Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Fastest brushed 540 motor for SC10 >

Fastest brushed 540 motor for SC10

Fastest brushed 540 motor for SC10

Reply

Old 08-08-2010, 12:27 AM
  #1  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Miller4673's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Mankato, Minnesota
Posts: 80
Default Fastest brushed 540 motor for SC10

I was wondering what the fastest 540 brushed replacement motor for my SC10. The reedy 17T is fine for what I use it for, but when I have to replace it, was just wondering what my best option would be. I don't want to spend the money for a brushless system, and am running standard 8.4V 4600MaH NiMh batteries. No other mods to truck, don't plan on any others.

I read that the Cobalt 14T is very fast, but I think that thread was from 2008 so I'm hoping there is something newer and better.

Thanks-
Miller4673 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 12:43 AM
  #2  
JsK
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
JsK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: S.Oregon
Posts: 1,672
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Do you have a Comm Lathe? Any experience with changing brushes
and cutting a Comm? High End brushed motors require a bit of skill
and equipment to keep them running at there peak.

A 150.00 dollar brushless system will seem like a god send after a
few rounds with a high strung brushed motor.

Brushless + LiPo = the best things to happen to RC in quite a while.
JsK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 12:50 AM
  #3  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Miller4673's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Mankato, Minnesota
Posts: 80
Default

No, no lathe. I can take a motor apart and repair it fine though. How much does a lathe run?

I actually have 3 cars, mine and my 2 boys, so (3) BL's at $150 each plus all the lipo's to run em would mean a second mortgage for me..
Miller4673 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 12:56 AM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
SaladFork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Earth
Posts: 3,349
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Why not just run a brushless in your R/C and keep the kids brushed. You can get a Speed Passion Cirtix motor and ESC for under 100 bucks. In the long run brushed is more expensive, more maintenance and way less efficient. It's like running a P90 on Windows 95 and trying to convince yourself it's actually not that bad.
SaladFork is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 12:57 AM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
T-BirdJunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Norwood, OH...and CCRCR and The OhioRCFactory
Posts: 2,974
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JsK View Post
Do you have a Comm Lathe? Any experience with changing brushes
and cutting a Comm? High End brushed motors require a bit of skill
and equipment to keep them running at there peak.

A 150.00 dollar brushless system will seem like a god send after a
few rounds with a high strung brushed motor.

Brushless + LiPo = the best things to happen to RC in quite a while.
x37,000

If it weren't for brushless ThunderbirdJunkie's electric cars would have continued gathering dust.

Cutting comms changing brushes single cell breakins submerged in water

Screw that crap.
T-BirdJunkie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 01:12 AM
  #6  
JsK
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
JsK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: S.Oregon
Posts: 1,672
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Well in your situation I guess that you could keep running the Reedys.
There cheap and disposable, a 5-8 minute dry run in at 3 volts will
make sure you get the most out of them. The SC200 ESCs are not
really all that reliable with the 17turn so any low turn highamp
motor is going to cook it pretty fast.

One other option is AEs return program. Send them your SC200esc and
the Reedy 17t motor and they will trade you up to the 3300KV setup
from the SC10 Brushless for 85.00. Call Donn or Chris in customer service
if you want more details.
JsK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 01:32 AM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,360
Trader Rating: 12 (93%+)
Default

[QUOTE=Miller4673;7775384]No, no lathe. I can take a motor apart and repair it fine though. How much does a lathe run?

I actually have 3 cars, mine and my 2 boys, so (3) BL's at $150 each plus all the lipo's to run em would mean a second mortgage for me..[/QUOTE]

Now you know how use 1/8th nitro boys feel. Electric guys are so cheap lol. NAA Just buy 3 ezrun set ups for like 100ea they are decent stuff. Thats like 300 dollars then upgrade to lipo later. A lathe will run you atleast 100 dollars then motors are say 40ea so thats 220. then theres worked on the brushed. Brushless is maintence free, and makes life a hell of a lot easier.
rcdude236 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 10:04 AM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
brickshouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,246
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

once you go to brushless youll wonder why you didnt do it sooner
brickshouse is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service