Post
I have not run it yet, but I just got the Jammin one because it came with screws. It looks to be high quality just like the others. I am sure the black anodizing is going to be wasted in short order, but I don't really care. It is a race truck. It is not supposed to be pretty all over.
Get the BCE chassis!! You won't be sorry. I've heard some come with screws but all I did was switch the rear mounting hardware with the center. I think the rear should be longer anyway.
elex300 is offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 06:58 AM
  #24996  
Tech Regular
 
slowsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: North Port
Posts: 337
Default

do they make 17mm adapters for the scte 4x4?
slowsi is offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 08:03 AM
  #24997  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (32)
 
SCTRacerX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Columbus
Posts: 653
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

After reading some of the posts I have learned some great information. That said I bought the Attebery Performance Engineering titanium hinge pins which he doesn't sell any more. I bought the extended version that can be held with c-clips that way I would not have to put a cover over my carbon fiber hinge pin holder, but after reading some mixed reviews about the snr hinge pin holders I'm a little nervous about buying them and wondering if I should cut my hinge pins down and buy the losi or do you think since they are longer they would work better with the snr over the stock version. Kinda a weird question just hoping some has dealt with this issue.
SCTRacerX is offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 08:17 AM
  #24998  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Central PA
Posts: 692
Trader Rating: 19 (95%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SCTRacerX View Post
After reading some of the posts I have learned some great information. That said I bought the Attebery Performance Engineering titanium hinge pins which he doesn't sell any more. I bought the extended version that can be held with c-clips that way I would not have to put a cover over my carbon fiber hinge pin holder, but after reading some mixed reviews about the snr hinge pin holders I'm a little nervous about buying them and wondering if I should cut my hinge pins down and buy the losi or do you think since they are longer they would work better with the snr over the stock version. Kinda a weird question just hoping some has dealt with this issue.
My personal opinion is that is not a place for carbon fiber. I have personally seen Goehms broken holders and popped pins on a few different occasions and with various different "designs" of the SNR holders. It just isnt worth the few grams savings over the far superior Losi Aluminums.

An alternative for you might be the M2C set, they use larger 4mm pins and have the capability of lengthening the trucks wheelbase by an 1/8" i think. I have seen a few people locally with these installed recently and they look solid.

Either way, you should sell those titanium pins (and get the M2C set) or cut them down and use Losi holders.
RedDevil13 is offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 08:20 AM
  #24999  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (56)
 
kman16jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa,Fl.
Posts: 4,046
Trader Rating: 56 (100%+)
Default scte runtimes?

Hey guys what kind of runtimes do you get with the tekin rx8 and novak ballistic 4.5 running on 5000mah 40c?I feel im getting like 6 or 7 minutes on these packs,is this normal?I picked up a trinity 60c 6200mah pack not to long ago but couldnt run the pack because the front center driveshaft came apart before i could test the new pack,anyone know what the runtimes are on 6200mah driving conservatively on a medium sized track?Any responses are greatly appreciated as i love driving the truck just want longer runtimes if possible.
kman16jr is offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 08:32 AM
  #25000  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Central PA
Posts: 692
Trader Rating: 19 (95%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kman16jr View Post
Hey guys what kind of runtimes do you get with the tekin rx8 and novak ballistic 4.5 running on 5000mah 40c?I feel im getting like 6 or 7 minutes on these packs,is this normal?I picked up a trinity 60c 6200mah pack not to long ago but couldnt run the pack because the front center driveshaft came apart before i could test the new pack,anyone know what the runtimes are on 6200mah driving conservatively on a medium sized track?Any responses are greatly appreciated as i love driving the truck just want longer runtimes if possible.
Get a Hotwire, hook up your RX8 and turn down the power to about 80%, that will lower temps and increase runtimes and you shouldnt notice any loss in performance.. I was running 10 minutes on a 5200 turnigy pack with a 5.5 Tekin 550 motor, you should be able to ket close to 10 with your setup on those 5000's. I would get one of the 4 pole motors though, the castle 3800 is cheap, the Tekin Pro4 is obviously better, but costly. A 4 pole will increase runtimes also.
RedDevil13 is offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 08:32 AM
  #25001  
Tech Master
 
Chad Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,276
Default

Never really got an answer. Anyone running a lrp esc in this truck? I know everyone suggest the rx8 but wanted to see if the lrp would work.

Tryed looking through the thread but 1600 pages is alot of reading!
Chad Smith is offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 08:39 AM
  #25002  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (56)
 
kman16jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa,Fl.
Posts: 4,046
Trader Rating: 56 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RedDevil13 View Post
Get a Hotwire, hook up your RX8 and turn down the power to about 80%, that will lower temps and increase runtimes and you shouldnt notice any loss in performance.. I was running 10 minutes on a 5200 turnigy pack with a 5.5 Tekin 550 motor, you should be able to ket close to 10 with your setup on those 5000's. I would get one of the 4 pole motors though, the castle 3800 is cheap, the Tekin Pro4 is obviously better, but costly. A 4 pole will increase runtimes also.
Will i lose topend on the novak or just gear up after i turn the speedo down to 80%?And money isnt the issue,i have the 4 pole coming soon,I have never been a fan of castle products.I have the 4600 coming this week,what pinion should i use?
kman16jr is offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 08:40 AM
  #25003  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 286
Default

the competition series ones will run 550 size motors just fine.

Originally Posted by Chad Smith View Post
Never really got an answer. Anyone running a lrp esc in this truck? I know everyone suggest the rx8 but wanted to see if the lrp would work.

Tryed looking through the thread but 1600 pages is alot of reading!
cm.stites is offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 08:41 AM
  #25004  
Tech Master
 
Chad Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,276
Default

Originally Posted by cm.stites View Post
the competition series ones will run 550 size motors just fine.
Ok thanks
Chad Smith is offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 08:50 AM
  #25005  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (8)
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,486
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by namewasdallas View Post
I was wondering if anyone in here is running a 550 sized sensored Lrp motor in the Losi, I see alot of people running the Tekin 550 and Novaks but never hear much about the Lrp motors

I personally ran a LRP 5.5 before the Pro 4's were out and ran a Moster heat sink and geared it up a few teeth, Awesome possum.

Originally Posted by Speedy S View Post
Getting ready to install new rx8 and tekin motor. Does it matter if the wires run over top of the motor or come behind the motor?

I personally go Over top of the motor for the fact the Solder tabs are now Riveted in place.

Originally Posted by AgroAMG View Post
My scte, rx8 and pro4 are on the truck, prob be here in a few days and I'll probably know more bout how it goes together once i read the manual and look at it all. it looks like you solder your wires to the esc, but i am hoping that i can use some bullet style plugs on the other end possibly? I wanna be able to swap motors. If it doesnt come with something like that, i wanna look in to it. i dont want to have to unsolder.

As others have stated, Bullets aren't a wise idea, How long does it really take to Unsolder/Re solder a motor.


Originally Posted by Stanford55 View Post
Tekin folks recommend soldering the motor this way:

http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric...ml#post9752429

Apparently this decreases the strain on the motor tabs.
This was more so for the T8 line of motor's which Weren't riveted in placer and very well could pull on the motor tabs and cause issues.
Integra is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.