Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 03-05-2011, 03:12 PM
  #2146  
Tech Master
iTrader: (75)
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Orange county CA
Posts: 1,988
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

First test pack threw the truck today and wow way better than my slash.

Diffs 5-7-3 this set up turns super tight I was shocked.

novak 4.5 40/15 lots of speed but I need to dial in more breaks this thing is way heavier than the slash was only on a 20c pack and it got warm fast I recommand 40C plus

The TEMP on controller says 120F motor Temp at 8 mins of learning the truck in the drive way.

Chase1472 is offline  
Old 03-05-2011, 03:40 PM
  #2147  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (28)
 
Teambcw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: So Cal.
Posts: 653
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Can someone help with a setup question.... I just got my truck and I will be running the Castle 1410 4 pole with a Momba monster on 3cell 5000mah 40c. Has anyone done this? if so how did it work and what gearing? tighter indoor clay
Teambcw is offline  
Old 03-05-2011, 03:56 PM
  #2148  
Tech Master
 
FangsCPO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 1,095
Default

Here's a look at my Losi TEN-SCTE under the lid. I was stuck at home today so I decided to do a shock oil change and replace the plastic shock caps with aluminum caps.

FangsCPO is offline  
Old 03-05-2011, 03:57 PM
  #2149  
Tech Master
 
FangsCPO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 1,095
Default

Originally Posted by Teambcw View Post
Can someone help with a setup question.... I just got my truck and I will be running the Castle 1410 4 pole with a Momba monster on 3cell 5000mah 40c. Has anyone done this? if so how did it work and what gearing? tighter indoor clay
Can I ask why did you decide on a 3S, the Castle 4 pole is damn fast on 2S. I think you may find the 3S uncontrollable and besides most tracks, for racing, may only allow 2S. Just my .02.
FangsCPO is offline  
Old 03-05-2011, 04:02 PM
  #2150  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
8ight-e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,174
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Given a choice.. which would you rather have in your sct? The castle 1410 or the tekin 4.5 550?

This is open for anyone.. cost not considered, but 2s operation and for racing only, no bashing.
8ight-e is offline  
Old 03-05-2011, 04:05 PM
  #2151  
Tech Master
 
FangsCPO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 1,095
Default

Originally Posted by 8ight-e View Post
Given a choice.. which would you rather have in your sct? The castle 1410 or the tekin 4.5 550?

This is open for anyone.. cost not considered, but 2s operation and for racing only, no bashing.
My biggest dislike about Castle is that their motors aren't sensored. That's just me. As always, it's a matter of choice. I go with Tekin.
FangsCPO is offline  
Old 03-05-2011, 04:12 PM
  #2152  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,010
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by DBARB View Post
Well I had my trucks for a couple of days and I love it! But my MMP and novak ballistic 550 4.5 cogg so bad the truck wont even move but right when I take out the sensor wire runs like a charm. I have tried different sensor wires tired different setups with MMP... etc. I don't know what to do oh and I am using the xcelorin 60c 6000mah 2s. Both esc and motor are brand new also.
Try adding 10% punch control.
chiro972 is offline  
Old 03-05-2011, 04:12 PM
  #2153  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (28)
 
Teambcw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: So Cal.
Posts: 653
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by FangsCPO View Post
Can I ask why did you decide on a 3S, the Castle 4 pole is damn fast on 2S. I think you may find the 3S uncontrollable and besides most tracks, for racing, may only allow 2S. Just my .02.
I want longer run times. my track is cool with 3s, I dont really need the speed of 3s by any means but i wanted to have decent temps too. I hear that guys are barley making ten min, I would like the option to go a little longer.
Teambcw is offline  
Old 03-05-2011, 04:20 PM
  #2154  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (55)
 
shortcut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: So. Fla.
Posts: 662
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 8ight-e View Post
Given a choice.. which would you rather have in your sct? The castle 1410 or the tekin 4.5 550?

This is open for anyone.. cost not considered, but 2s operation and for racing only, no bashing.
I have nothing against castle, but I went with the Tekin 4.5 550 and rx8 esc.
shortcut is offline  
Old 03-05-2011, 04:22 PM
  #2155  
Tech Master
iTrader: (27)
 
racer x 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: im 4rm a far away place called 1st
Posts: 1,849
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

anybody think a gtb will stand a chance in the trick with a 4.5 550 can?
racer x 1 is offline  
Old 03-05-2011, 04:33 PM
  #2156  
Tech Master
 
FangsCPO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 1,095
Default

Originally Posted by Teambcw View Post
I want longer run times. my track is cool with 3s, I dont really need the speed of 3s by any means but i wanted to have decent temps too. I hear that guys are barley making ten min, I would like the option to go a little longer.
You do understand that the cells have nothing to do with your runtime, it's your mAh. For example a 2S 7.4 6500 mAh will run longer than a 3S 11.1 5250 mAh.

I run MaxAmps 2S 7.4 6500 mAh and I'm getting about 20-25 minutes when bashing. When racing, I can use one pack for warm-up and a 7 minute main without any problems. Just my .02.
FangsCPO is offline  
Old 03-05-2011, 04:35 PM
  #2157  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
badassrevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Roaming Shores, Ohio
Posts: 3,324
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Ran my truck today. It was really good, I think I need some new batteries. The RX8 and Tekin 4.5 can pull some juice.

I made the A and was on pace with most of the fast guys. I did manage to break a rear turn buckle. It snaped right at the rod end.
badassrevo is offline  
Old 03-05-2011, 04:39 PM
  #2158  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
badassrevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Roaming Shores, Ohio
Posts: 3,324
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by racer x 1 View Post
anybody think a gtb will stand a chance in the trick with a 4.5 550 can?
The TQ and A Main winner at my track today was running a GTB and a Novak 4.5. He had to run a fan but it ran fine. He is really fast in any class that he runs. The GTB also seemed to use less juice than the reast of us running RX8's. He put down more laps than we did and used less juice.....
badassrevo is offline  
Old 03-05-2011, 04:43 PM
  #2159  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (55)
 
shortcut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: So. Fla.
Posts: 662
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by racer x 1 View Post
anybody think a gtb will stand a chance in the trick with a 4.5 550 can?
Recommended high performance, low RDS-on (0.00040ohm), racing controllers for Ballistic 550s in 4x4 SCTs on 2S

Current Novak ESCs

GTB 2
Affordable, new on-board programming options, 4.5T/550 limit (3.5T/540)

Havoc Pro SC
On-board programming, including timing adjustments, 4.5T/550 limit (3.5T/540)

Kinetic Spec
PC programmable (NL), up-dateable, all new programming, low profile, 5.5T/550 limit (8.5T/540)

Kinetic 2S
PC programmable (NL), up-dateable, all new programming, 4.5T/550 limit (3.5T/540)

Older Novak ESCs

GTB
Ballistic 550 4.5T (3.5T/540)
Havoc Pro
Ballistic 550 4.5T (3.5T/540)
SLYDR
Ballistic 550 4.5T (3.5T/540)

We have no data regarding RX8 compatibility/performance with our Ballistic 550 motors.
__________________
TeamNovak Web Site
Factory RMF Electronics
Trade-In Programs
Customer Service
Tech Support
Facebook ~ Videos
NovakTwo is offline Report Post Reply With Quote

I would say yes.
shortcut is offline  
Old 03-05-2011, 04:49 PM
  #2160  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (28)
 
Teambcw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: So Cal.
Posts: 653
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by FangsCPO View Post
You do understand that the cells have nothing to do with your runtime, it's your mAh. For example a 2S 7.4 6500 mAh will run longer than a 3S 11.1 5250 mAh.

I run MaxAmps 2S 7.4 6500 mAh and I'm getting about 20-25 minutes when bashing. When racing, I can use one pack for warm-up and a 7 minute main without any problems. Just my .02.
Dang it... you are right... i had such a brain fart.... well 2s here i come!
Teambcw is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.