Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi alum. servo horns = bad >

Losi alum. servo horns = bad

Losi alum. servo horns = bad

Reply

Old 09-23-2010, 01:18 PM
  #1  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (15)
 
monkee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: cda, idaho
Posts: 897
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default Losi alum. servo horns = bad

so i picked up a losi alum servo horn from amain

Team Losi Aluminum Servo Arm (JR)
[LOSA99030]

This is the optional aluminum replacement single arm servo horn from Team Losi. This is the servo horn that is used for the steering bell crank. This servo horn will work on JR servos.
yah. except for the part where it doesnt fit onto jr servos.
i have a 9100s and it will not go on.
sadly however, it does perfectly fit the Losi steering servo on my rtr 2.0 nitro

i saved the bag..
would you send it back? call amain? throw it on the rtr 2.0 and call it a day?
monkee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 01:23 PM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
Amoeba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 755
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by monkee View Post
so i picked up a losi alum servo horn from amain

Team Losi Aluminum Servo Arm (JR)
[LOSA99030]



yah. except for the part where it doesnt fit onto jr servos.
i have a 9100s and it will not go on.
sadly however, it does perfectly fit the Losi steering servo on my rtr 2.0 nitro

i saved the bag..
would you send it back? call amain? throw it on the rtr 2.0 and call it a day?
Might as well use it since you have it. And then order the Racers Edge servo arms. Those things are stupid awesome.
Amoeba is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 01:51 PM
  #3  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (196)
 
XXXDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: West Palm Beach, Florida USA
Posts: 6,045
Trader Rating: 196 (100%+)
Lightbulb

I HAVE 3 I USE ON MY JR'S 9100 THEY FIT PERFECT... MIGHT BE A MISSLABLE. SEND IT BACK THEILL SEND YOU ANOTHER. CALL!
XXXDad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 01:03 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
RC Dad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bismarck
Posts: 1,355
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

I've seen several of these that fit really tight. Line up the splines and start the screw - it should pull itself on.
RC Dad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 01:54 PM
  #5  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

If it fits the losi servo it should fit the JR too. They are a very tight fit when new, but they go on there.
JAMMINKRAZY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 10:10 PM
  #6  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (4)
 
mark perry #4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 71
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

those servo horns are bad @ss
mark perry #4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 11:01 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
 
Dr freedom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,791
Default

Originally Posted by mark perry #4 View Post
those servo horns are bad @ss
agreed .. they are badass

I have all 3 in alloy & have never had an issue.. I would do what Dad said & screw it down, it will go
Dr freedom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 11:40 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
SaladFork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 3,349
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I have had two for about a year now, no issues.
SaladFork is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 05:25 AM
  #9  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (203)
 
Trevor Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 8,323
Trader Rating: 203 (100%+)
Default

they are dialed horns, why would you want a loose fit on your spline?
Trevor Williams is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 05:36 AM
  #10  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 719
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Yeah, I have 2 of these, one on a 9100S and one on an 8711. They do fit pretty tight (usually have to apply pressure to one side while rocking the other to get them off). That said, a tight fit is better than a loose one and I have had no issues so far... I even had a screw back out of one and finished the run without issue.
AMorgan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 05:43 AM
  #11  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 36
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I just had the same problem but they were for Hitec servos. Extremely tight. I literally had to force it on there but once I got it on I pulled it back off to see if I had stripped out the splines and they were not. It was just very tight.
Also. I use a small amount of thread lock on my screws into the servo. Ive noticed these screws back out. Or atleast they did on me until I started using thread lock.
wLdNout is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service