Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 11-15-2011, 08:55 AM
  #24316  
Tech Adept
 
DBARB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Portland, MI
Posts: 175
Default

Originally Posted by Asharus View Post
Did not know that, now I love my batteries even more.
HAHA yep looks like I will stay with my Xcelorin's.
DBARB is offline  
Old 11-15-2011, 09:01 AM
  #24317  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,869
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Asharus View Post
Did not know that, now I love my batteries even more.
That is not to say the Orion packs are not good. Orion has made some great batteries. You only get to high amp draw in bursts anyway. I don't think you systems is going to hit 585 amps (90C 6500) or even the 360 amps from the constant rating of the Xcelorin but like I have stated before the C ratings are closely releated to IR which usually translate into more punch.
Casper is offline  
Old 11-15-2011, 12:24 PM
  #24318  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
cyclone x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gaithersburg MD
Posts: 2,547
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

i know this isnt the for sale forum but i wanted to let you guys no im selling mine as a roller with 2 sets of wheels some one pm me if intrested
cyclone x is offline  
Old 11-15-2011, 01:48 PM
  #24319  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 99
Default Motor/ESC combo

Hey everyone, I'm new to forum (this will post #1) and I picked up a SCTE a lil bit ago and been tuning it as time permits. This thread has been a great resource and entertaining too so thank you for your contributions. I'm starting out with Ryans' setup and have addressed what seems to be the basics short the HD outdrives. I'm starting to question my choice on the MMP/3800 combo however. I'm thinking I should have gone the RX8/4600 route. I by no means am looking to start a war here but I'm on the fence and would like to hear of your experience and setup w/ either of these in your SCTE. I just about done with the build and will post pics when it's completed. Thanks for your feedback!

BTW: It would nice to add some detail on page 1 regarding the droop screws; specifically they are meant to be screwed into the chassis; and that the TLR chassis has the holes pre-drilled; similar to the TLR torque rod.

RC
RC-Rick is offline  
Old 11-15-2011, 02:11 PM
  #24320  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (35)
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 826
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RC-Rick View Post
Hey everyone, I'm new to forum (this will post #1) and I picked up a SCTE a lil bit ago and been tuning it as time permits. This thread has been a great resource and entertaining too so thank you for your contributions. I'm starting out with Ryans' setup and have addressed what seems to be the basics short the HD outdrives. I'm starting to question my choice on the MMP/3800 combo however. I'm thinking I should have gone the RX8/4600 route. I by no means am looking to start a war here but I'm on the fence and would like to hear of your experience and setup w/ either of these in your SCTE. I just about done with the build and will post pics when it's completed. Thanks for your feedback!

BTW: It would nice to add some detail on page 1 regarding the droop screws; specifically they are meant to be screwed into the chassis; and that the TLR chassis has the holes pre-drilled; similar to the TLR torque rod.

RC
I've got a rx8-sc4x 4.5 in mine and really like the power and sensored operation. I've heard great things about the rx8/4600 combo, both on the tekin pro4 forum and at my track (I'll probably get that motor sooner rather than later). I guess it depends on your track layout, driving skills, and budget.
Stanford55 is offline  
Old 11-15-2011, 02:19 PM
  #24321  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,553
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RC-Rick View Post
Hey everyone, I'm new to forum (this will post #1) and I picked up a SCTE a lil bit ago and been tuning it as time permits. This thread has been a great resource and entertaining too so thank you for your contributions. I'm starting out with Ryans' setup and have addressed what seems to be the basics short the HD outdrives. I'm starting to question my choice on the MMP/3800 combo however. I'm thinking I should have gone the RX8/4600 route. I by no means am looking to start a war here but I'm on the fence and would like to hear of your experience and setup w/ either of these in your SCTE. I just about done with the build and will post pics when it's completed. Thanks for your feedback!

BTW: It would nice to add some detail on page 1 regarding the droop screws; specifically they are meant to be screwed into the chassis; and that the TLR chassis has the holes pre-drilled; similar to the TLR torque rod.

RC

I have run many systems and love my Viper electronics. I would certainly recommend them to anyone.

However, there are some other products that certainly merit speaking about. The 4 pole sensored 540 motors such as the Tekin or the new Tenshock are the way to go. Very smooth, tons of power, run cool, and light. As for the ESC options, I would use either the RX8 or Orion R10pro at this point. Both of these are very good options as well.

This is of course assuming you will be racing primarily. If you are bashing and practicing, the 3800/MMP setup is a great value for the money as is the system in our new RTR vehicle coming out.
hacker07 is offline  
Old 11-15-2011, 02:34 PM
  #24322  
dtr
Tech Master
 
dtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: budapest, hungary
Posts: 1,664
Default

Ryan, could you quote specs for the servo in the upcoming rtr?
dtr is offline  
Old 11-15-2011, 03:25 PM
  #24323  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,553
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dtr View Post
Ryan, could you quote specs for the servo in the upcoming rtr?
Well, without getting too in depth with things...and please dont ask...it has 100 oz/in and .13 speed for the first batch that we are getting in.
hacker07 is offline  
Old 11-15-2011, 03:34 PM
  #24324  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 260
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

OK i think i might be tripping the F out. I have been stuck in a 4 hour lay over and while waiting for my plane i decided to talk myself into pulling the trigger on buying this truck but from the time looked at it and to checking out at amainhobbies the price went from 299.99 to 279.99... did they just update the price or am i just stupid...
Keeferton is offline  
Old 11-15-2011, 03:36 PM
  #24325  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 286
Default

map pricing.

Originally Posted by Keeferton View Post
OK i think i might be tripping the F out. I have been stuck in a 4 hour lay over and while waiting for my plane i decided to talk myself into pulling the trigger on buying this truck but from the time looked at it and to checking out at amainhobbies the price went from 299.99 to 279.99... did they just update the price or am i just stupid...
cm.stites is offline  
Old 11-15-2011, 03:38 PM
  #24326  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 260
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

yeah but has it always been MAP on amain? I think i just need to get home. Way too much hunting and beer this weekend.
Keeferton is offline  
Old 11-15-2011, 03:38 PM
  #24327  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,553
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Keeferton View Post
OK i think i might be tripping the F out. I have been stuck in a 4 hour lay over and while waiting for my plane i decided to talk myself into pulling the trigger on buying this truck but from the time looked at it and to checking out at amainhobbies the price went from 299.99 to 279.99... did they just update the price or am i just stupid...
The website has to show 299.99 as that is MAP pricing. When it hits the shopping cart, it can be their pricing.
hacker07 is offline  
Old 11-15-2011, 03:41 PM
  #24328  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 260
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hacker07 View Post
The website has to show 299.99 as that is MAP pricing. When it hits the shopping cart, it can be their pricing.
hmm that might explain it. Thanks
Keeferton is offline  
Old 11-15-2011, 03:42 PM
  #24329  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
builthatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 265
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hacker07 View Post
The website has to show 299.99 as that is MAP pricing. When it hits the shopping cart, it can be their pricing.
minimum advertised pricing, exactly.

and to add - this is why MAP never works unless the manufacturer decides to backorder the account for skirting the policy like that. anyway, that's another thread
builthatch is offline  
Old 11-15-2011, 03:46 PM
  #24330  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 184
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hacker07 View Post
Well, without getting too in depth with things...and please dont ask...it has 100 oz/in and .13 speed for the first batch that we are getting in.
Wow this suck the I can ask about a item the I'm looking to buy
dany5 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.