R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-06-2004, 01:43 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Jose California
Posts: 1,251
Default Chassis Question

I have a whole load of Evader parts my dad got off e-bay for like $7. I've been thinking of switching my XXX-T MFE over to an Evader chassi because very few of my battery packs fit in the XXX-T chassis. to do that I'd have to use Evader shock towers. Would switching over to the Evader chassis create any bad handling/perform worse than the XXX-T chassis?
The Black Kat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2004, 06:50 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Jose California
Posts: 1,251
Default

BUMP: Theres a reason the Evader isn't more sucessfull. Woundering if its suspension geometry or the plastic chassis or what

I don't want a performance downgrade, just the ability to use my batterys
The Black Kat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2004, 06:58 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
timmay70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,701
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I would reconfigure your batteries to use the xxxt. It won't be that expensive. Possibly less expensive than replacing the parts that you will be breaking all the time on that evader. When one part breaks, it tends to take out many others with it, so instead of one broken part you have to replace 3. Shipping broken parts back to get the replacements will get old after a while.
timmay70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2004, 11:38 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Jose California
Posts: 1,251
Default

Actually it would be more expensive...I'd have to buy ALL new batterys and bars. I don't have that kinda money or it'd be done already (i need new cells)

I just want to put ALL my XXX-T MFE stuff on an Evader chassis. I don't want to put Evader parts on an Evader chassis (hence the name Evader)
The Black Kat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2004, 12:04 AM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
SocalSnakeEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Fresno, CA 4th & Lonely
Posts: 843
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to SocalSnakeEyes
Default

I've herd the diffs are the weak spot on the evader, stall I want one. Your going to have a hard time finding a XXT chassis. Horizon Hobbies is out of stock. suspenion is more less the same between the XXT and Evader.
__________________
Curator of a large 90's Losi and Traxxas offroad heard. http://www.rctech.net/g/album/8613420#
"Speed only counts if you make the next turn"
R.I.P. SoCal Raceway 12-16-2007
SocalSnakeEyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2004, 05:51 AM   #6
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,548
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

I am assuming your packs are assembled in a side by side configuration.

You don't need to buy new bars or cells. I would dissassemble your packs. Get out the hammer and pound down your bars some if they really stick out so they will touch the cells, you don't need massive amounts of clearance that some bars have.

I would buy a deans battery building jig ( $11 bucks or less ) and use it to reassemble your cells. You will get a super tight fit and its easier to get the bars on right.

I was in the same boat as you as the T4 is kind of tight and I had to pound the bars down some. Also, on my SB, the GP3300 cells are so big that you have to have them assembled tightly or they won't fit the holding tray.
__________________
Member - Red River Radio/Control Car Club
< Tekno EB48SL / SCT410.3 | Tekno EB410 x 2 | Yokomo YZ-2 DTM x 2 | LC Racing EMB-1 Buggies and Truggies >
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2004, 02:03 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Jose California
Posts: 1,251
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Cain
I am assuming your packs are assembled in a side by side configuration.

You don't need to buy new bars or cells. I would dissassemble your packs. Get out the hammer and pound down your bars some if they really stick out so they will touch the cells, you don't need massive amounts of clearance that some bars have.

I would buy a deans battery building jig ( $11 bucks or less ) and use it to reassemble your cells. You will get a super tight fit and its easier to get the bars on right.

I was in the same boat as you as the T4 is kind of tight and I had to pound the bars down some. Also, on my SB, the GP3300 cells are so big that you have to have them assembled tightly or they won't fit the holding tray.
I got one of those dean's jigs. Personally I could assemble batterys straiter with a ruler and some duct tape

Is there any side effects of switching my XXX-T stuff over to an Evader chassis? Can anyone answer that one for me?
The Black Kat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NTC3 chassis question Baedarlboo Nitro On-Road 8 08-13-2008 12:04 AM
XX-4 Chassis question Core Creations Electric Off-Road 1 06-19-2006 07:47 PM
TC4 Carbon Chassis question. Please Help James605 Electric On-Road 18 12-07-2005 07:43 AM
TC4 Carbon Chassis question. Please Help James605 Rookie Zone 2 12-05-2005 07:23 PM
Chassis Question Zeromaru Rookie Zone 14 11-30-2003 01:12 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:42 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net