R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric Off-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-off-road-4/)
-   -   B44.1 Thread (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-off-road/441523-b44-1-thread.html)

MattP 11-10-2012 11:20 AM

What size pinion should I start with when running a Tekin Redline 6.5T?

t0p_sh0tta 11-10-2012 07:52 PM

18-20, but you'll likely go up. With the cooler temps, I'm running a 23 with my 7.5.

adamym 11-11-2012 07:34 PM

Originally Posted by t0p_sh0tta (Post 11427264)
18-20, but you'll likely go up. With the cooler temps, I'm running a 23 with my 7.5.

This is just the question that I was about to ask. I'm running a new fantom ion v.4 6.5 turn motor. It's ridiculously fast and my temps seem to be almost out of control. This is my first time really running any mod motor other than for drifting. What are typical temps suppose to be around for a very high grip track. My local track is carpet and I typically run carpet the majority of the time. There is also another carpet track and 2 other dirt tracks. Are my temps high because of the amount of traction? I'm currently running a 17/81 with an avid triad slipper.

Any help is awesome, thanks.

rigor 11-11-2012 07:57 PM

How can we help if you don't provide us what your motor temp is coming off the track at? Your gearing sounds fine for a 6.5... I run 20/81 on my 6.5, and could go more.

adamym 11-11-2012 08:01 PM

Sorry, I'm up around 150 about 4 minutes into (17t pinion). The basic rule of thumb that I was told is if the motor is cool and the speedo is hot then gear up, and vice versa. So I tried all of the combinations all up to a 22 tooth pinion. I'm running a speed passion reventon pro as the speedo.

rigor 11-11-2012 08:29 PM

Originally Posted by adamym (Post 11430643)