Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Power Supply Question >

Power Supply Question

Power Supply Question

Reply

Old 12-01-2010, 11:44 AM
  #1  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (148)
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,522
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default Power Supply Question

I have a hyperion 615 duo charger that I use to charge all my batteries and when I ask it to use both channels at 10 amps each, which it should handle. It shuts off. I think its because of the power supple. I am using a muchmore 24 amp power supply. Am I asking too much of the charger and power supply? What power supplies are you guys using? Thanks
Frank L is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 11:49 AM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (73)
 
simplechamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,315
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

What packs are you charging? Because the voltage of the packs x current drawn will be the total power, and that's the number you are concerned with. 10A on a 2S pack is way less power than 10A on a 5S.

As for power supply, see this: http://www.rc-monster.com/forum/showthread.php?t=27554

They are the same power supplies MaxAmps is selling now.
simplechamp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 11:49 AM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (20)
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 789
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Frank L View Post
I have a hyperion 615 duo charger that I use to charge all my batteries and when I ask it to use both channels at 10 amps each, which it should handle. It shuts off. I think its because of the power supple. I am using a muchmore 24 amp power supply. Am I asking too much of the charger and power supply? What power supplies are you guys using? Thanks
Yes it's a power supply issue. But you'll need to post more specs...

Charger - How much wattage does it output at 10 amps per side?
Power Supply - What voltage is being supplied with 24 amps?


My guess is, when you turn down the charging rate to say, 6a (just a random value), the charger doesn't shut off.

*Edit: Can't believe MaxAmps is rebranding that PS and putting a premium markup on it...
http://www.maxamps.com/Power-Supply-12V.htm
I built the same thing for $15.

Also, the 24v they have on the site is just two of these wired in series... -__-
You can get 2 of the power supplies simplechamp mentioned (and I used) for $25 on eBay.

Last edited by quixoticboi; 12-01-2010 at 12:02 PM.
quixoticboi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 12:00 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (43)
 
Jube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,397
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

Frank just pick up the 42a version on this page and u will be dialed.

www.feathermerchantrc.com
Jube is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 12:13 PM
  #5  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (148)
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,522
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Sorry guys. I didnt realize it was so complicated I was just looking at the amps.

Here is the charger I am using>
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...er-6S-15A-300W

And the power supply>
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...r-Supply-Black

And I have 2 different types of packs that can take high amp charges.
Thunderpower 2s 5200 50c that I charge at 10.4 amps
Thunderpower 4s 5200 50c that I charge at 10.4 amps

Thanks again for all the response. I figured it was a power supply issue.

One more question. If I get one of these 40 amp power supplies (the one at the top of the link) can I run 2 duo chargers pumping out 10 amps each channel on the batteries above?

http://www.muchmoreusa.com/power-supplies/index.html
Frank L is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 12:18 PM
  #6  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (148)
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,522
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by quixoticboi View Post

My guess is, when you turn down the charging rate to say, 6a (just a random value), the charger doesn't shut off.
Bingo. I can charge both at 8 amps and it stays on. I also bumped up the voltage on the power supply so its putting out 15.5 and that seemed to help.
Frank L is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 02:18 PM
  #7  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (20)
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 789
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Frank L View Post
Bingo. I can charge both at 8 amps and it stays on. I also bumped up the voltage on the power supply so its putting out 15.5 and that seemed to help.
Your charger requires 300w for full charging rate.
Your power supply puts out 288w.

You need to get yourself a better power supply. Generally speaking, get about 10-15% more than the charger is stated at. For instance, your charger would be good with 330w or more.
quixoticboi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 02:25 PM
  #8  
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rochester Hills Michigan
Posts: 7,232
Default

Originally Posted by Frank L View Post
Sorry guys. I didnt realize it was so complicated I was just looking at the amps.

Here is the charger I am using>
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...er-6S-15A-300W

And the power supply>
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...r-Supply-Black

And I have 2 different types of packs that can take high amp charges.
Thunderpower 2s 5200 50c that I charge at 10.4 amps
Thunderpower 4s 5200 50c that I charge at 10.4 amps

Thanks again for all the response. I figured it was a power supply issue.

One more question. If I get one of these 40 amp power supplies (the one at the top of the link) can I run 2 duo chargers pumping out 10 amps each channel on the batteries above?

http://www.muchmoreusa.com/power-supplies/index.html
Short answer: The 2s batteries yes, the 4s batteries no.

The Duo3 requires a 15V (or higher) power supply to develop full power (they work really well on a 24V supply). Typical computer derived supplies are only 12V (if that under high load), thus you give up about 20% of the potential Duo output power. This drops the output per channel to somewhere around 144 watts instead of the full 180W per.

For a 4s at 10.4 amps you need about 175 watts (16.8V full charge voltage times 10.4 amps) per battery. The 2s only need half that so no problem there.

Thus with the 12V supply you would be limited to about 8.5 amps per on the 4s. Again no problem getting 10.4 amps on the 2s (~88 watts per).

Unless you can adjust the voltage of the supplies up, but I donít believe those have that feature.

Also need to consider the total power. Four 4s at 10.4 amps would require some 700 watts of charging output power. But note the charger itself consumes some power, to be safe figure on about 80% efficiency, so you are up to about 875 watts needed from the power supply. Mix two 4s and two 2s together and you need about 656 watts.

The 42 amp supply at 12V is 504 watts. And itís best not to run the supply at full rating for reliability, best to leave 20-30% headroom.

Bottom line:
You would need to run 2 of those 42amp supplies in series to charge four 4s lipos at 10.4 amps.
Or a 15V (or higher) supply with at least 70 amps would be good (or a 35 amp unit on each charger perhaps).

Seems weird, but the chargers that have been introduced lately have outstripped the readily available power supplies. Iím shopping as well, I might end up spending almost as much on a supply as on the chargers to get what I want (Iím focused on small and lightweight supplies for portability, which of course are more expensive).

Originally Posted by Frank L View Post
Bingo. I can charge both at 8 amps and it stays on. I also bumped up the voltage on the power supply so its putting out 15.5 and that seemed to help.
Yep, the higher voltage will work well. Also note in the User Setup, you can set limiting parameters (voltage and amperage) for your supply, then the charger will automatically reduce the charging current to stay within the supply limits.
Dave H is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 02:46 PM
  #9  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (148)
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,522
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the help. I will keep the 4s batteries off the same charger.
Frank L is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 11:21 PM
  #10  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
secretsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 474
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

You'll need a 24V PSU for best results.

To meet the specs of the charger you'll need something like this.

http://www.frozencpu.com/products/82...-24.html#blank

If you want the headroom you can go for a 1000W unit. The RSP has a smaller size.

http://www.progressiverc.com/index.p...emart&Itemid=1

http://www.progressiverc.com/index.p...emart&Itemid=1
secretsg is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service