R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric Off-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-off-road-4/)
-   -   What does this mean.. (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-off-road/44286-what-does-mean.html)

CRFXXXT 07-03-2004 11:56 AM

What does this mean..

I just got a used XXX NT sport and have since converted everything on the truck to a drake truck except the motor... It is still the Mach .15 which I was told had no more than 10 tanks through it. But my problem is that I can't get the motor to run good until it gets to about 250 deg. If I richen it up it will stall, hesitate, sputter and just run like crap. So my question is: Does this mean the motor is worn out, or are these motors really that hard to tune? I am pretty new to nitro cars/trucks, but have boats, and planes and have never had a problem tuning those motors?

Here are my current needle settings:

Low speed: 4 1/4 turns out
High speed: 2 1/4 turns out.

Recommended needle settings are:

Low Speed: 4 1/2 turns out
High Speed: 2 1/2 turns out

At these setting it runs horrible, very hard to start, and usually with a slight blip of the throttle it will kill the motor?

I am not far off of the recommended setting and the temp is reading right around 240-250 range. It runs pretty good at these setting, however the high speed still seams very rich. It has a lot of punch from the bottom and at about 25 feet it starts to sputter and loose the power.

Thanks
Dave

serpentsixty9 07-03-2004 08:58 PM

well, if i were you i'd ditch that mach .15 and buy a fantom .12 or a novarossi .12, but if u want to keep that engine, i'd try starting it with a heat gun, heat it up to 230, and then start it with the factory recommended settings, btw, did u check the glowplug? If it's anything short than a full glow, it will affect the performance of the engine, hope this helps.

threeEwes 07-03-2004 10:04 PM