Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Havoc 3S with Ballistic 8.5T won't stop overheating > Havoc 3S with Ballistic 8.5T won't stop overheating

Havoc 3S with Ballistic 8.5T won't stop overheating

Reply

Old 08-07-2010, 01:29 PM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 9
Default Havoc 3S with Ballistic 8.5T won't stop overheating

I've got a Havoc 3S with Ballistic 8.5T installed in a HPI Cyber 10B running off a Ptotek RC 3300mAh 3-cell 25C geared as low as I can (16/84) (it's painfully slow). After a few minutes of running, even if I run it soft, the blue and red LEDs start blinking "possible ESC thermal shutdown", the ESC and motor are barely warm when this happens. It also ran fine on a 6-cell NiMH. I have been in contact with Novak and have even sent it in and they have been no help. My LHS also has been unable to provide any solutions. I'm getting desperate, I really need some help.
jason701802 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 01:56 PM
  #2  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (22)
 
wiscnitro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Reedsburg,WI
Posts: 606
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

When I had the Novak Havoc 21.5 system the ESC would thermal all the time. I believe the slip said it would thermal at 150*F but when I would temp the motor it would barely be at 120*f. Ive heard of people cutting the temp wire on the sensor plug ( I don't rember what wire it is) I know you said its barely warm but have you gotten a temp on the motor?
wiscnitro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 02:07 PM
  #3  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 9
Default

I have no way of measuring the temp other than by touch
jason701802 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 02:08 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
brickshouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,246
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

sell it and get something else
brickshouse is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 02:13 PM
  #5  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (99)
 
thecman26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Central Kansas
Posts: 7,790
Trader Rating: 99 (100%+)
Default

If you say it painfully slow and barely warming up then you are undergeared. Go up a few teeth on the pinion. It would be a good idea to invest in a decent temp gun to monitor motor temps! The best investment you can make! An 8.5 is plenty of motor and should be a handfull to drive if its properly geared.
thecman26 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 02:18 PM
  #6  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 9
Default

I have also run it 18/84, 23/84 and 26/84 and it acts similarly
jason701802 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 02:25 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (60)
 
koolwhipman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cedar Springs
Posts: 1,137
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

It shouldn't be "painfully slow" running it on a 3 cell lipo with any gearing. Can you try a differnet lipo (2 or 3 cell) or try your 3 cell with a different esc to find out what is working and what's not.

Get ahold of Novak and see what they say. I have the Havoc 3s and 8.5 Ballistic in my SC10 and it works great on 2 cell, haven't tried 3.
koolwhipman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 02:30 PM
  #8  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (99)
 
thecman26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Central Kansas
Posts: 7,790
Trader Rating: 99 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by koolwhipman View Post
It shouldn't be "painfully slow" running it on a 3 cell lipo with any gearing. Can you try a differnet lipo (2 or 3 cell) or try your 3 cell with a different esc to find out what is working and what's not.

Get ahold of Novak and see what they say. I have the Havoc 3s and 8.5 Ballistic in my SC10 and it works great on 2 cell, haven't tried 3.
Yeah I cant imagine an 8.5 on 3S lipo! Should be insane fast! I ran 3S on a 13.5 and it was silly!
thecman26 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 02:31 PM
  #9  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (99)
 
thecman26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Central Kansas
Posts: 7,790
Trader Rating: 99 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jason701802 View Post
I have also run it 18/84, 23/84 and 26/84 and it acts similarly
If thats the case the esc is bad or the sensor wire is bad if the motor wires are soldered up correctly!
thecman26 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 02:32 PM
  #10  
Tech Master
iTrader: (60)
 
koolwhipman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cedar Springs
Posts: 1,137
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jason701802 View Post
running off a Ptotek RC 3300mAh 3-cell 25C
And a 3-cell battery.
koolwhipman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 02:33 PM
  #11  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (99)
 
thecman26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Central Kansas
Posts: 7,790
Trader Rating: 99 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by koolwhipman View Post
And a 3-cell battery.
I know just caught my goof!
thecman26 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 02:49 PM
  #12  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Originally Posted by koolwhipman View Post

Get ahold of Novak and see what they say. I have the Havoc 3s and 8.5 Ballistic in my SC10 and it works great on 2 cell, haven't tried 3.
Did you not read my post? Not only have I been in contact with them, I've sent the system in and they say that nothing its wrong
jason701802 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 02:55 PM
  #13  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
brickshouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,246
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by thecman26 View Post
If thats the case the esc is bad or the sensor wire is bad if the motor wires are soldered up correctly!
+1 trydifferent sensor wire
brickshouse is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 05:17 PM
  #14  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 9
Default

the sensor wire checks out fine
jason701802 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 05:23 PM
  #15  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (99)
 
thecman26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Central Kansas
Posts: 7,790
Trader Rating: 99 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jason701802 View Post
the sensor wire checks out fine
Ok, pull the motor and make sure the drivetrain is free and not binding, does it roll smoothly with the motor disengaged?

Is it still running slow with the sensor wire removed?
thecman26 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service