Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 10-12-2011, 12:42 PM
  #22096  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,869
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Feint Motion View Post
I couldnt agree more.

Most of the guys here that want their truck to weigh Like a 2wd, mainly run indoor on road carpet or clay, no jumps.

He'll, even Casper said, you can lose some oz's from just upgrading some parts without even really trying
I have not put a lot of effort in lightening my truck. Most of it was hopup for durability or tuning. A lot of those parts happen to be lighter though so a bonus.

On the hubs.

Outside hole per the lane setup. Hubs only have 2 holes.
Casper is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 12:48 PM
  #22097  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
mjealey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 2,193
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Casper View Post
I have not put a lot of effort in lightening my truck. Most of it was hopup for durability or tuning. A lot of those parts happen to be lighter though so a bonus.

On the hubs.

Outside hole per the lane setup. Hubs only have 2 holes.
Thanks a lot Losi peeps as always!!!!! Do not know where I got 3 though, maybe from the SCB, oh well!
mjealey is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 01:41 PM
  #22098  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,010
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

The Aaron Lane setup is a goodun btw. I followed it to the letter and liked it a lot. I had to look at the diff oil three times to make sure I was reading the weights right, but it worked very well at the Badlands last weekend which is very hardpack, pretty smooth with monster jumps. Too bad I didn't drive so well but the truck was dialed.
chiro972 is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 01:58 PM
  #22099  
Tech Regular
 
namewasdallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 299
Default

Originally Posted by RedDevil13 View Post
No offense is meant here, honestly, but after all these terribly simple and basic questions we have seen you post, I HIGHLY recommend that you invest some money into a personal mechanic/pit crew lol.

The little grub (set) screw that is threaded into the arm and makes contact with the chassis is the droop screw. By "tightening" it, you make the screw stick further out the bottom forcing it to contact the chassis sooner and reducing your total droop. The more you "tighten" that screw the higher up your arms will raise when holding the car off the ground (or while jumping or driving thru bumpy/rutty track sections). The more droop you have the lower your arm will hang which means you will have the tire contacting the track sooner and more often.

"you cant go fast if your wheels arent touching the track"

You want your droop to be close to full. I dont even have my screws contacting the chassis most of the time.
You don't need to get bent out of shape over a simple question man, Like I said before I've never owned a SCT before, I've only ever owned 1/10th stadium trucks. I don't need a mechanic either lol I can handle my own work. Some of the slang for these trucks is all new to me, So that's why im asking. Thanks the answer tho
namewasdallas is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 02:54 PM
  #22100  
dtr
Tech Master
 
dtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: budapest, hungary
Posts: 1,664
Default

Originally Posted by namewasdallas View Post
You don't need to get bent out of shape over a simple question man, Like I said before I've never owned a SCT before, I've only ever owned 1/10th stadium trucks. I don't need a mechanic either lol I can handle my own work. Some of the slang for these trucks is all new to me, So that's why im asking. Thanks the answer tho
Well, you asked whether the screw in the arm was for setting shock travel or droop. If you don't know one of these terms after racing stadium trucks then feel free to ask. Otherwise I don't get it, what is it that you don't understand? The screw adjusts both at the same time.

Last edited by dtr; 10-12-2011 at 03:13 PM.
dtr is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 02:54 PM
  #22101  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 138
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I just got one of these beast and was wondering about the tires on this thing. I am use to getting SS compound tires for my Ultima SC-R, and it is hooked up enough it likes to use up the SS tires fairly easy. I figure that with this machine and the weight of it I will need to go up a compound on the tires. What compound do most of you run on your machines. I personally only run AKA tires so that will be the tires I will stick with. Does soft cut it with this machine or is super softs the way to go?

Thanks
David "Tiny" Johnson
Jammin_Xtream49 is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 03:16 PM
  #22102  
Tech Initiate
 
AEracer888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Philadelphia, Pa
Posts: 32
Default

do you guys think it would be possible to connect a traxxas vxl-3s to a novak 550 balistic 4.5 turn motor? i am looking for something cheap. i have the velenion setup in my scte right now but im wondering if that traxxas esc will work with the novak motor, it could be a good setup if it works i just need to know what might not work. i dont have the money to buy something nice so im working and experimenting with the stuff that i do have
AEracer888 is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 03:26 PM
  #22103  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (38)
 
crocco6413's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 563
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jammin_Xtream49 View Post
I just got one of these beast and was wondering about the tires on this thing. I am use to getting SS compound tires for my Ultima SC-R, and it is hooked up enough it likes to use up the SS tires fairly easy. I figure that with this machine and the weight of it I will need to go up a compound on the tires. What compound do most of you run on your machines. I personally only run AKA tires so that will be the tires I will stick with. Does soft cut it with this machine or is super softs the way to go?

Thanks
David "Tiny" Johnson


I think you will find the Super Soft will feel a little more hooked up, assuming the ambient temps your running in will work, AKA has a pretty good chart as far a compound, I would use the same method for gauging tire compound with this vehicle as any other vehicle, don't really worry about the weight of it. More temp based ,
crocco6413 is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 03:27 PM
  #22104  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,869
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jammin_Xtream49 View Post
I just got one of these beast and was wondering about the tires on this thing. I am use to getting SS compound tires for my Ultima SC-R, and it is hooked up enough it likes to use up the SS tires fairly easy. I figure that with this machine and the weight of it I will need to go up a compound on the tires. What compound do most of you run on your machines. I personally only run AKA tires so that will be the tires I will stick with. Does soft cut it with this machine or is super softs the way to go?

Thanks
David "Tiny" Johnson
4wd tend to have more overall traction and control then a 2wd so you may be able to get away with S tires but without knowing more about the track hard to tell. Worth a try at least.
Casper is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 03:32 PM
  #22105  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (38)
 
crocco6413's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 563
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AEracer888 View Post
do you guys think it would be possible to connect a traxxas vxl-3s to a novak 550 balistic 4.5 turn motor? i am looking for something cheap. i have the velenion setup in my scte right now but im wondering if that traxxas esc will work with the novak motor, it could be a good setup if it works i just need to know what might not work. i dont have the money to buy something nice so im working and experimenting with the stuff that i do have


This is an interesting question, that has been brought up before, i believe the VXL has a sensored option, I think people stay away from this option because the tune ablity is virtually not there. I have never seen this set-up before.
crocco6413 is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 03:34 PM
  #22106  
Tech Initiate
 
AEracer888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Philadelphia, Pa
Posts: 32
Default

im reallly not worried about tuning, its just a light basher and basically my fun car. i figured the setup could work as long as the wiring was correct, but i wanted to ask people on here first before i did anything
AEracer888 is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 05:15 PM
  #22107  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (79)
 
lowroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,126
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jammin_Xtream49 View Post
I just got one of these beast and was wondering about the tires on this thing. I am use to getting SS compound tires for my Ultima SC-R, and it is hooked up enough it likes to use up the SS tires fairly easy. I figure that with this machine and the weight of it I will need to go up a compound on the tires. What compound do most of you run on your machines. I personally only run AKA tires so that will be the tires I will stick with. Does soft cut it with this machine or is super softs the way to go?

Thanks
David "Tiny" Johnson
I've run soft enduros on mine for some time. No issue at all. I'm currently using subcultures in green, and they are also very nice. One thing this truck does not lack is traction!
lowroad is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 05:35 PM
  #22108  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (9)
 
jmc23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Whitesboro N.Y.
Posts: 302
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default ackerman

Originally Posted by Grandturk View Post
Also how is the durability on the CF Ackerman bar? I would imagine hard shots to the front wheels could snap it.
I've used the cf ackerman from snr since it came out . I raced mostly 1/8 scale tracks and not one problem with it. You won't be disappointed.
jmc23 is offline  
Old 10-12-2011, 05:51 PM
  #22109  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (45)
 
goehm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 2,756
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mjealey View Post
Thanks a lot Losi peeps as always!!!!! Do not know where I got 3 though, maybe from the SCB, oh well!
If you count the bottom you can say they three.

(I can act as legal counsel as well, for a small fee).
goehm is online now  
Old 10-12-2011, 06:23 PM
  #22110  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
SaladFork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Earth
Posts: 3,349
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I forgot to tell you guys last week we had a rolling KV change on one of the motors. We tried to get as close to 5200kv but could only get 5150kv. I laughed then I saw this... No one knew what 5150 was till I mentioned it. How fitting for the beefiest 4 pole on the market.

5150; Police code for crazy one on the loose. Danger to property, danger to others, and danger to themselves.
SaladFork is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.