Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Broken wires on on and off switch >

Broken wires on on and off switch

Broken wires on on and off switch

Reply

Old 08-14-2010, 10:15 PM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (47)
 
mxracer458's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: so cal
Posts: 3,983
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default Broken wires on on and off switch

Since one of my wires pulled out of the switch do I just tie the two wires together and run it like that?
mxracer458 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 10:23 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
scwrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,421
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

yep. ditch the switch
scwrod is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 10:26 PM
  #3  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (100)
 
thecman26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Central Kansas
Posts: 7,839
Trader Rating: 100 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mxracer458 View Post
Since one of my wires pulled out of the switch do I just tie the two wires together and run it like that?
What is this switch on?
thecman26 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 10:54 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (56)
 
kman16jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa,Fl.
Posts: 4,013
Trader Rating: 56 (100%+)
Default

tie the 2 together and shrinkwrap it,one less thing to fail in a race,2 out of 8 mamba's of mine still have there switches.
kman16jr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 11:29 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (47)
 
mxracer458's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: so cal
Posts: 3,983
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Lrp tc spec
mxracer458 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 11:36 PM
  #6  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (100)
 
thecman26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Central Kansas
Posts: 7,839
Trader Rating: 100 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mxracer458 View Post
Lrp tc spec
Bummer... I was hoping it was a novak cause those are easy to swap out switches!

You could always solder on a new switch or solder the wires together and shrink wrap...
thecman26 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 11:57 PM
  #7  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (47)
 
mxracer458's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: so cal
Posts: 3,983
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

one wire actually pulled out of the case on the switch,ill just ditch it and twist the wire together and shrink them together
mxracer458 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 12:08 AM
  #8  
Tech Master
 
kdeselms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,019
Default

Had this happen on my Novak GTB switch, I just pulled the shell of the switch apart and saw that somehow, the shell had pinched/bent the wires to the point where they just split. Just stripped the ends of the wires, heated the solder on the old wires still on the circuit board one by one and pulled off the remnants, then re-soldered the newly-stripped ends onto the switch. Took five minutes. Put the shell back on, threw a little tape around it and I was good to go.
kdeselms is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 10:06 AM
  #9  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
scwrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,421
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

go ahead and take the time to solder the wires Switches can work but you have to get a good one. Then it is a matter of your cleaning practices. WD-40 is hell on switches. I have also used the silicone covers. If you do choose to use switches go overboard with it. It would suck to pull a DNS just because of a switch.
scwrod is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 10:16 AM
  #10  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (15)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Sticks
Posts: 234
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

What would you recomend for a good switch?
Harry Sachs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 10:42 AM
  #11  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
scwrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,421
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I have not bought one since my gas truck days. I will say I do still have one on my LRP SPX and it has been solid. I had bad luck with JR's. You have to ask around....
I like to eliminate any junctions I can when it comes to power
Here are the covers I used for nitro 1/8
http://www.amainhobbies.com/advanced...+cover&x=0&y=0
scwrod is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 10:43 AM
  #12  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (33)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4,124
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Any switch will do, just make sure it seems to be built well. The switch on my LRP TC Spec broke, I happen to have one laying around and just attached it.
marooko is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 11:57 AM
  #13  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 390
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

i always shorten my switches with the novak one they are so easy to take apart and shorten
vanderham21 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service