R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-05-2010, 07:33 PM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
Miller4673's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Mankato, Minnesota
Posts: 80
Default Castle Brushless Questions

So the 17T Reedy in my SC10 finally wore out and I'm upgrading to a brushless setup. We just started racing this summer, so I'm still a beginner and am having some trouble figuring out some differences.

I've decided I'm going to go with a Castle product, but am not sure which one or which size. We currently use 4600MaH NiMh batteries, and don't plan to upgrade to lipo until probably next summer. Other than AKA enduro tires and shock oil, the truck is totally stock.

So, is my best option the sidewinder, mamba max or the mamba pro. I still dont understand the difference between sensored and sensorless either. I am still learing about punch control, drag brake etc., so right now I'm just making my choices off of price.

Also, what size should I go with, the mamba pro 9000kv, or would a sidewinder 5700kv be fast enough for a sc10? Remember I'm still using old school 4600Mah NiMh batteries..

Any advice would be appreciated.
Miller4673 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 07:36 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
nexxus's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 8,097
Trader Rating: 302 (100%+)
Default

Your Best option would be the Castle Mamba Max Pro ESC and a Traxxas VXL Motor, the VXL motor runs a lot cooler and has more torque, the Castle motors are designed more for light weight Touring Cars and Buggies.
__________________
A800 / A800X Awesomatix

Don't worry about what I'm doing.
Worry about why you're worried about what I'm doing.

"Ego is the anesthesia that deadens the pain of stupidity."

nexxus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 07:41 PM   #3
Tech Apprentice
 
Miller4673's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Mankato, Minnesota
Posts: 80
Default

Is that the Traxxas Velineon waterproof brushless system thats rated at 3500kv? Is that enough power for a SC10 running old school NiMh batteries?
Miller4673 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 07:50 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: southeastern massachusetts
Posts: 298
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I have a CC sidewinder in my sc10 and I love it. as far as putting a 9000kv motor in it, that'd be a bad idea. I have the 5700kv motor and I can't even run my endpoints at 100% at my local track, it's got a ton of power. going from a reedy 17 turn motor to a 5700kv motor is like going from 17 turns to about 8.5 turns or somewhere around there. I'd actually like to see how the 4600kv motor would be in my sc10. I run my drag brake on the lighter side, like around 20%, and I don't even mess around with the punch control. if you're not looking to spend a lot of money, the sidewinder is the way to go
Punisher72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 08:00 PM   #5
Tech Apprentice
 
Miller4673's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Mankato, Minnesota
Posts: 80
Default

What do you mean by you dont run your endpoints at 100%? So when you have your truck at full throttle, its actually only running at 85% throttle?
Miller4673 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 09:41 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
gene1219's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Wheaton
Posts: 1,874
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

I just started to run the mamba max pro with the 5700 kv motor..it's a lot of motor for the track that I race on. If traction is low on the track, a stock motor has no problem out performing me as I just spin out.

if I had the chance to rethink my purchase I would have went with a 3300kv motor or 13.5t motor.

My mind may change as soon as I get my castle link in, maybe I can use that to slow the motor down.
gene1219 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2010, 12:19 AM   #7
Tech Regular
 
KniteWulfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Korea
Posts: 356
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Punch or torque control can make a huge difference, as can a bit of a dip in your throttle curve. Running lower throttle endpoints isn't a very good solution unless nothing else is available.

The 4600 is a great motor, I actually prefer it over the 5700. It still takes quite a bit of throttle control, and actually feels faster than my 5700 in most situations.

I ran a sidewinder with a 4600 on NiMh batteries for a while in my rally car and it worked much better than I expected. Got some really amazing run-times for those batteries. That would probably be the way to go, but I don't race SC so can't say for sure.

If you are looking at getting into more serious racing eventually take a look first at the regulations of the class you will run and get something that will work for that.
__________________
--Team JBRC-- My Cars: Mini Revo VXL, SCX10, RS4 Rally, TC3 FT, Losi Micro High Roller, Venom Creeper, MP9e, MBX5R-E, SC8E, JQ THE car, and TC3 100% Ti/ Alum Shelf Queen
Helis: SP II, 4G6S- HP-07, HM1#A, HK450GT
http://www.youtube.com/KniteWulfe
KniteWulfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2010, 01:53 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
tom_chang79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,591
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KniteWulfe View Post
The 4600 is a great motor, I actually prefer it over the 5700. It still takes quite a bit of throttle control, and actually feels faster than my 5700 in most situations.
+1

I have a 4600Kv + Mamba Max (non-Pro ) in mine, and it's MORE than enough power.

Whatever you do, I would stay away from the 9000Kv motor (or any of their motor above 5700Kv), unless you're doing some speed-test, balls-to-the-walls type of stuff...
__________________
RIP TAP RC
tom_chang79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2010, 08:22 AM   #9
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: southeastern massachusetts
Posts: 298
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miller4673 View Post
What do you mean by you dont run your endpoints at 100%? So when you have your truck at full throttle, its actually only running at 85% throttle?
yep, because at 100% it's just way too powerfull. my endpoints are actually at 62%, and I came in 2nd in the a-main at my local track yesterday
Punisher72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2010, 10:17 AM   #10
Tech Lord
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I started with a Sidewinder/5700 in my Slash and now I'm running a MM with 4600kv and its faster than it was with the 5700. 5700 is a little too much, you'll be better with the 4600.
Duster_360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1/18 brushless questions redmike76 Micro and Mini Scales 17 10-31-2009 11:23 AM
Castle Brushless ESCs/motor 3S Lipo Balance charger Dieselpower R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 05-08-2009 08:14 AM
Hacker Brushless Questions. Ybakoff Electric Off-Road 17 05-02-2004 10:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:39 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net