Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Hyper TT 4wd 1/10th Truggy Thread >

Hyper TT 4wd 1/10th Truggy Thread

Like Tree20Likes

Hyper TT 4wd 1/10th Truggy Thread

Reply

Old 01-18-2011, 02:58 PM
  #1741  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
jrz93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: jersey
Posts: 2,874
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by slowslug View Post
The TT is not for bashing IMO
+1 it's a race vehicle no doubt if u want to bash get a traxxas
jrz93 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 03:00 PM
  #1742  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: DFW, Tx
Posts: 88
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 1Fastpede View Post
if its a 540 can the RsPro is fine, The RsPro likes to thermal on the 550 motors.

Tekin recommends a RX8 for the 550 motors.
OK but can the RX8 handle 540 sized motors ok without any loss in performance compared to the RS Pro? I only ask because I plan to get into 1/8th scale as soon as I can and plan to run RX8's so I would rather stick with one kind of ESC if I can.

Also what are the sizes of a 540 and 550 motor? Most of the motors I look at dont state 540 or 550. Thanks for the info guys!
Lason is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 03:09 PM
  #1743  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
jrz93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: jersey
Posts: 2,874
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Lason View Post
OK but can the RX8 handle 540 sized motors ok without any loss in performance compared to the RS Pro? I only ask because I plan to get into 1/8th scale as soon as I can and plan to run RX8's so I would rather stick with one kind of ESC if I can.

Also what are the sizes of a 540 and 550 motor? Most of the motors I look at dont state 540 or 550. Thanks for the info guys!
550 is basically the same diameter of a 540 just longer the 1/8 scale motors ie castle 1515,1517 and tekin 1/8 motors are bigger in both diameter and length
people with a rx8 at my track run it with either a 550 novak ballistic or 550tekin sc motor....regardless of what motor u get u will have to get another motor for an 1/8th scale.
i use a novak gtb and either a 550 or 540 motor the 550 runs A LOT!!! cooler idk what anyone says..550has more rpm tho so it's a choice/depends on what track u run issue.
the only negative issue is that the rx8 is real big for the tt..will not fit under the body unless you move the battery tray fwd and mount it behind the battery.
jrz93 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 04:08 PM
  #1744  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Orange County
Posts: 194
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by NitroOB4You View Post
DC- IMO, it is a very durable servo, and torque wise should be ok, but at .20, is very slow, especially if you're an experienced racer. If you're just bashing around it will serve you well or if you are used to "RTR" servos, I would say it would be comparable to those in speed.

how about this one?

http://www.savoxusa.com/Savox_SC1258...avsc1258tg.htm
DirtyCookieX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 04:33 PM
  #1745  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (36)
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,022
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

That is what I am currently using. After two race days, I'm very happy with it. It is noisy, but that's about the only drawback I've noted.
NitroOB4You is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 07:21 PM
  #1746  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Dragula426's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 351
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Lason View Post
OK but can the RX8 handle 540 sized motors ok without any loss in performance compared to the RS Pro? I only ask because I plan to get into 1/8th scale as soon as I can and plan to run RX8's so I would rather stick with one kind of ESC if I can.

Also what are the sizes of a 540 and 550 motor? Most of the motors I look at dont state 540 or 550. Thanks for the info guys!
The RX8 will handle anything motor wise you can throw at it. The only thing it will not do is add boost like the smaller RSpro which you should never need in a mod motor application.
Dragula426 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 08:31 PM
  #1747  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: DFW, Tx
Posts: 88
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Dragula426 View Post
The RX8 will handle anything motor wise you can throw at it. The only thing it will not do is add boost like the smaller RSpro which you should never need in a mod motor application.
Cool, thanks for the info!
Lason is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 09:11 PM
  #1748  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
Slash65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 316
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Questions?? Shocks?

Besides the Pro-Lines, has anyone found any good shocks that are a direct bolt on?
Slash65 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 04:37 AM
  #1749  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
heavyjeffd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,805
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Which Pro-Lines are direct bolt ons?
heavyjeffd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 04:56 AM
  #1750  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,334
Default

Originally Posted by Slash65 View Post
Besides the Pro-Lines, has anyone found any good shocks that are a direct bolt on?
Why are people fixing things that are'nt broke?
Whosold is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 04:57 AM
  #1751  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
hyperdesigns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: grand rapids, mi
Posts: 293
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

hey guys just ordered my tt on monday. i already race a hyper 10sc so i know all the tricks and tips. but anyone running the castle sidewindersct combo? figure for a 100 bucks i would try it.
hyperdesigns is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 05:34 AM
  #1752  
Tech Master
iTrader: (15)
 
Cappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,317
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Whosold View Post
Why are people fixing things that are'nt broke?
You mean like shaving A arms to get
more steering before acctually steering it
Cappy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 06:19 AM
  #1753  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sherman Tx
Posts: 214
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Whosold View Post
Why are people fixing things that are'nt broke?
The shocks are a definite weak spot i have stripped the threads on both front shock bodies, and the eclips come off inside the shock and then the piston is loose.
slowslug is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 07:49 AM
  #1754  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: RC Nutcase
Posts: 250
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by slowslug View Post
The shocks are a definite weak spot i have stripped the threads on both front shock bodies, and the eclips come off inside the shock and then the piston is loose.
I have had the complete opposite experience with my TT's shocks. I thought they were really high quality and have not skipped a beat yet. I wouldnt spend a dime to replace the stock shocks personally..... they are good enough as is IMHO.
Fleshgearf150 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 08:10 AM
  #1755  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,334
Default

Originally Posted by Cappy View Post
You mean like shaving A arms to get
more steering before acctually steering it
That was Craigs fault.
Whosold is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service