Search

New buyer in town

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2010, 07:02 PM
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default New buyer in town

Hello!

I have recently gotten back into the RC fun since my kids are finally old enough to enjoy the sport without driving the trucks into a car or a wall. They are getting new trucks for Christmas, prolly an AT RC10T4.1 or Traxxas Rustler and I will be moving up from my 5 yr old Stampede.

Here is what I was am for:
- Brushless
- Durable (I'm no pro)
- Under $300 (so kits were basically out)
- Lipo compatible, if I go that route later
- 2.4 ghz

So, I have narrowed it down to these few:
- Associated Team RC10T4.1
- HPI E-Firestorm 10T Flux
- Traxxas Rustler VXL
- Associated Team SC10 Pro

Granted, the AT SC10 is a short course truck, but brushless and 2.4 Ghz - it looks tough. I would wait for the Traxxis Slash VXL, but it's announced price right now is about $350.

The HPI seems the fastest at 5700kv for stock engine.

What has the best durability while preserving a high fun factor? I don't plan to race, per say, but may enter races here and there.

Thoughts? Thanks!
Old 10-25-2010, 07:25 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)

if your looking for fun get the traxxas. durable and parts are cheap if you do break.
Old 10-27-2010, 08:37 PM
Tech Apprentice

If I wanted to race, would it be easier to learn on a short course truck or the open wheel (not sure of class) designs like the Rustler? 2WD of course.
Old 10-27-2010, 08:49 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)

rc10b4.1 rtr would be a good one. The buggy classes seems to be comming back. Cant go wrong with associated.
Old 10-27-2010, 08:55 PM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)

What kind of racing is happening at the local track ?

Might want to check that out to prevent disappointment when you buy something there's no class for at the local track.
Old 10-27-2010, 08:58 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)