Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
How to be a better racer >

How to be a better racer

How to be a better racer

Old 08-06-2010, 07:31 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Questions?? How to be a better racer

Hi, I've been racing for about a year now, but I've never been really good. Are there any tricks apart from practicing to be a good driver on the track?

I have a B4 with a Mamba max pro with Trinity Duo 13.5 motor with a Bluebird servo and Kopropo Mars EX-1 rx/tx.
Old 08-06-2010, 07:53 AM
Tech Elite

Originally Posted by B4power View Post
Hi, I've been racing for about a year now, but I've never been really good. Are there any tricks apart from practicing to be a good driver on the track?

I have a B4 with a Mamba max pro with Trinity Duo 13.5 motor with a Bluebird servo and Kopropo Mars EX-1 rx/tx.
I started racing 1/8 scale buggy's 3 months ago.
I was a hardcore gamer so I guess I have a good reaction time and coordination over my hands/fingers.
I also have a racing sim at home so I know the basics of racing. How to enter turns, exit turns, setup related things etc.

Other drivers told me that I drive good and smooth. I think smooth and controlled is very important. Some people try to push too hard and they end up uncontrolled in the turn and taking it wide.
Old 08-06-2010, 07:57 AM
Tech Regular

G'Day

Practicing is obviously the key, but recognising your faults is another.

Where do you go wrong, do you crash over jumps, over-cook the corners, can you drive in a straight line?

The most important thing you can put into a car isn't the motor or speedo, its your concentration.

To be honest, I think the best thing I can say, is if you want to get faster then SLOW DOWN!

Smokey
Old 08-06-2010, 08:10 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)