Wiki Posts
Search

Guys I need help with a Mamba Max esc/BEC problem

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2010, 10:51 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default Guys I need help with a Mamba Max esc/BEC problem

Guys I've been racing toy cars since 1985 and I can't figure this one out. It must be a simple fix, because I can't find it (LOL)

I am running a castle creations mamba monster max esc with a 10 amp bec.

when I turn the car to any side and hold it, the receiver shuts down, transponder goes out, front steering goes dead.

the bec is wired up with the red wire going to the red battery wire on the esc, soldered into the battery terminal. The black wire is going to the black battery wire on the esc, soldered into the battery terminal, also. The red wire on the esc has been popped out of the rx plug and heat shrinked. This is just like the instructions. I had the voltage at 5.5 and had the problem. Ran the voltage up to 6.0 and still had the problem. I am running a 2200 kv neu/castle moter and all this is tucked into a hyper 9e buggy.

Oh yeah, the last time i messed with it I turned it to the right and held it. it came on and went off over and over. looked like the servo was glitching, but rx light was blinking on and off rapidly. EPA's are turned down to 50% trying to diagnose this (they were only at 90% when I started (this is out of 120 on a futaba 3pk running spektrum rx).

UUUGGGGHHHHHH!!!!! PLEASE HELP!!!! ALL comments appreciated!!!
Old 08-18-2010, 01:11 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

Sounds like a bad servo, or a bad wire (solder joint) somewhere in the system. I would try a different servo and see if it's still doing it. Then it's time to go through the wiring to look for the culprit.

If I read you right, the BEC is shutting down or dropping voltage enough that the RX is rebooting. 2.4G systems are sensitive to voltage and will reboot/rebind if the voltage drops too low.

Are you sure the steering is not going beyond full lock?