Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Will traxxas vxl esc run a novak 550 motor? >

Will traxxas vxl esc run a novak 550 motor?

Will traxxas vxl esc run a novak 550 motor?

Old 11-08-2010, 07:39 AM
  #1  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
phaqu22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 529
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default Will traxxas vxl esc run a novak 550 motor?

I am wondering if the Traxxas vxl3s speed control will hook up to and run the Novak 550 size motors.
phaqu22 is offline  
Old 11-08-2010, 08:00 AM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
TraxxasPeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mattituck,LI, NY
Posts: 1,510
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by phaqu22 View Post
I am wondering if the Traxxas vxl3s speed control will hook up to and run the Novak 550 size motors.
no it wont. it wont because the vxl esc is not sensored
TraxxasPeter is offline  
Old 11-08-2010, 08:06 AM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (5)
 
ZiG-87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 897
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TraxxasPeter View Post
no it wont. it wont because the vxl esc is not sensored



Code:
Motor Types  (Autodetect)                                                                               Brushed, brushless, sensored brushless
The aux port is the sensor port. Only the traxxas VXL motor is sensorless.
ZiG-87 is offline  
Old 11-08-2010, 08:09 AM
  #4  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
phaqu22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 529
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

So can I run the motor sensored or sensorless?
phaqu22 is offline  
Old 11-08-2010, 08:11 AM
  #5  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (5)
 
pswag115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Parkesburg, Pa
Posts: 841
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

The Traxxas VXL3S WILL run a novak 550. Not the best choice, but i've seen it done at the track by others. Just hook up the sensor wire as stated above.
pswag115 is offline  
Old 11-08-2010, 08:12 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
TraxxasPeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mattituck,LI, NY
Posts: 1,510
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by phaqu22 View Post
So can I run the motor sensored or sensorless?
motor must be sensored to work. but seeing from the post after mine u can use the vxl
TraxxasPeter is offline  
Old 11-08-2010, 08:19 AM
  #7  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
kufman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Elburn, IL
Posts: 3,528
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

The VXL can run a sensorless or sensored motor and you don't have to use the sensor harness for either one. In fact, from things I have heard in the past you may not want to run the sensor port on the VXL. I have heard that they early units had problems with sensored mode operation. Which turn of Novak 550 are you looking to run?
kufman is offline  
Old 11-08-2010, 08:24 AM
  #8  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
phaqu22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 529
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kufman View Post
The VXL can run a sensorless or sensored motor and you don't have to use the sensor harness for either one. In fact, from things I have heard in the past you may not want to run the sensor port on the VXL. I have heard that they early units had problems with sensored mode operation. Which turn of Novak 550 are you looking to run?
I want to run the 4.5 or 5.5 in a slash 4x4.
phaqu22 is offline  
Old 11-08-2010, 08:56 AM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
kufman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Elburn, IL
Posts: 3,528
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by phaqu22 View Post
I want to run the 4.5 or 5.5 in a slash 4x4.
The 4.5 will be rough on the VXL. If you try it, check your ESC temps often and adjust gearing as need to keep things cool. You may find that the VXL controller is a bit under rated for the 550 motors.
kufman is offline  
Old 11-08-2010, 10:00 AM
  #10  
Company Representative
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

I have seen this question before and I have asked about the motor limit/on resistance of the VXL.

Within our own controllers, we only recommend our racing escs----3.5T motor limit/0.00040 ohms on resistance----for use with our HV or Ballistic 550 motors. Especially the 4.5Ts. (GTBS, Havoc Pros, Havoc Pro SCs and Kinetics.)
NovakTwo is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.