Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 11-16-2011, 01:43 PM
  #24376  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (33)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,383
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

anyone know what the kit pistons are in the truck?
dgrobe2112 is offline  
Old 11-16-2011, 01:50 PM
  #24377  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,553
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dgrobe2112 View Post
anyone know what the kit pistons are in the truck?
The truck comes with #3 pistons all around.
hacker07 is offline  
Old 11-16-2011, 01:53 PM
  #24378  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (25)
 
losi_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jwemail View Post
that happend to me when i put on the snr cf ackerman arm and cf hinge pin holders, what happend was that the rear side of the gear box was not seated right, so i shaved a little off the cf hinge pin holders and it dropped right into place and the ackerman arm cleared the gear box.
Stock hinge Pin brace and ackerman arm
losi_racer is offline  
Old 11-16-2011, 02:02 PM
  #24379  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,869
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dgrobe2112 View Post
anyone know what the kit pistons are in the truck?
#3's are stock
Casper is offline  
Old 11-16-2011, 04:14 PM
  #24380  
Tech Master
iTrader: (39)
 
ae-Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: FEMA Region 4
Posts: 1,199
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by EricInNeenah View Post
Any word on where to score some hard anodized balls for all the linkages in my truck, my second set is worn out again.... anyone try brass , or any other equivelent? should i be recycling all this old aluminum?
Originally Posted by Asharus View Post


My truck needs a new set of balls, hard balls. I can't believe how well it still drives with worn out ones though!

the ones from the losi 2.0 work great evey were but the outside ends. they have to be sanded down. it took me about an hour to do the whole truck but well worth it.
ae-Dan is offline  
Old 11-16-2011, 04:36 PM
  #24381  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (141)
 
RC*PHREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,135
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by builthatch View Post
Hello -

http://www.castlecreations.com/produ...x_pro_sct.html

Is that compatible with 2s 65c 5600mah in a SCTE? It seems to be a 3s and up system.

I would rather stick to 2s due to cost so if there is another system in the CC line for that heavy truck that would offer the same sort of performance on 2s, fill me in!

If not, I can definitely go 3s.

Thanks.
it's not castle, but a system that many SCTE owners have had great success with is this motor: http://builtrc.com/tenshock_sc401_4000.aspx

with this esc: http://www.largescaleremotecontrol.c...run-sc8-v1.htm

it's a monster on 2s.
RC*PHREAK is offline  
Old 11-16-2011, 04:54 PM
  #24382  
R/C Tech Elite Member
 
JayL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 3,097
Default

Originally Posted by RC*PHREAK View Post
it's not castle, but a system that many SCTE owners have had great success with is this motor: http://builtrc.com/tenshock_sc401_4000.aspx

with this esc: http://www.largescaleremotecontrol.c...run-sc8-v1.htm

it's a monster on 2s.
Is that the "top" Hobbywing for 4x4 SC? I get them all confused so easily and the pics don't always match....If not could you link me to the top one that would run any 540 can 4 pole sensored?
JayL is offline  
Old 11-16-2011, 04:56 PM
  #24383  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (141)
 
RC*PHREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,135
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JayL View Post
Is that the "top" Hobbywing for 4x4 SC? I get them all confused so easily and the pics don't always match....If not could you link me to the top one that would run any 540 can 4 pole sensored?
the one i linked is a sensorless version of this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/HOBBYWING-Mo...item45fe978730

that or the regular 120A xerun: http://www.hobbypartz.com/07e-c-xerun-120a-sd.html
RC*PHREAK is offline  
Old 11-16-2011, 05:14 PM
  #24384  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 99
Default

Originally Posted by KingdomRacer View Post
Newbs should never doubt,
This motor works quite well on 3s when geared properly and is well documented
Now don't get me wrong, not just anyone should try this, leave that to those who have more experience with brushless
OK my bad, let me rephrase 'I doubt you should run it with a 3s on the SCTE.' If you have then good for you, but according To the documentation I've read:

castlecreations.com/support/documents/gearing_chart.pdf

It's not recommended for 4WD use. I have yet to read anything contradictory and I tend to follow manufacturer recommendations. Either way, it's a good combo!

RC
RC-Rick is offline  
Old 11-16-2011, 05:21 PM
  #24385  
Registered User
iTrader: (25)
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: East Coast
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default Diff

Does Losi 8ight's front and rear diff fit on SCTE?
RustyRC is offline  
Old 11-16-2011, 05:41 PM
  #24386  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (105)
 
thecman26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Central Kansas
Posts: 7,994
Trader Rating: 105 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RustyRC View Post
Does Losi 8ight's front and rear diff fit on SCTE?
No, they are different.
thecman26 is offline  
Old 11-16-2011, 05:42 PM
  #24387  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (19)
 
Vision450F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 122
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RustyRC View Post
Does Losi 8ight's front and rear diff fit on SCTE?

They do not fit the truck.....
Vision450F is offline  
Old 11-16-2011, 05:42 PM
  #24388  
Tech Master
iTrader: (39)
 
BDRMBULLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: toronto CANADA
Posts: 1,490
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by losi_racer View Post
Nope all tight .This has me really lost lol. I have this weekend off racing will tear into it again
Maybe you lost the silly gromits under the ackerman bar . Happened to me when i got side swiped by an e buggy and broke a side of my bellcranks. Personally id love to put a flanged bearing in their place if i knew what size to get for it.
BDRMBULLY is offline  
Old 11-16-2011, 08:51 PM
  #24389  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
KingdomRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 1,483
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RC-Rick View Post
OK my bad, let me rephrase 'I doubt you should run it with a 3s on the SCTE.' If you have then good for you, but according To the documentation I've read:

castlecreations.com/support/documents/gearing_chart.pdf

It's not recommended for 4WD use. I have yet to read anything contradictory and I tend to follow manufacturer recommendations. Either way, it's a good combo!

RC
I hear ya kid, I hear ya.
I must admit to preaching the same nonsense when I was a newb, ah those were the days when I did exactly what the manufacture said like a robot.
Today I install shafts in motors to make them work in cars that they should not be in
(the funny thing is that shaft came from CC themselves with the understanding of what I was going to do with it and what vehicle it was going in)
The point is and still is don't doubt, it only shows your newbness. And, please don't ever sound like a hall monitor, it looks bad, lol
KingdomRacer is offline  
Old 11-16-2011, 09:01 PM
  #24390  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
builthatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 265
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by KingdomRacer View Post
I hear ya kid, I hear ya.
I must admit to preaching the same nonsense when I was a newb, ah those were the days when I did exactly what the manufacture said like a robot.
Today I install shafts in motors to make them work in cars that they should not be in
(the funny thing is that shaft came from CC themselves with the understanding of what I was going to do with it and what vehicle it was going in)
The point is and still is don't doubt, it only shows your newbness. And, please don't ever sound like a hall monitor, it looks bad, lol
[IMG]http://i747.photobucket.com/albums/xx111/KingdomRacer/232f2b72.jpg[IMG]
on the same token, a user with a join date of feb 2010 talking down to another slightly newer user in a repeatedly demeaning manner (kid, noob, etc) in successive posts has quite a bit of irony ; )

anyway, someone asked why the MMP/4010 combo isn't featured on the CC site - it will be up soon as per greg wright.
builthatch is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.