Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 09-19-2011, 10:31 AM
  #20431  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (42)
 
Asharus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 3,123
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jwemail View Post
yea i did my shocks emulsion style too, and i could feel the differance, it felt smoother and a little better on the jumps, im gonna stick with this style for a little while.
Hmm yeah but I think I noticed the shocks were leaking from the top. Maybe it's not screwed in enough? I used the same amount of force since when I rebuilt it a few times while it was still a bladder setup.
Asharus is offline  
Old 09-19-2011, 10:56 AM
  #20432  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,869
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

You cut the center of the bladder out and left an o-ring in to seal the top right?
Casper is offline  
Old 09-19-2011, 10:57 AM
  #20433  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (42)
 
Asharus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 3,123
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Casper View Post
You cut the center of the bladder out and left an o-ring in to seal the top right?
Yep

I did exactly what was done in the video below since I don't have bleed holes on my aluminum caps yet.

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.
Asharus is offline  
Old 09-19-2011, 10:58 AM
  #20434  
R/C Tech Elite Member
 
JayL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 3,097
Default

does the new losi rear torque rod fit the BCE chassis?
JayL is offline  
Old 09-19-2011, 11:00 AM
  #20435  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (42)
 
BashemSmashem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,647
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JayL View Post
does the new losi rear torque rod fit the BCE chassis?
No , but its as simple as drilling a hole and counter sinking the chassis if you wanna use it , I think its stiff enough though being 7075 T6 aluminum and the longer brace isnt needed IMO , with the stock chassis sure , but not with the BCE chassis .
BashemSmashem is offline  
Old 09-19-2011, 11:13 AM
  #20436  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
jwemail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: oshkosh, wi
Posts: 137
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Asharus View Post
Hmm yeah but I think I noticed the shocks were leaking from the top. Maybe it's not screwed in enough? I used the same amount of force since when I rebuilt it a few times while it was still a bladder setup.
did you use new bladders or use the old one's? i know if u are taking the caps on and off, the bladder could soften and not seal right, and i crank my caps down till they dont go no more, im using the losi alum caps with stock bleeder holes. id try new bladders and follow the vid.
jwemail is offline  
Old 09-19-2011, 11:25 AM
  #20437  
Tech Master
iTrader: (38)
 
alvinsmith75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Orleans Area
Posts: 1,107
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Just curious as to what is the difference in feel from emulsion to stock setup, but with stock going down to a much lighter shock oil, like maybe 15wt?

Last edited by alvinsmith75; 09-19-2011 at 03:45 PM.
alvinsmith75 is offline  
Old 09-19-2011, 11:28 AM
  #20438  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (42)
 
Asharus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 3,123
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jwemail View Post
did you use new bladders or use the old one's? i know if u are taking the caps on and off, the bladder could soften and not seal right, and i crank my caps down till they dont go no more, im using the losi alum caps with stock bleeder holes. id try new bladders and follow the vid.
yeah i'm still using the same bladders that came with the vehicle. i'll get a rebuild kit with new o-rings/bladders etc and see if it helps. thanks.
Asharus is offline  
Old 09-19-2011, 11:33 AM
  #20439  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
heavyjeffd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,805
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Casper View Post
You cut the center of the bladder out and left an o-ring in to seal the top right?
Couldn't you theoretically just use a properly sized O-ring?
heavyjeffd is offline  
Old 09-19-2011, 11:36 AM
  #20440  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
jwemail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: oshkosh, wi
Posts: 137
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by alvinsmith75 View Post
Just curious as to what is the difference in feel from emulsion to stock setup, but with stock going down to a much lighter shock oil, like make 15wt?
i use 30wt front, w/#3 piston, and new black springs, and 30wt rear w/#4 piston, and new orange springs. to me it feels like it turns into the corners a bit better, and it doesnt bounce after a landing, and it took the whoops real smooth like. all in all, imo it settled down the scte, it just felt a little smoother everywhere on the track. i like the way it feels, some may not. but it is a good tuning option. im stickin with the emulsion style shocks for a while.
jwemail is offline  
Old 09-19-2011, 11:43 AM
  #20441  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
larlev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Austin, Tx.
Posts: 1,534
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by heavyjeffd View Post
Couldn't you theoretically just use a properly sized O-ring?
HaHa...I do. I guess folks don't think of it. It actually works better because the 0-ring sits down in the channel of the cap better.
larlev is offline  
Old 09-19-2011, 11:45 AM
  #20442  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (42)
 
Asharus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 3,123
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by larlev View Post
HaHa...I do. I guess folks don't think of it. It actually works better because the 0-ring sits down in the channel of the cap better.
ya, can i has a p/n for a correctly sized o-ring plz?
Asharus is offline  
Old 09-19-2011, 11:46 AM
  #20443  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
jwemail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: oshkosh, wi
Posts: 137
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by heavyjeffd View Post
Couldn't you theoretically just use a properly sized O-ring?
huh yea thats a good idea. ill try that when my caps start leaking.
jwemail is offline  
Old 09-19-2011, 11:47 AM
  #20444  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
larlev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Austin, Tx.
Posts: 1,534
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Asharus View Post
ya, can i has a p/n for a correctly sized o-ring plz?
Sure....let me look on the case lid. I'll get it tonight
larlev is offline  
Old 09-19-2011, 12:16 PM
  #20445  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,553
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BashemSmashem View Post
No , but its as simple as drilling a hole and counter sinking the chassis if you wanna use it , I think its stiff enough though being 7075 T6 aluminum and the longer brace isnt needed IMO , with the stock chassis sure , but not with the BCE chassis .
The tLR chassis is the same material and it is still an option people like to try...so I think it would be a good tuning option for the other aftermarket chassis as well.
hacker07 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.