Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 11-08-2011, 12:43 PM
  #23986  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (33)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,384
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cory29NT
Hey guys! Here's a short course body I just painted. Its up for sale on flebay!
dang.. thats a nice body!!!!!!!!!!!
dgrobe2112 is offline  
Old 11-08-2011, 01:55 PM
  #23987  
R/C Tech Elite Member
 
JayL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 3,111
Default

running a tekno pinion 13T but the shank is so long the pinion only gets half overlap with the spur gear.

What are GOOD pinions with shorter/short shank?
JayL is offline  
Old 11-08-2011, 01:58 PM
  #23988  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
AbstractZen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Loudon, TN
Posts: 405
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JayL
running a tekno pinion 13T but the shank is so long the pinion only gets half overlap with the spur gear.

What are GOOD pinions with shorter/short shank?
I run the Losi pinion's with a Robinson Racing adapter so they fit the smaller shaft on the Castle 1410.
AbstractZen is offline  
Old 11-08-2011, 02:00 PM
  #23989  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Grandturk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 3,485
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Novak pinions
Grandturk is offline  
Old 11-08-2011, 02:48 PM
  #23990  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (42)
 
Asharus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 3,123
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

My Robinson racing and losi pinions fit fine
Asharus is offline  
Old 11-08-2011, 02:49 PM
  #23991  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
SuperSmoove's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 155
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I agree, Novak pinions are the best. I ran E 1/8 buggy HARD for 2 years and they were almost impossible to cut teeth marks in. Very good steel is used and seem to have a hard coating on them.
SuperSmoove is offline  
Old 11-08-2011, 03:03 PM
  #23992  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 701
Trader Rating: 19 (95%+)
Default

hypothetical question. Say you have your SCTE dialed on the track, everything feels great, you love the setup. This truck is based on the 8ight platform, so if you had an 8igth-e, could you theoretically use the same setup on it? if not why and what is different?

I have an RC8Be, so its different than the Losi 8ight (though I dont really know what the differences are besides gear ratios), but I was just curious how the setup changes transfer across classes with similar designs.
RedDevil13 is offline  
Old 11-08-2011, 03:09 PM
  #23993  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 701
Trader Rating: 19 (95%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SuperSmoove
I agree, Novak pinions are the best. I ran E 1/8 buggy HARD for 2 years and they were almost impossible to cut teeth marks in. Very good steel is used and seem to have a hard coating on them.
Novak are by far the cheapest options also. They have (3) packs from 9t all the way to 20t

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...n-3-Pack-91011
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...-3-Pack-121314
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...-3-Pack-151617
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...-3-Pack-181920
RedDevil13 is offline  
Old 11-08-2011, 03:12 PM
  #23994  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,869
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RedDevil13
hypothetical question. Say you have your SCTE dialed on the track, everything feels great, you love the setup. This truck is based on the 8ight platform, so if you had an 8igth-e, could you theoretically use the same setup on it? if not why and what is different?

I have an RC8Be, so its different than the Losi 8ight (though I dont really know what the differences are besides gear ratios), but I was just curious how the setup changes transfer across classes with similar designs.
Tires are different. CG is different. The F/R balance is alittle different.

You can transfer how setup changes effect the two different platforms but setups will vary. It is kind of like trying to run an 8ight setup on a 8ight-T. (A little more drastic) but you get the idea. There are enough diffences you need to set them up a little different from each other.

Last edited by Casper; 11-08-2011 at 03:25 PM.
Casper is offline  
Old 11-08-2011, 03:29 PM
  #23995  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 701
Trader Rating: 19 (95%+)
Default

thats kinda what I thought, thanks for the confirmation. I'll just keep tinkering with the rc8 until something works.
RedDevil13 is offline  
Old 11-08-2011, 04:39 PM
  #23996  
Tech Master
iTrader: (40)
 
BDRMBULLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: toronto CANADA
Posts: 1,535
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lowroad
Here she is:

http://www.ckhobby.com/shop/?control...ry&path=13_108

Be in stock in the next week or so

i had there older version the thing hauled ass but i blew it up cause i had a seized bearing one thing i dont like is that the wires are built into it. my wires crossed in the casing some how thats why it stoppped working. i re shrink wrapped them and i think it works now but im runnen a pro 4 4000 instead.
the price is nioce for the motor being sensored now but does the sensor wire plug in or is it built in like the motor wires?
BDRMBULLY is offline  
Old 11-08-2011, 04:46 PM
  #23997  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (79)
 
lowroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,126
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BDRMBULLY
i had there older version the thing hauled ass but i blew it up cause i had a seized bearing one thing i dont like is that the wires are built into it. my wires crossed in the casing some how thats why it stoppped working. i re shrink wrapped them and i think it works now but im runnen a pro 4 4000 instead.
the price is nioce for the motor being sensored now but does the sensor wire plug in or is it built in like the motor wires?
So did your wires cross in the casing or did a bearing seize? I'm confused.

In any case, you can see the sensor port, it plugs in like any other motor. I'd probably prefer solder tabs as well, but for less than half the price of the tekin, I won't complain much. The viper systems wires are hardwired like this too, for the record.
lowroad is offline  
Old 11-08-2011, 05:13 PM
  #23998  
Tech Master
iTrader: (40)
 
BDRMBULLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: toronto CANADA
Posts: 1,535
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lowroad
So did your wires cross in the casing or did a bearing seize? I'm confused.

In any case, you can see the sensor port, it plugs in like any other motor. I'd probably prefer solder tabs as well, but for less than half the price of the tekin, I won't complain much. The viper systems wires are hardwired like this too, for the record.
i had a seized rear hub bearing causing my tenshock to reach between 180 to 205 at one point. then it stopped working, i then opened her up to notoce wires crossed in the case , then seperated them and added heat shrink to the 3 wires. i think shes good to go again but would rather not use it but when i did on a 8th scale track that motor was a can of whoop ass. i have tyhe pro 4 4000 and was unable to get the 4600 but now i think ill buy the shocker 4600 instead of the pro 4 4600.
BDRMBULLY is offline  
Old 11-08-2011, 05:17 PM
  #23999  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (79)
 
lowroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,126
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BDRMBULLY
i had a seized rear hub bearing causing my tenshock to reach between 180 to 205 at one point. then it stopped working, i then opened her up to notoce wires crossed in the case , then seperated them and added heat shrink to the 3 wires. i think shes good to go again but would rather not use it but when i did on a 8th scale track that motor was a can of whoop ass. i have tyhe pro 4 4000 and was unable to get the 4600 but now i think ill buy the shocker 4600 instead of the pro 4 4600.
Interesting. I heard of bearing issues on the first run of tenshocks from others too. I had a 4000kv non-sensored shocker, and I did regular maintenance on the bearings. Hopefully that's been addressed, though I don't know. I'll probably just throw some avids or something in this one before anything else.
lowroad is offline  
Old 11-08-2011, 05:32 PM
  #24000  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (37)
 
omenwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Gresham Or
Posts: 940
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Integra
You Semi Stripped the hole using a 4-40, a 5-40 is the proper size and will not strip.





Nope it was the stock screw right out of the box
Tapped deeper with the 3mm countersunk with cone washer holds alot better than the stock losi 5-40 ever did.
omenwolf is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.