Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Servo Ratings --> Voltage Question >

Servo Ratings --> Voltage Question

Servo Ratings --> Voltage Question

Reply

Old 08-09-2010, 06:14 AM
  #1  
Suspended
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 584
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Talking Servo Ratings --> Voltage Question

Help...

When buying a servo... The specs are different depending on the voltage you are feeding it...

So how do you know what voltage your receiver is feeding it?

I am asking about the popular Specktrum ones like an

SR3300T
SR3100
SR300

I see that the specs of those receiver say...

Voltage Range: 3.59.6V

Isn't that the Input voltage range of the Receiver??? I can't find what the output voltage is for the servos...

Sorry if this is an stupid question.
bbecker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 06:25 AM
  #2  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Rcvrs usually have a bec inside that regulates the voltage output at 6v. Check the sepcs on yours, the othe rthing specs should tell you is the available current from the rcvr which is important if you're running a ultra torque servo that needs the current.




My bad, I was thinking nitro setup....elec setup its the esc's bec like posted.....
Duster_360 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 06:26 AM
  #3  
Tech Initiate
 
scottd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 23
Default

Originally Posted by bbecker View Post
Help...

When buying a servo... The specs are different depending on the voltage you are feeding it...

So how do you know what voltage your receiver is feeding it?

I am asking about the popular Specktrum ones like an

SR3300T
SR3100
SR300

I see that the specs of those receiver say...

Voltage Range: 3.59.6V

Isn't that the Input voltage range of the Receiver??? I can't find what the output voltage is for the servos...

Sorry if this is an stupid question.
That is the input range. It would seem you are barking up the wrong tree for the servo BEC voltage. That should be found with your speed controller. Look up what your ESC outputs for BEC.
scottd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 07:12 AM
  #4  
Suspended
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 584
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Talking

So its what your ESC is feeding the Receiver which governs what is sent to the actual servo?

I am running an MMM. I see that its giving my receiver 6.1 volts. So that means my servos are getting their 6 volts???

THANKS for all your help folkls.
bbecker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 11:03 AM
  #5  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (28)
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 283
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

I'd break out a volt meter and see for sure if there is any doubt.
xjwolfpacker is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service