Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 08-01-2011, 03:46 PM
  #16186  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (141)
 
RC*PHREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,136
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nickypoo View Post
oops ya i ment the tekin 4 pole sensored. but i thought they were going to be a 550 can?

it really confuses me that the mmp can run say the 2400 1415 and some other 8th scale buggy ect. motors but it will struggle with smaller motors...

sorry btw its true im a noob. like it isnt obvious already tho
no, the tekin pro4 motor is a 540 can.

as ridley said, amps decrease as voltage increases, so the mmp is fine on 3 or 4 cells. it's 2 cell applications where some people have experienced the esc's shortcomings (myself included).
RC*PHREAK is offline  
Old 08-01-2011, 03:59 PM
  #16187  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (127)
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: The Aloha state
Posts: 3,232
Trader Rating: 127 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RC*PHREAK View Post
no, the tekin pro4 motor is a 540 can.

as ridley said, amps decrease as voltage increases, so the mmp is fine on 3 or 4 cells. it's 2 cell applications where some people have experienced the esc's shortcomings (myself included).
So do you think the MMP will do fine with the Tenshock 4000kv on 3s? Just want to know as Im shopping for a system to run on 3s..
Neesh is offline  
Old 08-01-2011, 03:59 PM
  #16188  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
nickypoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Glendora, CA @ 210fwy/57fwy
Posts: 212
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RC*PHREAK View Post
no, the tekin pro4 motor is a 540 can.

as ridley said, amps decrease as voltage increases, so the mmp is fine on 3 or 4 cells. it's 2 cell applications where some people have experienced the esc's shortcomings (myself included).
cool thank you!

btw east bound and down is effing hilarious!!!!
nickypoo is offline  
Old 08-01-2011, 04:01 PM
  #16189  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
SaladFork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Earth
Posts: 3,349
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nickypoo View Post
oops ya i ment the tekin 4 pole sensored. but i thought they were going to be a 550 can?

it really confuses me that the mmp can run say the 2400 1415 and some other 8th scale buggy ect. motors but it will struggle with smaller motors...

sorry btw its true im a noob. like it isnt obvious already tho
As I mentioned the struggles with the MMP running other systems has to do with the firmware on the ESC. Some motors work fine while others seem to choke. I had this happen last week testing a new rotor, it would run on ESC 1, but not on ESC 2. It's a separate issue from the BEC problem. Some motors work, some work ok and some don't work at all.

And my RX8 and my Savox 1267 are not playing nice, so no ESC is immune from glitching issues.
SaladFork is offline  
Old 08-01-2011, 04:06 PM
  #16190  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
10sctrel0v3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Titusville, Fl.
Posts: 388
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SaladFork View Post
Ahh gotcha. I drilled another hole in between the two. It was close to the spur otherwise. Closer to the front tower it hits the rack underneath.
what battery tray are you using?
10sctrel0v3r is offline  
Old 08-01-2011, 04:22 PM
  #16191  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
SaladFork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Earth
Posts: 3,349
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 10sctrel0v3r View Post
what battery tray are you using?
The ERC battery tray, came with the conversion. I've always hated it because it's small and limited on what I can run.
SaladFork is offline  
Old 08-01-2011, 04:25 PM
  #16192  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
shadowracer24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: lakeland fla.
Posts: 824
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Casper View Post
Try 5 up front. 7 was for a high bite track to calm the truck down. 7 will make the front end feel a little more lazy which is something I like. Guys that like a little more steering 5-5-3 for the diffs works to get you a little more steering.
Yea thats what I run is 5-5-3, tried the 7 in the center and front before and never liked it. Just saw where Ryan showed the difference in the losi and assoc. oil wgts and maybe thats it. I run assoc. 35wt both front and rear so that may be the problem, to heavy in the front.
shadowracer24 is offline  
Old 08-01-2011, 04:41 PM
  #16193  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
10sctrel0v3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Titusville, Fl.
Posts: 388
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SaladFork View Post
The ERC battery tray, came with the conversion. I've always hated it because it's small and limited on what I can run.
ahh i see ill look around for a different tray
10sctrel0v3r is offline  
Old 08-01-2011, 05:02 PM
  #16194  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
8ight-e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,174
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RC*PHREAK View Post
no, the tekin pro4 motor is a 540 can.

as ridley said, amps decrease as voltage increases, so the mmp is fine on 3 or 4 cells. it's 2 cell applications where some people have experienced the esc's shortcomings (myself included).
Something most people don't think of trying w/ the MMp (or ANY esc) that can help glitching is reducing the voltage on the internal BEC. Normally increasing voltage helps reduce amp draw, but because the servo gearing cannot be changed when you increase voltage, even to 6. you drive up the amp needs of that given servo. If you drop the voltage, it will actually draw less amps. Keep in mind it is at a loss of some torque and speed, but for many the extra speed does more harm than good anyway.

So for a tip; if you have some glitching trying dropping your ESC's BEC voltage w/ the castle software, you may find things fall into place. If that is not enough, you have to go w/ a direct run w/ 2s setups or a external BEC.
8ight-e is offline  
Old 08-01-2011, 05:12 PM
  #16195  
Tech Master
iTrader: (67)
 
Jason Turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,519
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Casper View Post
We are running this setup these days and it works really well.

http://www.losi.com/ProdInfo/Files/L...Lane-JBRL4.pdf
What are the "orange" springs on the back??
Jason Turner is offline  
Old 08-01-2011, 05:25 PM
  #16196  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
larlev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Austin, Tx.
Posts: 1,534
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 8ight-e View Post
Something most people don't think of trying w/ the MMp (or ANY esc) that can help glitching is reducing the voltage on the internal BEC. Normally increasing voltage helps reduce amp draw, but because the servo gearing cannot be changed when you increase voltage, even to 6. you drive up the amp needs of that given servo. If you drop the voltage, it will actually draw less amps. Keep in mind it is at a loss of some torque and speed, but for many the extra speed does more harm than good anyway.

So for a tip; if you have some glitching trying dropping your ESC's BEC voltage w/ the castle software, you may find things fall into place. If that is not enough, you have to go w/ a direct run w/ 2s setups or a external BEC.
Castle has said same thing...staying at 5v or 5.5v is better than going to 6v. I have been at 6v for some time now with now issues. I really don't notice 5.5v servo speed vs. 6v...I would bet no one can.
The thing that has helped me more was setting steering travel so that servo wasn't over extending....makes a big difference in amp draw of servo. I also have cap installed w/ fan, transponder, temp sensor attached. Quite a few accessories plugged in and still no glitching...knock on wood
larlev is offline  
Old 08-01-2011, 05:27 PM
  #16197  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 343
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jason Turner View Post
What are the "orange" springs on the back??
If you see on the sheet both springs are followed by a bracketed comment saying new springs. There are a new set of front and rear spring sets coming out for the SCTE.
mavrick0 is offline  
Old 08-01-2011, 05:30 PM
  #16198  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
larlev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Austin, Tx.
Posts: 1,534
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jason Turner View Post
What are the "orange" springs on the back??
You guys will love the truck even more when springs are out. I use 8ight springs for some time now and find it has greatly benefitted the truck and handling. You can always buy the 8ight adapters from Chris and use 8ight springs now.
larlev is offline  
Old 08-01-2011, 06:08 PM
  #16199  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,869
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

New Ten spring sets are in stock so your LHS or where ever you get parts from should have them or get them soon.

http://www.losi.com/Search/Default.a...m=ten%20spring
Casper is offline  
Old 08-01-2011, 06:13 PM
  #16200  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (96)
 
lbckevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,654
Trader Rating: 96 (99%+)
Default

Sweet...

Thanks Casper... I will have the hobby shop order them ...
lbckevin is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.